We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceiving” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach

Save Saved
You added The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   5441 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Napili, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 42 Specialty lodging in Lahaina
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Deceiving”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

As we travelled to Maui for our honeymoon, we did a lot of research to find the perfect accomodation on the island. Based on previous Tripadvisor reviews, we decided to book 4 nights at The Mauian.
The area (Napili Bay) was an excellent choice, however we were deceived by The Mauian. It was actually the first time we ever checked out of a hotel earlier than we planned.

Why?
- We were suprised that for 260 USD/ night there was no one to welcome us when we arrived at 4 o'clock in the afternoon. But it was ot a big deal, as we picked up our keys hanged next to the reception desk and found our room
- The place feels like an average condo, and as the two buildings are facing each other everyone looks at everyone (we could actually see into most of the rooms).
- The biggest problem was the extremely this walls through which we could hear each and every word our neighbours were saying. There were "quiet hours" specified in the welcome pack (10 pm - 7 am), which made us feel like in a dorm, and stressed us if we didn't manage to sleep at 10, only at midnight, we would be woken up at 7 am the next morning. Additionally, unfortunately our neighbours did not respect the quiet hours and went on talking until late at night while others woke us up at 6. When we tried to sleep back later in the morning (when everyone was on the beach) we were woken up by housekeeping personnel shouting at each other from one room to the other. It was unfortunately impossible to get a good rest in this hotel.
- The personnel in general was not really nice (eg. the lady at breakfast)
- Breakfast was extremely basic (well, at least included for 260 usd/ night)

In the hotel's defense, the garden was beautiful and our room was clean and nicely furnished. We ended up checking out after 2 nights, and we appreacted that the receptionist allowed this. We checked into the neighbouring Napili Kai, where for the same amount of money (slightly less actually) we got a very spacious true ocean-looking very calm room.

We did not regret leaving the Mauian.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naluli, General Manager at The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments, as we do care very much about the feedback of every guest who stays with us. We are so sorry that you were disappointed in your honeymoon visit at the Mauian. Our property is small with a limited staff, and some do not speak English very well and may come across as a bit shy. The buildings—which are a traditional Hawaiian style from the 1950s—do face inwards. Most of our guests enjoy this design, as it promotes a friendly ambiance and allows opportunities to mix and meet other guests, if you wish. However, we don’t promote the Mauian as an ideal honeymoon destination, as the buildings are not designed for a great deal of privacy. We know that our little property is not for everyone. We are pleased that you found other accommodations that suited your personal tastes, and we hope your Maui honeymoon was wonderful and memorable.

Aloha,
Nane Aluli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    81
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
52
129
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I took my bride to be and 11 extended family members to the Mauian for our wedding held right on the grounds. The self-catering rooms and reasonable rates for a beach front hotel in Maui kept the cost down. The venue is spectacular, amazing sunsets, soft sand beach on the small Napili bay. The coral reef stretching across the bay holds dozens of tropical reef species and at least 8-10 sea turtles.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the south side to have a shady porch all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Everything about this place was perfect. I'll start off by responding to a previous review that said the rooms are dark and don't look like the pictures on the website and that it is very noisy. The rooms look exactly as they do in the pictures. If anything, pictures don't do the place justice, especially the grounds which are amazing. We also had no problems with noise, we were there in september so school was back in. But I expect that everywhere in Maui is crawling with screaming children from June to August. I would not recommend this place for families.

We stayed in a "partial ocean view" room. It had an amazing view and was just steps from what is by far the best beach on Maui. The rooms do not have ac, at night this was not an issue. They could get warm during the day, but there's no reason to be in your room in the middle of the afternoon other than maybe to get changed or fix lunch. There are 3 BBQs in the pool area, they worked great for us and are cleaned daily. The service was excellent. Our room was kept very clean and we just had to ask when we wanted clean beach towels and they were happy to give them to us. When making the reservation I told them it was our honeymoon, when we checked in there was a bottle of champaign and a note waiting for us in the room.

The only thing about this place that I would say was ho-hum was the breakfast. Muffins, scones, toast, fruit, juice and coffee. Not very imaginative and gets a bit boring after several days.

