We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic place in great location; average stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
658 Wharf Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Historic place in great location; average stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

My husband enjoyed our stay at this historic hotel in central Lahaina. It is right in the middle of the town; all restaurants and shops are walkable from their spot right by the pier. We were worried about noise, but our room had a lanai overlooking the courtyard - peaceful and relaxing! The mango trees were awesome, dropping fruit all day long! The rooms are definitely in need of some updating, but given the history of the building, this is to be expected. The air conditioning unit was a little temperamental, and made quite a bit of noise all night long. Parking was a non-issue, as the hotel partners with a lot across the street. Staff was also super friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the courtyard - the lanai is great and it will be very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    208
    44
    10
    7
See reviews for
70
245
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port St. Lucie, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Overall we had a very satisfying stay at the Best Western Pioneer Inn. It is located at the very heart of Lahaina, within easy walking distance of restaurants, historical locations, and activities. Also an easy drive to most everywhere. The thing we didn't like about the hotel was it had no elevator. I have asthma and we had to very heavy pieces of luggage with us, and had to drag them up a rather steep flight of stairs. Other than that, the room was lovely, clean and had a wonderful balcony with great views.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We booked this hotel for a few nights as part of our honeymoon. I was a bit hesitant as I knew it was in central downtown Lahaina and I was concerned about 2 things: Parking and Noise. Well, considering parking was included with the room price (which meant no fighting for limited spots downtown!) and the noise? I'm not sure how they do it, but our room was very quiet! Oh, the best part? Air conditioning!!! Nothing better than going out in the hot humid day and coming home to a nicely cooled room! Rooms were large, nicely decorated with a turn of the century/plantation feel, beds were comfortable. Loved being about to walk out our door and walk straight to dinner, breakfast, shopping, etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Congratulations on your marriage. So glad you enjoyed our historic inn and we hope you spend a future anniversary with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Just completed the 2014 Victoria to Maui yachting race 2308 nautical miles across open ocean and stepped off the boat to a reception at the Pioneer Inn. The warm greeting that we received from fellow racers, and staff at the hotel was one that I will cherish forever.

A large welcome sign; cheers, and a delicious buffet table was the perfect icing on the cake to a terrific journey. The light, airy reception room was meticulously decorated, and historical pictures and artifacts gave the room added class and character. In the adjoining courtyard one could find tranquil peace or just admire the local fauna.

The history of this Inn is a jewel for Lahaina as it sits in the heart of the city. One can sit back and enjoy the ambiance thinking of sailors, and whalers and the stories and character they have brought to this very unique ,charming spot.

Rooms had light airy large ceilings, with porches facing the Banyan tree or courtyard. Very neat and clean. Good value for the money very impressed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We have always stayed in Kaanapali at the Hyatt and decided to stay in Lahaina this time to be within walking distance to everything we enjoy doing. What a treat. The rooms are small but clean. Who wants to stay in the room anyway! Employees (Anne) were awesome. We even got a 1pm checkout. Great lanais to people watch. Hands down the best deal compared to the Hyatt!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Front St. Room to people watch. It can be a little noisy but the air conditioner drow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff is extremely nice and helpful. The hotel is close to the harbor (right across the street), shops, and restaurants. It's a bit of a walk to the beach and there is another beach that's too far to walk, but a short drive away. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel that has good food.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We thank you for choosing to stay at our historic inn and hope to see you again on your next visit to Maui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed nine nights at the Pioneer Inn and were pleasantly treated and found the hotel to exceed our expectations. The Pioneer Inn is an old hotel that the owners have done an outstanding job of modernizing. Our room was always clean and fresh, the only thing we wished for was a microwave to heat something up when we didn't want to go out.
We could sit at the pool at almost any time and be the only ones there and if we didn't wish to leave our room we could sit on our lanai and watch the ocean, the Banyon tree park, or the visitors down town. While this is a no frills inn, the character and friendliness of the place are worth the price of admission.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side are the best for watching the goings on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We agree that our historic inn is not for everyone, but we pride ourselves on our super staff and maintaining the old girl to preserve some history of Lahaina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Address: 658 Wharf Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.