We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maui Sands
Save
You added Maui Sands to your Saves list
3600 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Honokowai, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We had a good experience at Maui Sands. Our unit number was 3K, 2 bedrooms and a pull out couch.

It is an older building and had a cottage feel. But, the location is great and is good value for Hawaii. It had a nice pool and generally quiet. Can't swim right from the ocean in front but beaches are not too far. Also close to stores.

The unit was well stocked and had everything you needed so you didn't have to go out to purchase things like garbage bags, soap, paper towel etc. They also had boogie boards, bamboo mats and towels.

The beds aren't the most comfortable and bathroom is quite dated but were sufficient. Not a huge amount but there were some ants in the unit.

Overall, it was easy to contact the people renting the unit. I would recommend this unit for an affordable and comfortable stay in Lahaina.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    15
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

My family of three spent 17 nights here over Christmas. It was not a surprise to us that the building was older, the snorkelling at the resort has poor visibility, and the decor of the suite is a little dated...in fact these are good things, not bad. They all meant that there was availability and that it was afforable. You likely cannot rent a 1 bedroom suite with full kitchen anywhere at this price, nevermind on the ocean in paradise. We'd researched and knew what to expect.
We were not disappointed. Great snorkelling at Kahekili beach park and out front of the Westin (25 minute walk) and at Kapalua (15 minutes on the bus, then 4 minute walk.) Farmer's market and health food store were 3 minute walk north. Snorkel/fishing shop 1 minute away.
Full grocery store 8 minute walk south. Depending on what you wish to do on Maui, there may be no need to rent a car, there wasn't for us. We walked or rode the transit bus to all sorts of great snorkelling and beach adventures. It'll take you to the Maui Ocean Center in Malaea (a very good aquarium, and well worth it.)
Maui sands may not be for those who are accustomed to 5 star comforts and whiteglove service. As for me and my family, we had an excellent vacation, enjoyed cooking for ourselves with saltwater breezes blowing through from the lanai and falling asleep each night to the sound of the surf and the memories of a day well-spent exploring undersea wonders.

Room Tip: Top floor of 2-storey was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Nov.-Dec. 2011. A location long pasted it's prime. When we booked our stay, no one told us they would be replacing the roofs on all the buildings. All day long you hear banging and hammering, workmen talking, heavy equipment moving or parked on the grass areas and walkways. Much of the lawn was brown from the building repair. The part of the grass that was green had animal feces from all the cats. No safe or healthy place for kids to play.To add to our stay. The nights were not much better. At night there was road work right out front of the property. No, rest from the noise.

The pool was cloudy. One of the units near the pool has a 3 or 4 year old child that would cry and fuss at all times of the day or night. (The parents of that child need to be on Dr. Phil's Show)

I guess much of their reviews must come from the owners themselves. The parking lots is not secure. Although, we did not have any problems with our rental. We did talk to people who lived there. That told us their cars had been stolen or broken into.

The bus stop is very close and it is easy to get downtown by bus. Only $2 for an all day pass. You should find Lahiana Town a fun place to shop,eat and just spend the day.

Next time, we will spend a few more dollars and stay at a place we can relax and enjoy. Some place safe for our kids.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I think this is 10th time we have rented on the oceanfront and we love it. The proximity of the property to the ocean is a few feet and yes you can swim in front but best at low tide. The gardens are very well kept and the Prperty mnager Ken does an excellent job keeping this older resort in good condition. We usually stay in 5B but have rented other oceanfront units such as 5A, 5C, and 5D and they were fine. This is an older property so do not expect the style of the Marriot Ocean Club. The rates are very reasonabble.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We really liked Maui Sands unit 5C. It was nicely decorated and updated for the most part. Great location, great view, very quiet, nice lanai, and beautiful grounds. The condos do look very old when you drive up, but once you explore the unit and grounds, you will see how nice they are. You cannot swim in the ocean right in front of the unit as it is too rocky and the waves can get rough. We ended up driving to beaches, but there are many close by so not a problem. We saw whales from our Lanai which was very cool! Close to Lahanai which had great shopping and good restaurants to chose from. There are 2 negatives. One is the year round residents are older and tend to get crabby with any kind of noise. My 13 and 14 year old were playing Marco Polo in the pool and a resident yelled out of their window that they couldn't play the game because it echoed and it was too loud. We thought that was ridiculous! Also, no toys, floating chairs, inflatables, etc. allowed in the pool area. If your children like to play in a pool and make some noise, this is not the place for you to rent. The other issue we had was dealing with the rental agent.
Hard to communicate with and slow to respond. We would rent this unit again, but just us and not the kids. This unit is probably best fitted for people without kids or older teenage kids.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

I stayed in unit 6B for one week and I enjoyed my time there immensely. While the complex is not new or fancy, it had a very welcoming and homey feel. Our unit didn't have air conditioning or washer and dryer but there were plenty of fans and a bank of washers and dryers for the complex.
I loved the location of the Maui Sands. It's easy walking distance to Times Market to the South and a great little farmers market to the North. Snorkel Bobs and Boss Frog are both represented as well. The only thing I would have changed about the location is the shallow reef. It would have been great being able to snorkel without having to jump in the car. That said, Blackrock, Airport and even Kapalua are all within a short hop down the road.
Our unit was nicely stocked and well appointed. It was very nice to have a well appointed kitchen to do our cooking. We BBQ'd steaks, used a crock pot to do a stew and also made use of the rice cooker as well. It was also very nice having plenty of spices at our disposal.
All in all I am very happy with Maui Sands and unit 6B. Do yourself a favor and skip the busy touristy type places and relax with Maui Sands as your base camp!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this property in July of 2010 for a week. Upon arriving, the place looked rundown and old from the outside, but we were pleasantly surprised at the renovations inside. Our disappointment came when we had to deal with sugar ants all over the place. They first appeared in the bathroom, then in the kitchen. We were sure not to leave anything out on the counters, so were very surprised when we found them. I did email the owners who quickly apologized and let us know that there was ant spray in the pantry. We found ourselves spraying and respraying for ants all week. Not something that I want to be doing on my vacation.
This unit is rented by Hawaii Vacation Rental by Owner Listing 223374

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sands

Address: 3600 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Honokowai, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Hotel Lahaina
Maui Sands Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.