We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hale Kai 107 - A little bit of Paradise & Heaven rolled into one! Just Perfect...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums
Save
You added Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums to your Saves list
3691 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Orange, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hale Kai 107 - A little bit of Paradise & Heaven rolled into one! Just Perfect...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our first time to Maui and we made a wonderful choice! On entering the condo after a 14 hour flight from Australia, it was absolutely breathtaking to walk in and see the ocean and parkland through the sliding glass doors. The condo was spacious, clean and had excellent quality tropical Hawaiian furnishings.

No matter where you stood, in the kitchen or living area, we could always see the ocean. The kitchen had everything we needed, including spices and a small pantry cupboard. We enjoyed sitting in comfortable chairs on the lanai relaxing and taking in the beautiful views.

We loved the comfy Cal King bed - just superb with 2 pillow choices. The bedroom louvers even had solar screens for added privacy. Another feature we would like to comment on is the beautiful turtle etching glass shower screen in the bathroom. The design was certainly in keeping with the theme of local sea turtles.

We live in the country, and found it so relaxing to hear the sounds of the ocean during the night and feel the cooling trade winds breeze through the windows. We enjoyed the magnificent sunsets each night (spectacular) and even blew the conch shell with some friendly owners. We regularly sighted sea turtles swimming in the ocean adjacent to the units – swimming with them was truly a memorable experience.

Another wonderful feature was the condo’s close proximity to shopping centers, dining and other areas of interest. We both loved our stay at Hale Kai and have taken away lots of beautiful memories and photos. We will be recommending #107 to our friends back home.

That is why we called it “A little bit of Paradise and Heaven rolled into one”. Thank you Hale Kai 107, we look forward to returning! The Allan’s from Australia.

Room Tip: Unit #107 is a ground floor unit with cooling tradewinds, tasteful decor and furnishings throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    13
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hale Kai in unit 213 was the first VRBO property that really felt like “home” - our time here was something we will always treasure & will be the standard against which all other rental properties will be judged in the future.

The grounds are clean, lush & well maintained, the pool deck is perfect & the BBQ’s were cleaner than any I’ve ever seen at a rental property. There was a great little beach just down the stairs from the pool area which made getting into & out of the ocean for swimming or snorkeling really easy. If you have kids who are looking to cannon-ball into the pool, or engage in other types of general rambunctious horseplay than this isn’t the best place for that. This IS NOT to say the pool is a “fun free zone” for kids (my daughter loved it) it’s just that the pool area is on the smaller side and is enjoyed as a relaxing spot for all the residents & guests.

What really helped to establish the feeling of “home” that came, almost instantly, after arriving at Hale Kai is the sense of community that exists among the guests & the residents. Here you are welcomed not like a temporary visitor, but rather like a friend who has been out of town for several years.

The condo was a good size for the three of us & will continue to work for the 3 of us in the future. If you are traveling with teenagers or other adults the unit may be a little too small. All utensils, pots, pans, etc. were all provided as were some basic cooking spices. I don’t think there was any point when I said “I wish we had a (fill in the blank)”. The unit is full of “little things” that put a very nice Hawaiian touch on your stay. The two beach chairs that are supplied are in great condition & should be taken with you on any beach day excursion. “Borrowable” chairs, boogie boards & beach mats are available behind the laundry room. One word of warning for light sleepers - because it is so warm at night we needed to have the windows & drapes open in the bedroom so we could get a cross breeze. The bedroom is on the parking lot side of the unit & with the various lights & sounds coming from the relatively busy street we woke up frequently. If you are a light sleeper – you might want to toss some ear plugs & a sleeping mask in your luggage.

The unit, property & location are all as close to perfect as you’re likely to find at any price point – if it’s not available when you are looking to travel, change your travel dates to match open dates at the Hale Kai #213.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms are very close to the pool along the North/South Wing The second floor rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, Owner at Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Aloha Brad,

Thanks for sharing your experience with Hale Kai #213 in both words and pictures. When we can't be there ourselves, my wife and I enjoy our unit vicariously through the accounts of our guests, and yours provides an excellent summary of what guests can expect from a stay in our unit.

Above all else, we strive to provide accommodations that guests will want to return to time after time, so we'll look forward to hosting you and your family again in the future.

