We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay in Lahinia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   658 Wharf Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    260
    51
    21
    10
See reviews for
86
329
43
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and it was perfect. Slightly dated rooms but in keeping with character of the hotel. Reception staff are very helpful and informative, couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. Location is excellent, right in front of the harbour for boat trips, and very close to shops and restaurants. Lahaina is a great place, lovely to walk around in the evening, nice beach not too far away, within walking distance. Parking wasn't a problem, even if the nearest lot was full reception gave you ticket to park on next block for free.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

From the outside this more than 100 year old building doesn't look like a great hotel choice but appearances are deceiving. Our flight arrived in Kahului late in the evening and it was about 11PM when we finally arrived in Lahaina. The front desk is only open until about 10PM and a security person met us and checked us into the hotel. There is no elevator and we had to carry our luggage up stairs to get to our guest room. For a younger person that would probably not be a major problem but I have medical problems and for me it was a significant issue. The guest rooms are dated and the bathrooms are small but the overall experience is still surprisingly good. We had a balcony overlooking the courtyard. Parking is perhaps a block away and sometimes required driving around the lot until someone left. Staff were very friendly and helpful and everyone seemed intent on making our stay as pleasant as possible. For the price this is a great choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Idaho
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

nice atmosphere, no parking, big hassle to find a place to park, restaurant need improvement, nice walk to good restaurants & bars, location is the best! no beach to hang out on, nice quiet parks tho.

Room Tip: get a pool side...much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We found ourselves in need of a room for one night after an airline change :(. We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at the Best Western Pioneer Inn. As mentioned, the hotel has been recently renovated. The bathroom was amazingly clean and modern, carpets were new and clean and the bed was very comfy. The air conditioning worked well, the room was quiet and the balcony faced a quiet and quaint courtyard. At each turn, the staff was eager to offer assistance and their customer service was exceptional. They've done a great job of preserving the site's history within a modern renovation.

When you walk out the door, you are at the heart of front street and the ocean is just across the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
3.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#19 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,945 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
18.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 stars 1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.2 mi away
Aina Nalu
Aina Nalu
#24 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
5.4 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#16 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Address: 658 Wharf Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.