We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bargain in Maui - yes in Maui!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
658 Wharf Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A bargain in Maui - yes in Maui!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights at a great price of $119 a night - a walk-in rate.

Good
- The biggest being the price to be honest, Maui is not noted for its bargains.
- Free parking included, which is a big plus in Lahaina. General parking is monitored very closely in the town and spots on the street/carparks are available to park in for only 3 hours before you have to move your car. This rule is enforced overnight also.
- Super clean room, dated, but immaculate. (I was a little concerned about the bedbug chat in a May review on tripadvisor, but the hotel seems to have taken it to task and the mattress in our room was zipped into a cover, with another cover on top, then the bedding.)
- Right in heart of town.
- Free wireless internet in the room. Slow but sure.
- A small 'fridge in the room which was handy.

So-so
- The property, although with character, needs a little bit of love and upgrading.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    209
    44
    10
    7
See reviews for
70
248
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed here on our first leg of our Maui trip. We arrived around 11pm and were greeted with a friendly smile. Our room was clean and looked to recently updated. The bed was very comfortable and the square pillow we perfect. Our Lanai gave us a view of the Banyan Tree, harbor and the west mountains. Upon arrival we also received a parking pass that allowed us to park in a lot about 100 yards from the hotel which saved us at least $20 a day. They have a nice courtyard and the onsite restaurant was very good as well.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

The Pioneer Inn is the place to stay on Maui. It is located right on the center of the best town on Maui.

Room Tip: Don't book room 18.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

The silly Best Western website does not do this place justice. Beautiful, charming, historic hotel in a great location. Rooms along the road can be noisy but I sleep through anything so not a problem for me. Nice staff, none of the over-service of much of America.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

The Pioneer has a great location. The main harbor in Lahaina is right out the front door and Front street is out the back. Outdoor pool is nice and clean. WiFi signal was weak in room 19. Decent size in room refridge The front desk is great when Anne is working.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Our first rooms were alittle noisy from the constant hummm sound from downstairs below us,,,,but, upon speaking with management we were quickly moved to a very nice and quiet rooms facing the pool!! We were very pleased with the service and slept well in the comfortable beds! So, again thank you kindly to management and front desk who made our stay pleasant!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

It was our second stay at the Pioneer Inn and will definitely be our last. We stayed in room 36 which is a corner room with a wrap around lanai. Since we had stayed here before in a different room, we thought we knew what to expect, but when we walked into the room the smell was nearly unbearable. It smelled as if the room was filled with old gym shoes. Every time we came back to our room we opened both lanai doors to try and air out the room. What we didn't realize was the room was infested with bed bugs. My wife got the worst of it with over a hundred little bites on her arms and legs. We also had a couple bug come back in our luggage and we are cleaning and bagging everything to try and stop the infestation from following us home. We obviously no longer recommend staying at this hotel. It has turned into a nightmare for us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Voidman:
I would like to extend an additional apology regarding the bed bug infestation in Room 36.
I know that our general manager has been working with you to try to make amends for your unfortunate experience. I want to assure you that all of our housekeeping and management staff has gone through training to detect and prevent bed bugs. Unfortunately once they are brought in to the property there is an incubation period where they are difficult to detect and that is what must have happened. This room has been professionally treated and all other rooms checked with no bed bugs found.
Once again, my sincere apology that this occurred during your visit.

Jim Lennon
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Address: 658 Wharf Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.