We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Fountains Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added House of Fountains Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
House of Fountains Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   1579 Lokia St., Off Fleming Rd., north of Lahaina town, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
california
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 2 nights there waiting for a condo to open up for us. What a delightful B&B. This entire property is immaculately clean and new. There is a great pool on site that also is immaculate. Large rooms with baths. Excellent breakfasts. Wonderful hosts. The next time that we go to Maui, we will spend the entire time there. Its a little out of the way in a residential area about 1/2 mile north of the town center, but easily accessible.

Room Tip: We had a lower room and we could have held a dance in it. It was also closer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1579fountains, Owner at House of Fountains Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we do hope you will return and stay longer next time. Please consider us your home in the islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
10
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We just got back from our stay at House of Fountains . We enjoyed our stay & would definitely come back. The only reason I could not give 5 stars was that the caretakers unexpectently left during our stay leaving us a couple of days of continental breakfasts with no hot foods. Peg flew in & was fantastic. She did her best during the last days of our stay to make us feel at home. We enjoyed the view & whale watching from the lanai. We enjoyed being only minutes from LAhina, Whalers village & black rock beach for snorkeling & not hAving to deal with all the crowds. Peg shared her Mai Tais with us as well as the fresh fruits from the garden. I hope to get the chance to get back again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1579fountains, Owner at House of Fountains Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for being so understanding during a staff change-over. Our new employees come with years of hospitality experience and understand the importance of guest satisfaction. We hope you will consider us your home in the islands and return someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We (2 adults and one teen) spent 3 nights here just before Christmas (Dec21st-24th). The facilities are quite nice and well maintained. The saltwater pool was refreshing and kept in excellent condition. Room was clean, tidy and nicely furnished. TV had HDMI so we could plug in our laptop and watch movies and photos in the evenings. Staff were friendly and helpful, and we really enjoyed visiting with the other guests over breakfast.

We were somewhat disappointed in the breakfasts (limited options), and somewhat later than we would have liked as we would have preferred to be off and exploring or on the beaches by 8:30am or 9:00am.

Although they have a couple of bicycles for guest use, the B&B is on a relatively steep hill, so it was not really practical to use them to explore, or to go to Lahaina.

On our last morning there was no hot water before breakfast, nor at 9:30am so we could not have our showers before leaving.

Pros: A very comfortable place to stay, good pool, quiet area. Lahaina is a short drive away with lots to see and do.

Cons: Breakfasts were somewhat underwhelming. Cold cereal with milk and some sliced fruit one morning, deviled eggs another. No hot water for showers on our last morning.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1579fountains, Owner at House of Fountains Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for you post. I was away during your stay and the breakfasts were not prepared the way I expected them to be, and for that I am sorry. We have a set menu that will to be altered in the future, and our latest posts reflect that guests are very happy with the selection now. We have solar paneled water heaters, but when it is foggy for more than a day we must remember to turn the tanks to regular electrical use. I'm sorry your shower wasn't hot, this has only happened once before and I know it can be frustrating. We hope you will return to Maui and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

We stayed in the House of Fountains for 5 nights.
Overall we liked the buiding, the huge lobby and living room and the the great lanai with ocean view (including whale watching during that time).
We stayed in the room Hisbicus - no view but nicely furnished and clean.
The hosts were very friendly and helpful (e.g. we could do our laundry).
Every morning a different breakfast was served - we liked it that way but it was not appreciated by all guests.
The B&B is quiet, but the center of Lahaina can be reached by car within 5 minutes.
There is a nice salt water pool on site but as there is so much to explore in Maui we very rarely used it.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1579fountains, Owner at House of Fountains Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Glad to hear you had a good time at the House of Fountains as well as on the island. Our breakfasts became a little "creative" while I was away, but now we have a posted menu for the week and we keep to it ;). We also provide gluten free products if you prefer. Thanks for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Just returned from a wonderful stay on Maui, of which the last three nights were spent here. We loved the ambiance of this location, the super views and whale spotting from the sun drenched lanai, daily swims in the sunny salt pool. But most of all we enjoyed our amazing hostess Tatjiana and spending time socializing with other guests from all over the world at breakfast and at sunset and sharing great times. Truly an exceptional experience.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1579fountains, Owner at House of Fountains Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
So glad to hear you had a wonderful time, and that our staff took good care of you. Anytime you wish to escape the cold of winter we will keep a warm spot for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

We had a great split level room with a pool and a fantastic general living / patio area. It was a great place and a super experience. You cannot do wrong by booking at this place. The breakfast was good as well.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1579fountains, Owner at House of Fountains Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
So glad you had a fantastic experience. I believe your room was one with a private patio poolside which people really enjoy. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to post. We hope you will consider us your home in the islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Tatjana and Anatoli were great hosts. They gave us good advice and recommendations for our stay. There are a few house rules like shoes off inside, but that's ok. A different breakfast every morning which was very tasty. It is not a hotel and pretty quiet in the evening. Guests did not really socialize. But in contrast to a 250 to 300 dollar night at a Marriott or Hyatt it was a good experience. Would come back!

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1579fountains, Owner at House of Fountains Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review us - yes, the house is fairly quiet - the neighborhood is called Wahikuli which means place of quiet too! Sometimes the guests really enjoy each other's company, and sometimes they will keep to themselves. Some leave very early in the mornings to go do things are do not come down to breakfast, With only five rooms it is alway different. Glad yo enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House of Fountains Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Fountains Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1579 Lokia St., Off Fleming Rd., north of Lahaina town, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — House of Fountains Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House of Fountains is a small, soothing and tranquil Bed and Breakfast offering six luxurious suites just minutes from historic Lahaina Town, nestled up against a cane field and overlooking the ocean and surrounding islands. Awaken your senses with fresh Hawaiian coffee and a resplendent breakfast of organic tropical fruit, home made breads (gluten free too!) And juices on our lanai, prepared by our live-in chef. The House of Fountains is just blocks from the radiant beaches of Wahi Kuli, so you may want to have a swim before sightseeing. Or stay and swim in our beautiful salt water pool, and relax by one of our calming fountains, waterfalls or koi pond. Free parking in our private lot. All rooms come with A/C and tropical ceiling fans, wifi, mini 'fridges with complimentary bottled water, TVs and a large DVD selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your House of Fountains Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Fountains Hotel Lahaina
House Of Fountains b&b
House Of Fountains Bed And Breakfast Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Fountains Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.