Overall it was a great experience. After staying there I don't see any reason to even look at other hotels/condos for next time. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Get a room with a kitchen, I don't think they are much more and are well worth it. Second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

...for a well-deserved R&R. This place was recommended by a friend, which is how we found out about it. It is tucked away off the beaten path, and if you blink, you'll drive right by it. If you're looking for a "happening" resort with events for the kiddos every night, this place is not for you. If you're looking for pretty, scented toiletries re-upped daily by the maid service, this place is not for you. If you absolutely need A/C, again, this place is not for you. BUT, if you're looking for a clean place, with comfortable beds, the convenience of a little kitchenette right in your room, and only steps away from a gorgeous beach, book it! There is a free daily breakfast consisting of assorted breads, fresh fruits (papaya, pineapple, and bananas), and coffee. We purchased some eggs to add a bit of protein. The grounds are meticulously kept, and includes gorgeous ginger blooms, plumeria trees, orchids, palm trees and papaya plants. There are some resident feral cats, and a favorite memory will be when a beautiful tropical bird perched on my breakfast plate and nibbled on some left-over muffin crumbs. Only thing we'll change for next time is we'll know to ask for room 208 - it is a top-floor, end-unit. Cheers to the Mauian for a lovely vacation.

Room Tip: Opt for a top-floor beach-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Mauian is a gem in the middle of resorts. We were told about this place by different friends in different cities who don't know each other. We knew we had to try it. First, it is reasonably priced...if you can say that about anything in Hawaii. We had a "partial" view room. Partial if you are 6' 2". (my husband could see the ocean when he stood up). No view if you are 5'4". However the beautiful trees and plants outside our deck would be hard to complain about. We have a beautiful unit with kitchen facilities, sitting area, deck, and a very comfortable bed (memory foam, which I usually don't like, but this one is great!). the ceilings are beautiful! The breakfast has toast, scones, rolls, a variety of fruit, and some "kid" boxes of cereal. No protein, which I like in the morning. I wish there was yogurt. The beach is beautiful. Chairs and beach towels are provided. We bought a small foldable cooler at a grocery store which I highly recommend for water, drinks or snacks. The snorkeling right here is the best! Saw many fish and turtles. The only bummer are the towels and wash cloths.... They are gray! Not sure why...its obvious they once were white. They need to get some good bleach or buy new. The towels and washcloths are a real turn off! When we asked for fresh ones the first day the help told us no...we get new every other day. We took that to mean our room would be cleaned every other day, but actually it has been beautifully taken care of every day with "fresh" towels every day but that one. We didn't go in the pool, but it looks inviting and is in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Get the suites! Not much more $ and worth the location and amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The pictures on the website does not reflect what the rooms actually look like. They are small and dark. The property looks like an old senior community converted into a beach motel. We stayed in the ocean view studio, however given a room on the ground floor actually provides no view of the ocean. The walls and flooring are not insulated so you can hear a pin drop. Since there isn't air conditioning, you have to leave the windows opened which translates into hearing all the guests and footsteps outside your room. We definitely didn't expect this experience from a "boutique" beach "hotel". The only reason I gave them a poor and not a terrible rating is for its proximity to the beach and the free breakfast. Still not worth over $200/ night. If you're looking for the noisiest beachfront property, then this is your place. At least a television could've drowned out the background bustle and shuffle.

Room Tip: If you absolutely are convinced in staying here, ask for a top floor studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

3rd trip to The Mauian, probably my last.
It truly is a great spot, especially for children, so if you are looking for peace and quiet with a sister as I was this past time this is not the place. I estimate 50+ children from newborns to teenagers screaming at the top of there lungs from 6AM until 9PM, and their parents allowing it and even joining in from time to time, (which really is the problem here). The Mauian also does not employ any kind of security so this behavior was just alllowed to go on. Because of the lack of security there is also an influx of "locals" using the facilities, accessways, chairs, parking, and hanging out on the grounds, etc.
2nd trip in February we happened to be there while a large group of "older folks" held a shuffle board torny, not sure which trip was worse.
The Mauian is one of my favorite spots in the world, but people need to realize that I don't want to be a part of there vacations and they shouldn't be a part of mine!

Room Tip: All rooms are loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach

Address: 5441 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Napili, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Specialty lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauian Hotel
The Mauian Hotel On Napili Beach Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.