We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a lovely stay at this historic hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   658 Wharf Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Had a lovely stay at this historic hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Our first rooms were alittle noisy from the constant hummm sound from downstairs below us,,,,but, upon speaking with management we were quickly moved to a very nice and quiet rooms facing the pool!! We were very pleased with the service and slept well in the comfortable beds! So, again thank you kindly to management and front desk who made our stay pleasant!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    240
    48
    19
    7
See reviews for
83
298
39
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

It was our second stay at the Pioneer Inn and will definitely be our last. We stayed in room 36 which is a corner room with a wrap around lanai. Since we had stayed here before in a different room, we thought we knew what to expect, but when we walked into the room the smell was nearly unbearable. It smelled as if the room was filled with old gym shoes. Every time we came back to our room we opened both lanai doors to try and air out the room. What we didn't realize was the room was infested with bed bugs. My wife got the worst of it with over a hundred little bites on her arms and legs. We also had a couple bug come back in our luggage and we are cleaning and bagging everything to try and stop the infestation from following us home. We obviously no longer recommend staying at this hotel. It has turned into a nightmare for us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hulagirl1, Owner at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Voidman:
I would like to extend an additional apology regarding the bed bug infestation in Room 36.
I know that our general manager has been working with you to try to make amends for your unfortunate experience. I want to assure you that all of our housekeeping and management staff has gone through training to detect and prevent bed bugs. Unfortunately once they are brought in to the property there is an incubation period where they are difficult to detect and that is what must have happened. This room has been professionally treated and all other rooms checked with no bed bugs found.
Once again, my sincere apology that this occurred during your visit.

Jim Lennon
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Great location close to all desirable attractions. Friendly, helpful staff. (Thanks Anne !) Good restaurant with acceptable menu. Room was very clean, well stocked and comfortable. Amazing how they maintained a comfortable room in a historic building. We recommend booking a room overlooking the courtyard and pool. Much quieter. Outside hotel the scenery was amazing. History, tourist amenities, and a beautiful harbour right there for you. Would definitely stay there again. Mahalo !

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room overlooking courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We only stayed in this hotel for a few hours, we arrived late and left early to go to the sunrise at Haleakala but it was in a great location with great service. The woman at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful in giving us directions. The restaurant attached was closing soon after we arrived but the bartender was willing and able to get the cook to prepare us a meal. All in all it was a great experience, and seemed like it would have been a lively place to be during the day as it was lined with shops. We did not get to check out the beach.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

This is a great location especially if you plan any tours out of the harbor. Our trip was a weekend trip and specifically to take a snorkeling/whale watching tour that left out of the harbor...early! Because we were tight on time location was what sold us on the Pioneer Inn. The hotel was actually better than I expected. We had a king room with a harbor view. The view was actually a park view and you could see the harbor too. I loved the terrace! It was great for people watching. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and we slept very well. The parking is not that far from the hotel. You can unload your luggage at the hoteland then park the car. The location was in the center of shopping, restaurants and the park so we walked everywhere and everything was within an easy walk. We had lunch at the hotel restaurant and though it was very good. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it. It is not a resort hotel and doesn't offer a beach for swimming. If I had been staying longer than a weekend and were on vacation I would have wanted a resort hotel. For us this was perfect because we were able to catch our 7:30am snorkeling/whale watch tour by very easily walking across to the harbor and then easily head for the shower at the hotel when we were back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. Great location and the staff was nice. You get a 15% discount at the attached restaurant/bar if you stay there. Our room faced the courtyard and was not noisy. Parking was kind of a pain,- it was very close but the rental car company had run out of smaller cars and I got stuck with a minivan. It was tight getting into some of the parking spots. I would stay there again, it's right across from the harbor for all of the boat excursions and you can just walk over and check them out. Very nice mattresses.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Actually I was here 2 years ago. That´s a good hotel in a wonderfull location. The best point to reach all island. Confort hotel, big room and a good balcony with a great view. They offer a park few blocks away. And staff are OK. Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn

Address: 658 Wharf Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit historic Lahaina, treat yourself to the hospitatlity of Hawaii's plantation era while enjoying all the comfort and convenience of the Best Western Pioneer Inn. Although the exterior faithfully preserves this historical hotel, inside and around the grounds, visitors will enjoy up to date accomodations and facilities. Guests are surrounded by constant reminders of Hawaii's special beauty and will find the Inn's staff as warm and hospitable as a gentle island tradewind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Hotel Lahaina
Best Western Lahaina
Lahaina Best Western
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pioneer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.