We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach

Save Saved
You added The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   5441 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Napili, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Helena, Montana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Mauian is a gem in the middle of resorts. We were told about this place by different friends in different cities who don't know each other. We knew we had to try it. First, it is reasonably priced...if you can say that about anything in Hawaii. We had a "partial" view room. Partial if you are 6' 2". (my husband could see the ocean when he stood up). No view if you are 5'4". However the beautiful trees and plants outside our deck would be hard to complain about. We have a beautiful unit with kitchen facilities, sitting area, deck, and a very comfortable bed (memory foam, which I usually don't like, but this one is great!). the ceilings are beautiful! The breakfast has toast, scones, rolls, a variety of fruit, and some "kid" boxes of cereal. No protein, which I like in the morning. I wish there was yogurt. The beach is beautiful. Chairs and beach towels are provided. We bought a small foldable cooler at a grocery store which I highly recommend for water, drinks or snacks. The snorkeling right here is the best! Saw many fish and turtles. The only bummer are the towels and wash cloths.... They are gray! Not sure why...its obvious they once were white. They need to get some good bleach or buy new. The towels and washcloths are a real turn off! When we asked for fresh ones the first day the help told us no...we get new every other day. We took that to mean our room would be cleaned every other day, but actually it has been beautifully taken care of every day with "fresh" towels every day but that one. We didn't go in the pool, but it looks inviting and is in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Get the suites! Not much more $ and worth the location and amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    80
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
50
124
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The pictures on the website does not reflect what the rooms actually look like. They are small and dark. The property looks like an old senior community converted into a beach motel. We stayed in the ocean view studio, however given a room on the ground floor actually provides no view of the ocean. The walls and flooring are not insulated so you can hear a pin drop. Since there isn't air conditioning, you have to leave the windows opened which translates into hearing all the guests and footsteps outside your room. We definitely didn't expect this experience from a "boutique" beach "hotel". The only reason I gave them a poor and not a terrible rating is for its proximity to the beach and the free breakfast. Still not worth over $200/ night. If you're looking for the noisiest beachfront property, then this is your place. At least a television could've drowned out the background bustle and shuffle.

Room Tip: If you absolutely are convinced in staying here, ask for a top floor studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

3rd trip to The Mauian, probably my last.
It truly is a great spot, especially for children, so if you are looking for peace and quiet with a sister as I was this past time this is not the place. I estimate 50+ children from newborns to teenagers screaming at the top of there lungs from 6AM until 9PM, and their parents allowing it and even joining in from time to time, (which really is the problem here). The Mauian also does not employ any kind of security so this behavior was just alllowed to go on. Because of the lack of security there is also an influx of "locals" using the facilities, accessways, chairs, parking, and hanging out on the grounds, etc.
2nd trip in February we happened to be there while a large group of "older folks" held a shuffle board torny, not sure which trip was worse.
The Mauian is one of my favorite spots in the world, but people need to realize that I don't want to be a part of there vacations and they shouldn't be a part of mine!

Room Tip: All rooms are loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the Mauian 2 years ago and fell in love with it . So to round off our trip to America and Alaska this year we decided a few nights at the Mauian to relax on our way home was a good idea.
We werent disappointed, it was like coming home . The staff are so friendly and the complex so relaxing and well kept.
Agreat job was done on the poolside hut and breakfast room, which were being worked on last time we were here.
The grounds and the BBQ areas around the pool are so well looked after.
The rooms have everything you need with the added bonus that there is no tv or radios in the rooms, a welcome change. and thanks to the shutters back and front and the cieling fans , no need for noisy air conditioning . We were on the top floor and sitting on the balcony sipping on a drink at sunset was perfect.
The beautiful beach is a stones throw away .
The Seahouse Restaurant is a short walk away and offers delicious snacks, drinks and meals.
We will definately be back !

Room Tip: top floor has lovely views and balconys and you have a little more privacy as people arent walking p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had been traveling the US for 3 weeks staying hyatts and hiltons and were in need of change of pace. The Mauian delivered for us everything that we wanted and needed. This resort is a family paradise - lovely green grounds, beach within 'spitting' distance, no tv and peace and quiet. We had an upstairs unit which had a lovely view of the beach - there is no aircon and you do not need it - the trade winds blow consistently cooling the room and the fans also help to keep the air moving - we loved this place but it is not for everyone, if you are after 5 star pampering and pomp then head to Wailea! continental breakfast is included which was adequate, there are plenty of stores close by to buy more supplies if needed - recommend car rental in maui so you can get around and explore! The pool is small and we didn't use - the beach is so close you wouldn't bother with the pool - the beach does drop off close to the waters edge and becomes deep - great for kids who like to ride boogie boards into the waves from the beach! There was a little surf but not enough for surfboards as it breaks too close to shore!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I (now my husband!) stayed at the Mauian in room 208 at the beginning of July in the run up to our wedding and it was perfect!!!
On our arrival we were met with a bottle of fizz which was a lovely touch.
The room was AMAZING - first floor and only metres from the beach. Our balcony view was stunning of the beach, especially at sunset!
As others have said there was no air conditioning but that was fine by me especially because at night I liked to hear the sea lapping on the shore through the open window.
I can't believe other people have moaned about the lack of TV?! Your'e on holiday!! You don't need a TV!!
Breakfast was a nice extra touch- although the queue at the pineapple grill just a short walk up the road was worth it.
The BBQ grills round the pool area were fantastic and spotlessly clean. I'll definately miss eating our BBQ grub on the lanai....
The Mauian is the best place I've ever stayed and holds so many wonderful memories. I cried when we had to leave!
It was perfect for what we wanted - a lovely quiet relaxing stay without the hussle and bussle of a big resort. It was a long way for us to go but we will definately return- and to room 208!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My wife and I have been coming to the Mauian for twenty years. It just keeps getting better. Wilma and Leilani work the office and will be the first to greet you when you check in. They are the most pleasant ladies that you will ever meet. They go out of their way to make sure your stay will be pleasant. The rooms have all been remodeled and are very clean. The beds are very comfortable. If you are going to use your kitchen while staying, I suggest that you stop at Costco after you land. There are three gas barbecues around the pool. The complimentary breakfast is great. You will have your selection of local fruits, breads and many different cereals. The beach is fantastic and you walk on sand, no corral to hurt your feet.
George and Teri

Room Tip: All the rooms are a short distance to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach

Also Known As:
Mauian Hotel
The Mauian Hotel On Napili Beach Maui/Lahaina
Address: 5441 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Napili, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 Specialty lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mauian Hotel on Napili Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.