We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
658 Wharf Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great historic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We try to stick with Best Western whenever one is in the location we need. For our visit to Maui, we did NOT want to do the resort scene and fortunately the historic Pioneer Inn is a Best Western. We found the rooms to be comfortable (although we would have liked an elevator, but only two floors so no big deal). We loved the balcony. We were facing the Banyan Park and could see Front St to our left and the harbor and ocean to our right. We got some great people watching. Each evening we were treated to a show of "major" Mynah birds settling into the banyan tree. We were not quite so fond of them at 5 am....but they were quiet again by 6 am. We walked around town for shopping and dining and found everything we needed. We also caught the ferry one day over to Lanai. Not as much there as we were expecting, but we did find a place to eat and checked out the Four Seasons Resort....Very pretty, but probably not our style. If we ever go to Maui again, we would pick the Best Western. The staff was very helpful and really seemed to care that we were happy and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    206
    44
    10
    7
See reviews for
69
242
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great location right on the wharf and in the middle of the action in town. However, even though they have renovated the place, it still looks a bit creaky and in need of a good scrubbing. The constant odor of urine from the bathroom was very annoying. Friendly, helpful, laid back staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Keeping in mind that this Best Western Hotel is an historic site, and that it is located right at the Lahaina waterfront on one side, and the main street full of shops and restaurants on the other side, it is a wonderful location. Room was comfortable - location was fantastic. There is no elevator, but staff were very helpful caring luggage up the staircase. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Lahaina is truly a historic town and if that's why you're here, you need to stay at the Pioneer Inn.
Don't expect resort appointments or mainstream sameness--this is a funky, historic Inn, right in the center of town. It's got what you need if you're here for what's outside your hotel, not to camp in your room. However, it was clean and entirely adequate with the usual modcons--large flat screen TV, mini-fridge, coffee, toiletries, ceiling fan, AC, helpful staff. It would benefit from room safes, but you can always use the front desk deposit boxes if necessary.
By luck of the draw, I got the large inside corner room (40). While spacious, it was rather dark and the balcony is an inside corner over the courtyard, so it wasn't a useful feature.
It's not your culinary destination, but I found the bar and the restaurant for breakfast to be quite suitable to my needs--very open air, so look for AC elsewhere (like back in your room). This isn't a beach hotel, but as many have noted it is central to town and the docks--walking to everything you need to eat and drink is easy, as well as front door access to all the water tours as well as the ferry to Lanai. If I came back to Lahaina I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Pioneer Inn for me was just what I needed !! The staff was great and very helpful. Perfect downtown Lahaina location I could walk to everything. And the balcony above Front street was perfect for reading and people watching in the evenings. The room had everything I wanted and needed to give me a great and relaxing vacation. There are beaches running from the marina to the south and just to the north end of Lahaina (Baby Beach) which are great for swimming. And the great part is you will not need to use the car to get to them, they both are within easy walking distance. Which is great because if you get your electronic car key wet it is very expensive to replace, leave it in your room and go swimming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamuela, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was here on business and chose the right location at Pioneer Inn. Right in the middle of Lahaina! Walking distance to anywhere, check out Spanky's Riptide Bar at 505 Front street - good food, great drinks and awesome staff. The rooms are cool, clean, comfortable and my room was right on the street with a balcony for people watching and making friends if you want! Your neighbors balcony is right next to you...:) Oh yeah, pack your suitcases lightly......no elevators here, but only two floors so just one set of stairs. Free Wi-fi, a pool, and tile floors in the white bathrooms. The AC works great and the rooms are relaxing. Loved it!! I'll come back for fun next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is very good value for the money. The location is excellent and the ambiance is surreal. Not for you if you think this is a resort. While this hotel does not have a resort like look and feel, it is really good value for your money. Granted the rooms were smallish, even oldish, but who goes to Maui, Hawaii to spend time in the room?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Address: 658 Wharf Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.