Mahalo, Matt Mathews, Hale Kai # 213
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I have traveled extensively and one of our favorite destinations is Hale Kai. Whenever we are in Maui, this wonderful little hideaway is there to welcome us. The location is ideal, away from the resorts and tourist areas of Lahaina, but close enough so that it's easy to pop into town for dinner or drinks. There are enough stores and shops within walking distance to make driving for forgotten supplies unnecessary. Our favorites, are the small fruit market across the street (there's a weekday farmer's market as well) and the fresh fish market a few doors down (they prep it for you in a pan which you pop into the oven). #211 has all the amenities needed, so if you don't feel like eating out, it's easy to stay in and cook. The community vibe is also nice. If you want company, there are plenty of friendly owners and return visitors to chat with. One of my favorite Hale Kai moments is evening when everyone gathers by the pool for drinks and the owners blow conch shells as the sun goes down. If you want to be alone, there's a small park next door to lie out in or have a picnic.

Room Tip: We prefer # 211, but book early. It's popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great condo in an awesome location! I would highly recommend this unit and we can't wait to go back. Fully equipped with everything you will need and plenty of room. This unit was recently remodeled and everything was great! Excellent kitchen and all the tvs and furniture were up to date and comfortable. A wine locker and DVD player was also included. It was amazing eating our meals and watching the sunsets from the balcony everyday. Snorkeling right off the beach is just steps away. Barbecue worked great and the pool was clean and refreshing. Location can't be beat. Lahaina, Kapalua, Kaanapali are within 5-10 minutes away. Great snorkeling on all the beaches are very close. Farmer's market(get the fresh guacamole & fruit) and coffee are across the street and ABC and grocery store are down the street. My 8 yr old daughter loved the pool and seeing the sea turtles right at the beach everyday. The people staying there were all very friendly and helpful. This is a smaller complex, so there is no hassle getting beach chairs or using the pool. We used the laundry facilties and that worked great. Great value in the best location! You won't be disappointed and you will be planning your next trip the day after you leave!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here on the recommendation of one of the year-round tenants and were VERY pleased! It was so nice to have a condo with a kitchen to come "home" to after a busy day. We saved money by eating our breakfasts there (and eating them on the porch which looked over the ocean!) and some of our lunches and dinners. Why pay to eat out at a pricey restaurant for the view when you can make an easy affordable dinner and enjoy it on the porch while watching the sunset…it doesn't get any better! It's quiet and the pool is only open until 9pm. It has a park just next door. You can see turtles popping up out of the water in the evenings from the ocean edge. Unit (#214) kitchen was well equipped...even a pizza cutter! The office staff was wonderful and answered our questions. The laundry room was well equipped and nice to have available. There were even some boards (small ones) to borrow for trips to the ocean beaches. There was not actual sand beach in the back, but there is easy accessibility to other beaches in the area. It was a bit noisy from the bedroom with trucks along the road, but we were up early with the time change anyway. It was restful and beautiful and we would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: “Room #214 had an excellent porch facing the ocean…perfect for the sunset. However, the bedroom was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I'm serious about my title, Hale Kai (and unit 216 in which we stayed) is an amazing property. It's a steal at their asking price, the location is incredible, the property is very well maintained and the condos are clean, well appointed and a wonderful home away from home.

Nothing negative to say about it at all. Ocean views are amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike W, Owner at Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Thanks for such a glowing review of our condo, Hale Kai #216. Our direct oceanfront views are stunning and hard to beat, while relaxing on our lanai. We look forward to hosting you next visit.

Mahalo, Mike Wall #107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a great time here. A small complex, nice location, close to the ocean and friendly. The unit (104) was ideal for us and was well appointed. It was good value but our unit wasn't modern decor. We liked the park next door. It wasn't noisy and meant we could easily access the beach and it gave it a less "boxed in" feeling.

Room Tip: We liked the room on the lower level next to the park but other rooms had full ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums

Address: 3691 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Kai means "Home by the Sea" in Hawaiian, and we are well named since we're located right on the West Maui coastline where we feature scenic views of Lānaʻi and Molokaʻi directly offshore. Conveniently situated midway between the Ka'anapali and Kapalua resort areas, we're just a 10-15 minute drive from most any West Maui attraction. We are located in real community with a local park, a thrice weekly Farmers' Market, and numerous, reasonably priced stores and restaurants, all within easy walking distance. Come stay with us and know what it is to have lived Hawaii instead of merely visited there! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums Hotel Lahaina
Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.