We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of Lahaina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
658 Wharf Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #10 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Heart of Lahaina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Lahaina is truly a historic town and if that's why you're here, you need to stay at the Pioneer Inn.
Don't expect resort appointments or mainstream sameness--this is a funky, historic Inn, right in the center of town. It's got what you need if you're here for what's outside your hotel, not to camp in your room. However, it was clean and entirely adequate with the usual modcons--large flat screen TV, mini-fridge, coffee, toiletries, ceiling fan, AC, helpful staff. It would benefit from room safes, but you can always use the front desk deposit boxes if necessary.
By luck of the draw, I got the large inside corner room (40). While spacious, it was rather dark and the balcony is an inside corner over the courtyard, so it wasn't a useful feature.
It's not your culinary destination, but I found the bar and the restaurant for breakfast to be quite suitable to my needs--very open air, so look for AC elsewhere (like back in your room). This isn't a beach hotel, but as many have noted it is central to town and the docks--walking to everything you need to eat and drink is easy, as well as front door access to all the water tours as well as the ferry to Lanai. If I came back to Lahaina I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    183
    39
    10
    7
See reviews for
61
213
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Pioneer Inn for me was just what I needed !! The staff was great and very helpful. Perfect downtown Lahaina location I could walk to everything. And the balcony above Front street was perfect for reading and people watching in the evenings. The room had everything I wanted and needed to give me a great and relaxing vacation. There are beaches running from the marina to the south and just to the north end of Lahaina (Baby Beach) which are great for swimming. And the great part is you will not need to use the car to get to them, they both are within easy walking distance. Which is great because if you get your electronic car key wet it is very expensive to replace, leave it in your room and go swimming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamuela, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was here on business and chose the right location at Pioneer Inn. Right in the middle of Lahaina! Walking distance to anywhere, check out Spanky's Riptide Bar at 505 Front street - good food, great drinks and awesome staff. The rooms are cool, clean, comfortable and my room was right on the street with a balcony for people watching and making friends if you want! Your neighbors balcony is right next to you...:) Oh yeah, pack your suitcases lightly......no elevators here, but only two floors so just one set of stairs. Free Wi-fi, a pool, and tile floors in the white bathrooms. The AC works great and the rooms are relaxing. Loved it!! I'll come back for fun next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is very good value for the money. The location is excellent and the ambiance is surreal. Not for you if you think this is a resort. While this hotel does not have a resort like look and feel, it is really good value for your money. Granted the rooms were smallish, even oldish, but who goes to Maui, Hawaii to spend time in the room?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent a couple of nights at this wonderful landmark sitting at the harbour front in Lahaina. Sunsets were exceptional from the neighbouring park. Restaurants and shops surround the hotel. The iconic lighthouse is a few steps away from the hotel. The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Wi-Fi in the room was handy. Traditions are well maintained at this impressive hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

the Pioneer in is in a magical time travel frmae.IT is the BEST best western ever ~because it is NOT a best western building.. ITs a beautiful early 1900s Hawaiin hotel right on the water across from one of the biggest Banyan trees in the world covering 2/3s of an acre. The hotel is wonderful with a Banyan court and balconies and a lovely staff and beautiful conference dinning room. wow!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed mid-December 2012 in a Queen room. It was a perfect size & price for our first trip to Maui -- we weren't in the room much! It was a reasonable walking distance to the Old Lahaina Luau so we avoided the parking nightmare and went wild with the drinks.

Only three things that could make this hotel better: a microwave for the night we're tired of going out... And replace those louvred doors to the bathrooms with something a bit more... Solid; and some sort of screening (like tied bamboo) between room Lanai Balconies. With those three improvements, we'd never be tempted to try another property. Loved the pool, the bed, the location, and staff. The restaurant on the other hand... Didn't impress us at all.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the pool if you want less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We will take them to heart as we make improvements to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Address: 658 Wharf Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.