We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel A+ service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
658 Wharf Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel A+ service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Last minute trip to Maui stayed a night at the Pioneer inn. Perfect location by the marina for boat tours, shops, restaurants across the street from largest Banyon tree and mountain views from the hotel. The best hotel reception EVER!! Her name escapes me but I detected a German accent?? Thank you Thank you for making my intro to Maui at the Lahaina Pioneer Inn perfection!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    209
    44
    10
    7
See reviews for
70
248
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Clare
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Pioneer Inn was both a historical and very pleasant experience. My husband and I spent 5 days in Lahaina and loved every minute. We made reservations 9 months in advance and requested Room 36 based on various guides and reviews. They gave us the room requested. Awesome room! Corner room with double balcony with view of Front Street and harbor. Room was large, bed comfortable, and very nice with mini-bar fridge and sink. Hotel staff were great!
Hotel is located in center of Old Lahaina so no on-site beach, but does have small pool in courtyard. Free parking adjacent to hotel, which is a plus. Hotel located across from the dock for many fishing expeditions and cruise ship drop off. Hotel centrally located to Old Lahaina shops, restaurants, park, and many snorkle/fishing/whale adventures.
Whole experience was great combination of history and modern convenience and comfort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendive, Montana
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Pioneer Inn for two nights while visiting Old Lahaina Town and the island of Lana'i. There is a lot to like about the Pioneer Inn:
1) Location - in the heart of Old Lahaina, across the street from the Banyan Tree park, and RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET FROM THE HARBOR (this was a deciding factor for me when selecting this location).
2) Free Parking. This was especially nice since we took a day trip to Lana'i and had a rental car. Parking in Lahaina is not only difficult to find, but expensive when it is found. Pioneer Inn offers free parking, and plenty of it.
3) Comfort. The rooms are old, but very comfortable. Each room has it's own lanai, which is great for people watching, and getting glimpses of the ocean/harbor
4) Free internet. This was a nice feature after being required to pay for it at other locations during our trip
5) Historic location
6) On site restaurant with excellent food - and a discount for hotel clients. (a free continental breakfast would have been nice, but the restaurant was good)
7) Very friendly and helpful desk people.

There were a couple things that weren't so great - housekeeping. I am used to excellent housekeeping at hotels, and this was not great. Our soap, shampoo, and other amenities were not restocked, ice bucket not dumped, etc. The bed was made and trash dumped, but that's about it. While the hotel sits right on the ocean, there is no beach.

The price.....well....it's difficult to say if the prices are good or not. Compared to other places I have stayed in Hawaii, I would say the price is good. It was nearly $400 for two nights. The rooms were nothing special, and there was not elevator (and we had a lot of luggage - but the maintenance man assisted us with carrying our luggage up the stairs). For me, the location alone was worth the price. The free parking, internet, etc. were all very nice perks. The lack of appropriate housekeeping was annoying. But I would stay here again. This was a good place, and a good place at a reasonable price is difficult to find anywhere in Hawaii....let alone the bustling town of Old Lahaina.

Room Tip: All the rooms have lanais and are on the second floor. I have read some rooms - especially corner r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your response which was very helpful to us. We certainly need to do better in the housekeeping area to get a "thumbs up" response from you so we will give our staff some immediate re-training. Again, thanks for helping us improve and provide an awesome time for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Pioneer Inn in Lahaina was for me an oasis of calm. Staff services on every level were kindly and informative and very helpful. Loved sitting out on the balcony outside my room to view the courtyard with its vegetation and a little of the ocean in the distance. I felt I was in the city and out into history at the same time.

Room Tip: There was no fitness center I knew of. I did not need one. Could have used the pool if I had had mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is a quaint Inn in a most advantageous location, nestled along the Banyan Tree park and across from the docks. The hotel is in excellent condition, with a lovely patio and pool. We used the pool every morning. What a great way to start one's day. If you are going to do a day trip to either Molokai or Lanai , you couldn't be in a more convenient place. All the rooms are on the second ( top) floor, so not having an elevator is not a hardship. The rooms all have a balcony, so people watching is easy if you want to do so. The restaurant and bar are nice, the food is good, and the service is very good considering how busy the restaurant can be.
The back of the Inn is on Front Street, where the majority of shops, restaurants are.
The desk staff we encountered ( Catherine & Anne) were pleasant and helpful to the max.
This is the best in town place

Room Tip: Front Street rooms are nice for a view of what's happening and Banyan Tree side is quieter and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Address: 658 Wharf Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.