We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wow Factor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maui Sands
3600 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Honokowai, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 42 Specialty lodging in Lahaina
Castro Valley, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Wow Factor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Hello Ryan, we found out about Maui Sands years ago and fell in love with the place back then, pretty much we were satisfied just having the ocean front views; now after discovering your place it was like being in a penthouse not only do we have the great ocean front views but all the wonderful comfort amenities and more. Having the parking on the other side of the condo allows you to walk through the lovely garden area. Upon entering using the touch pad and walking into the tastefully decorated condo it gives you a sense that you have arrived. We became quite familiar with all the amenities in a short time thanks to your guides and settled in. Morning was our favorite time, we tuned in "IZ" on Pandora while having our breakfast on the lanai soooo relaxing. Having all the necessities to prepare meals in the kitchen accented by the different lighting levels complementing the well chosen colors and materials was inviting. As they say its the small things that make the difference and yes the grocery cart worked on so many different occasions, the beach chairs and umbrella are wonderful accessories that add that special touch. It has if nothing was overlooked making our stay the WOW FACTOR! Anyone thinking of visiting maui to enjoy the low key laid back style you will have that and more while staying at sands.

Jim & Viki Ardito

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    14
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Aloha Ryan Thank you so much for providing us with a wonderful place to stay. The view was breath-taking, the access to the beach, the perfectly positioned Lanai, the best equipped and beautiful kitchen (with a view), the dining area (with a view), and did I mention the “WOW VIEW” The Condo was Beautiful recently remodeled, right on the ocean. The condo was equipped with many thoughtful items (so easy to use and enjoy), the bathrooms (ah that wonderful rain shower head), and comfortable beds! I really appreciated things like the hugh tub to store our snorkel equipment, filtered water, pegs and towel racks for drying wet suits and towels. I especially loved the grocery cart, and the (ahhhh) message chair. The fruit basket was so welcoming. It was great to have fully equipped kitchen nicely stocked with condiments and soap, even extra beach towels. We enjoyed Netflix and the Wi-fi internet connection. Access to the condo was easy and in an excellent central location with nearby stores, and several restaurants. Great instructions on how use the equipment, ice maker and tips like backing up into the parking location. We had a great time and had everything we needed. One tip you didn’t mention to us and we had to find out by ourselves was that the snorkeling was good right out back and that the green turtles come by most evenings to feed. Mahalo

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, MA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I found a link to this place on Facebook. It is very well-situated in Western Maui, close to Ka'anapali, Lahaina, Kapalua, and some of the world's best beaches (I recommend DT Fleming, and Airport Beach). Also, the ride to the remote northern coast of Western Maui is only minutes away, and very well worth exploring. Although the street it is on is quite busy and commercial, the grounds are nice and the view from the communal deck overlooking the ocean is gorgeous…especially for sunsets. This particular unit seems outdated and could use updating/remodeling. There is also an issue - especially given the jet-lag that most people coming from the mainland experience on arrival in Hawai'i - of there being lots of very loud noise (garbage trucks emptying the dumpsters) every morning at around 7am. Unfortunately, I have one particular issue with the owner: The arrangement was that, since I rented this unit for a month, the cost of electricity for that month would be deducted from the $200 security deposit I paid, and the balance returned to me. It's been four months now, and despite repeated attempts to contact him via email, he has declined to respond and I suspect that I will never get the difference returned to me. In the grand scheme of things, the amount of money involved is small, but it still seems to me somehow…unjust.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We rented unit 712, one away from the ocean. It was so lovely, like a very nice family vacation house, with the ocean sounds, and a good view from the lanai. I'd not been to Maui before, and I thought Lahaina was noisy and touristy. Honokowai is close enough for trips to Lahaina, but quiet and peaceful and beautiful. The kitchen's fully equipped, there's a laundry on site, and swimming is great except at high tide, when its better to walk to the beach down the block. Also the owner of 712 was kind and helpful. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We had a good experience at Maui Sands. Our unit number was 3K, 2 bedrooms and a pull out couch.

It is an older building and had a cottage feel. But, the location is great and is good value for Hawaii. It had a nice pool and generally quiet. Can't swim right from the ocean in front but beaches are not too far. Also close to stores.

The unit was well stocked and had everything you needed so you didn't have to go out to purchase things like garbage bags, soap, paper towel etc. They also had boogie boards, bamboo mats and towels.

The beds aren't the most comfortable and bathroom is quite dated but were sufficient. Not a huge amount but there were some ants in the unit.

Overall, it was easy to contact the people renting the unit. I would recommend this unit for an affordable and comfortable stay in Lahaina.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

My family of three spent 17 nights here over Christmas. It was not a surprise to us that the building was older, the snorkelling at the resort has poor visibility, and the decor of the suite is a little dated...in fact these are good things, not bad. They all meant that there was availability and that it was afforable. You likely cannot rent a 1 bedroom suite with full kitchen anywhere at this price, nevermind on the ocean in paradise. We'd researched and knew what to expect.
We were not disappointed. Great snorkelling at Kahekili beach park and out front of the Westin (25 minute walk) and at Kapalua (15 minutes on the bus, then 4 minute walk.) Farmer's market and health food store were 3 minute walk north. Snorkel/fishing shop 1 minute away.
Full grocery store 8 minute walk south. Depending on what you wish to do on Maui, there may be no need to rent a car, there wasn't for us. We walked or rode the transit bus to all sorts of great snorkelling and beach adventures. It'll take you to the Maui Ocean Center in Malaea (a very good aquarium, and well worth it.)
Maui sands may not be for those who are accustomed to 5 star comforts and whiteglove service. As for me and my family, we had an excellent vacation, enjoyed cooking for ourselves with saltwater breezes blowing through from the lanai and falling asleep each night to the sound of the surf and the memories of a day well-spent exploring undersea wonders.

Room Tip: Top floor of 2-storey was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Nov.-Dec. 2011. A location long pasted it's prime. When we booked our stay, no one told us they would be replacing the roofs on all the buildings. All day long you hear banging and hammering, workmen talking, heavy equipment moving or parked on the grass areas and walkways. Much of the lawn was brown from the building repair. The part of the grass that was green had animal feces from all the cats. No safe or healthy place for kids to play.To add to our stay. The nights were not much better. At night there was road work right out front of the property. No, rest from the noise.

The pool was cloudy. One of the units near the pool has a 3 or 4 year old child that would cry and fuss at all times of the day or night. (The parents of that child need to be on Dr. Phil's Show)

I guess much of their reviews must come from the owners themselves. The parking lots is not secure. Although, we did not have any problems with our rental. We did talk to people who lived there. That told us their cars had been stolen or broken into.

The bus stop is very close and it is easy to get downtown by bus. Only $2 for an all day pass. You should find Lahiana Town a fun place to shop,eat and just spend the day.

Next time, we will spend a few more dollars and stay at a place we can relax and enjoy. Some place safe for our kids.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maui Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands

Address: 3600 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Honokowai, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 Specialty lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Hotel Lahaina
Maui Sands Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maui Sands to your Saves list