We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maui Kai 806 is outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Kai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Kai to your Saves list
Maui Kai
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   106 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Cloverdale, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Maui Kai 806 is outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We spent five wonderful days in Maui by renting Maui Kai 806 from Art and Sophie Nickel. From the first email, we knew we would enjoy this property. It was exactly as described. A well appointed kitchen, beautiful bathroom, two "Lazy Boy" chairs that swiveled in the living room so that you could enjoy the ocean views. My husband feel asleep there two nights by listening to the waves! We have been to Maui many times over the last 25 years, but this is by far one of our best experiences. It is a small place nestled among other high rises, but it is extremely pleasant, well maintained and even has a small, private pool in the back...complete with dining area and tv and kitchen. We have stayed in all of the major hotels, but when we return, and we will, we will book a longer stay with Art and Sophie because they have the Aloha spirit and it shows in how well it is staged. Be sure to view all of their choices in suites, but we paid the extra for the end one, and am glad we did...being higher up gives you the views and breezes without pedestrian traffic. Also, you are right ON the beach...it is merely thirty steps to the ocean! Thank you Art and Sophie...we had a great time! Aloha!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an end of the building suite...a little more expensive, but WELL worth it...breat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauikai806, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Aloha Jane,
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the amazing ocean views. There's nothing like falling asleep to the sound of waves rolling up onto the beach. Sophie and I believe in sharing our Aloha spirit and our very proud of everything the Maui Kai has to offer. Let us know when you are ready for a return visit and we'll get you counting down to another great stay!
Mahalo,
Art and Sophie Nickel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    157
    16
    15
    12
See reviews for
152
522
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We booked a jr suite at Maui Kai from Donna Bender. Donna was extremely easy to work with. She was very prompt with returning calls/email.
Our condo was fabulous with a view second to none! Our bed was a murphy bed which was very comfortable and was able to be tucked away during the day to give us more room. We watched whales from our Lanai.The sound of the ocean was so soothing at night. Kitchen was well equipped. Pool and grill area was great . Everyone was very helpful at the Maui Kai. Donna sent us her guide to Maui which was helpful.
Thank you Donna!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaBender, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
I'm glad you had a fabulous time at Maui Kai watching whales and listening to the soothing sounds of the ocean. It was my pleasure arranging your stay and providing you with my 80-page guide to all things wonderful on Maui. Maui Kai awaits your return! Mahalo nui loa, Donna Bender
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We honeymooned in Hawaii and Donna was the perfect resource person to guide us to the right accomodations! We wanted a condo on the beach with the comfort of our own kitchen for occasional homemade sunset dinners on our lanai. Great location for the price considering nearby beachfront hotels werw double and even trie the price! Great bang for lur buck would definitely as Donna Bender for her recos in the future :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaBender, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
It was my pleasure helping you arrange your honeymoon at Maui Kai! I'm glad you enjoyed sunset dinners on your lanai - it's a better view than you would get at any restaurant! You're right, Maui Kai is the best value for your money because you're guaranteed to have an oceanfront view with free daily maid service and free Internet. Let me know when you're ready to return for an anniversary celebration! Mahalo nui loa, Donna Bender
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Quick response to inquiry. Art even spoke to us about the location and things to do in the area. The condo was BEAUTIFUL! We have referred to others, and will book through Maui Kai 806 owners Art & Sophie Nickel when we return to Maui.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauikai806, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Aloha,
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for all the compliments. Sophie or I always respond quickly and try ensure our guests not only have a great visit but also have the information they need to help plan their trip to Maui. Thanks again for compliments and recommending us!
Mahalo,
Art and Sophie Nickel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Curious property. The staff is great, friendly and helpful. The view from our window (which feels like it's out *over* the ocean) is awesome. The pool and hot tub are fine. The price is excellent.

BUT everything is incredibly dated. The mattress has clearly seen better days, and the pillows were terrible. There was an infestation of ants that we couldn't ever get rid of. Somewhere between 3 and 4 stars.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles M, General Manager at Maui Kai, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Aloha and Mahalo for your comments. We are pleased that you found our location to have an awesome view and that our staff was accommodating. It does appear that you were unhappy with the condition of your unit. The units in the Maui Kai Rental Program do follow high standards to keep our guests comfortable. We have a housekeeping and maintenance staff on property to attend to any issues that may arise. Once informed, we will send our association personnel to direct their attention to ants or similar pests conducive to the tropics. We hope you may consider a return visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We loved our stay at Maui Kai! We went for our anniversary, and wanted a place that was close enough to the action to be convenient but still felt private. Maui Kai gave was way more than we expected! You will not find a better view for the price and we loved that we could sit on our balcony and watch the whales every morning. There were plenty of restaurants close enough to walk to and the beach out front was never crowded. Maui Kai was the perfect choice for the relaxing Maui vacation we'd been dreaming of and we can't wait to return!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauikai806, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Aloha Michelle and Tyler,
I'm glad you enjoyed your anniversary stay and the amazing ocean views... the whales do put on a great show. Let Sophie or I know when you are ready for a return visit and we'll get you organized for another great next stay!
Mahalo,
Art and Sophie Nickel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Comfortable and clean. Wi-find, free box office dvds in office. Friendly staff on duty. Directly above beach, we could sit on balcony and watch whales spout and ships go by. Walk out the back door to ocean 30 feet away. Bargain!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauikai806, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Aloha Sharon and Julia,
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the Maui Kai and all the great extras the Maui Kai Rental Program has to offer. Being ocean front with perfect ocean views can result in some great sightings ranging from turtles to whales. Hope we see you back soon!
Mahalo,
Art and Sophie Nickel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Kai

Address: 106 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Kai features all oceanfront junior suite (studio), one bedroom and two bedroom accommodations. Daily towel service, weekly maid service, in-room safe, local phone calls, high speed internet cable hook up, wi-fi also in each room and at the pool and cabana area are all complimentary with no additional fees. Free parking. All rooms have central air conditioning, DVR's, DVD players with freee current release DVD's and spectacular sunsets. Heated pool, jacuzzi, barbecues, and laundry facilities all on site. Located on northern Kaanapali Beach, just four miles north of Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maui Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Kai Hotel Lahaina
Maui Kai Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.