We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "go to" place to stay on Maui!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   658 Wharf Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Belton, Tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our "go to" place to stay on Maui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We absolutely love the Pioneer Inn. Have stayed there multiple times and will stay there any time our travels take us to Maui, which is often. The staff is amazing. Anna and Katherine have both been super to help accommodate us in every way. They've gone WAY out of their way to help us on several occasions. We cleaned out a storage unit on Maui to transfer the stuff via the Molokai Princess ferry (right across the street from the Pioneer Inn) to our new condo on Molokai. The staff helped us store all our stuff until ferry time and loaned us the luggage cart to get it across the street to the ferry. Can't say enough how helpful they are. We love the dining room, too, whether for breakfast (omlettes are fantastic!), lunch or dinner. We love to have drinks & ceviche and kick back to hear A Tim, one of our most favorite Hawaiian musicians, play on Tuesday evenings. And Alex, the parrot, is a hoot. Sure, he whistles and squawks some, but we find him charming. The location is perfect right at the wharf ... next to the famous banyan tree plaza ... close to shops and restaurants ... and just a short drive from to some of Maui's most spectacular treasures (petroglyphs, Iao Valley ...) Rooms are very comfortable and include a nice little refrigerator. Spacious balcony, good A/C ... Only drawback is no elevator, so must tote luggage upstairs to the rooms, which all are on second floor. I just try to look at that as good exercise! They do have staff to help out with that, if needed. Oh, and if you stay there, you get a discount card for use at any/all meals in their dining room. Overall, a wonderful place to stay that is starting to feel like our "home away from home" whenever we're on Maui.

Room Tip: If you enjoy people watching, ask for the banyan tree side. If you prefer a quieter spot, a courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    240
    48
    19
    7
See reviews for
83
298
39
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Beware this hotel has no elevator and rooms are on second floor. Room was nice and clean. Right by the marina if you are leaving early for trips. Location can be noisy but the AC is too so you don't hear it unless there is a party in the court yard. Staff seemed indifferent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosthern, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Good location , looking out on front street . Clean and well appointed. Would definitely stay there again ! Comfortable beds and great pillows . The parrot in the dining room was a bit noisy at times . When I told him to be quiet he told me to be quiet !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The Best Western Pioneer Inn is a great place to stay in Maui. Clean rooms, close to the wharf. Balcony to sit while having morning coffee or to sit in the evening enjoying a glass of wine after a full day of sightseeing. The staff are great especially Katherine and Anna. Close to the shops, very reasonable prices and close to the high end outlet stores, such as Coach, Guess, Tommy Hillfiger. If you want great seafood, go to Bubba Gump Shrimp, just down Front Street. If you are looking for a picturesque and unforgettable drive, do the Road to Hanna, but don't forget to buy the audio disc for the drive, so you won't miss anything.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Banyon tree side, Room 17 is the first one up the stairs closest to see the wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Recommend room 17; closest to stairwell and shortest distance to haul your bags; plus excellent view of the banyan tree and the wharf; Great place to view all the boats and Saturday morning crafts sale under the banyan tree. Close to everything; Go sit at Mary's and see the Luau for the price of a few appetizers. Fleetwood's place is exorbitantly expensive. Some of the best private art galleries I have ever seen; that alone is worth the trip. The whole area is a Mecca for a traveler. If you ever want to be in the middle of paradise this is as close as you will come to it.

Room Tip: room 17; if you get it you will know why!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We visited Maui some years ago and I always said if we went back I would check out this Hotel, am I ever glad we did, there were 4 of us all adults and we shared a room, with a King Size bed and a Queen size Murphy Bed!!, the room was Brilliant, huge and very comfortable.I asked on checkout, how many of these rooms they have and there is sadly only 1. All the rooms are on the second floor and there is no elevator, so be prepared, it is good exercise.Our room faced a courtyard with lots of seating and a swimming pool. The staff are all very attentive, the hotel was built in 1901 and is very well kept up. There are many restaurants and shops in Lahaina and it gets pretty busy, a great place to people watch. Right next to the Harbour we went on a Whale Watch and were really grateful when we got back and had to walk a few steps to our Hotel. I think the Pioneer Inn is well suited for Couples, most of the people there were over 50 and many had stayed before. If we go back to Maui this is where we will stay

Room Tip: We faced the Courtyard and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Great place to stay if you want to experience Lahaina at your own Lanai. Bit pricey for the size and having to schlep your luggage up a flight of stairs but we love sitting and watching the colorful world walk buy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Address: 658 Wharf Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.