We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent maui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Kai

Save Saved
You added Maui Kai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maui Kai
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   106 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

we booked our stay at the Maui Kai through Donna Bender who owns unit 807.....what a great place....friendly staff....great room.....fantastic view and you are centrally located in north maui...everything you need is close....would highly recommend ....Donna goes out of her way to make sure you will enjoy your holiday.

Room Tip: if you want oceanfront rooms....this is it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaBender, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay at Maui Kai and appreciated the friendly and helpful staff. Mahalo nui loa, Donna Bender
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    624
    147
    16
    15
    12
See reviews for
137
477
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed during Spring Break 2013. Awesome view, huge view deck. Saw whales every day. And those wonderful sea turtles....Redone kitchen well stocked. Towels replaced and free coffee downstairs! Carpets were tired, better if they were were redone or laminated flooring. The staff downstairs were good to my two children when they went to rent movies. Great location with grocery stores and shops across the street. Art was great to deal with as I was unsure dealing with someone I did not know. He assured me all was well and it was. Thanks for a great stay and for being true to your word, Art. That view really is etched in our memories forever. See you again!

Room Tip: Higher rooms better, facing ocean fantastic. Closest building to the water. Not flashy, only 80 uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauikai806, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Aloha Colleen,
I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and that Sophie and I were able to help get you into one of our partner units. I know it can be stressful planning so I'm happy I was able to answer all your questions and find the best option for you. Let us know when you are ready for a return visit and we'll get you booked and organized for your next stay!
Mahalo,
Art and Sophie Nickel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Maui Kai – Room #703 – We had an enjoyable trip and stayed at the Maui Kai, Room #703 for 9 nights over Christmas and New Years. Our observations were as follows:

Pros:
• THE OCEAN FRONT VIEW! Fantastic!
• The small size of the property (80 units) and being super close to the water.
• Very well appointed and updated kitchen, with tons of gadgets and utensils you may need.
• Rooms that are very quiet with not a lot of outside noise or sounds from neighboring units.
• Nice fans over the bed and dining table.
• We had plenty of bath towels.
• The recreation room by the pool, with a with ping pong table and computer for printing boarding passes – very nice
• The barbeque grills and secured pool area were very comfortable and private.
• Laundry and garbage disposal just outside the unit across the hall as maid service is not standard with owner’s units.
• Free parking and internet services saving at a minimum of $15 – $25 / night.
• Booking through Chasen Rainbows, we have used them before and they are very good.

Cons:
• The hostile staff at the front office, especially when they find out that you are staying in an owner’s unit off the grid and not managed by them at the property. When asking about the property and conveniences, most staff were very accommodating until they ask you which unit you are staying in. Look out then, it was almost like turning a switch and the attitude began. Really sad…..shameful actually!
• There were no hotel amenities (restaurant, bar valet parking etc,), Maui Kai is an older property and is not a full service hotel.
• There were no laundry units (stackable units are standard these days) inside our studio room.
• The laundry machines that were provided were tired and in need of replacement. The dryer did not dry clothes completely and required a second run.
• The headboard on the bed was made of cloth and was not clean at all. We covered it with a beach towel and lived with it.
• The bathroom is in need of an update as well as the other furniture in the unit.

Room Tip: The end units are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles M, General Manager at Maui Kai, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent comments about the Maui Kai. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. Our location is a given – as direct oceanfront , our view is incomparable! We are also conveniently located to shopping and dining within walking distance. Our parking is free and close to the building, in addition to our pool/cabana area which includes a hot tub among the other amenities mentioned. We offer in-room WI-FI at no charge and as a guest of the Maui Kai Rental Program, we provide each guest with a beach towel and include daily housekeeping. Every condo in our program is well appointed, has a free in-room safe and is always kept clean. We have a maintenance staff on property to address any issue that may arise. The Maui Kai front office staff meets and greets all guests and does their best to help each and every person who comes in with kindness and aloha. They are limited in the services they can provide to the Private Rental guests. They have no access to these units and must in most cases, ask the guest to check with their on- island agent for problem resolution.
ALOHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We happened upon Maui Kai when we booked a very last minute trip on Christmas Day. The entire island was booked and we were desperate. We are currently here on vacation as I write this review- we are looking for vacation and investment property of our own on Maui. Maui Kaui wasn't a place that we had previously considered. I will tell you now that on our second day at this complex we are working with our realtor to find property to purchase here- we like it that much! The front staff is great, the views are beyond compare- you just can't get closer to the water, and the condos that we've seen here are very updated, well stocked and taken care of. The others we've seen around the island as we look to purchase aren't as nice. These have great amenities, even air conditioning for those warm evenings or if you want to close things up. Wifi, boogie boards, movies. It feels like home.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles M, General Manager at Maui Kai, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks. It sounds like finding the Maui Kai was meant to be; and we are happy that we were able to accommodate you. Many of our return guests have found us purely by accident and are now reluctant to let the secret out! We hope to see you return in the near future. ALOHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, NE
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed here from 12/17 to 12/23 2013. This is a Junior Oceanfront Studio unit.
The unit has a full kitchen, a Queen size Murphy bed (that was surprisingly comfortable), TV with cable and DVD player, was very nicely furnished, and has a wonderful view from the lanai. Almost every morning when we looked down into the water there was a sea turtle swimming right off the beach, a school of fish, and we saw whales every day (or at least the spouts, but many times the whales). The sound of the ocean is very relaxing to go to sleep to. The Maui Kai has a very nice (small) pool and hot tub with a cabana that has a kitchen and picnic area with 2 very nice gas grills. We took advantage of the hot tub several evenings and the size of the pool and hot tub is really not a factor as we were the only ones there when we were using them. I grilled steaks and pineapple on Sunday evening and they turned out very good. Shopping is close by (a times supermarket is within walking distance).
Friendly staff, good housekeeping, everything worked, free parking, no resort fee, plus you are right on the beach in Hawaii (any closer to the water and you would have to stay on a boat), there is nothing more anyone could ask for. The Maui Kai is the perfect place to stay on Maui.

Room Tip: I don't think there is probably a bad room here, but, I would recommend a higher floor for the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles M, General Manager at Maui Kai, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
ALOHA We are so happy to hear you had a pleasant stay. Each condo is individually owned and furnishings differ; however, every one of them is well equipped and offers the most spectacular view! Our staff strives to keep our guests comfortable and informed about all that Maui has to offer. Give us a call as soon as you are ready to plan your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldotna, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed in a studio unit at Maui Kai that owner Donna Bender helped us book. Donna's travel confirmations, maui guide, and fast response emails made our reassurance and trip successful. Clean room, plenty of utensils, and we liked having the boogie boards as part of our room accessories. Black Rock was ~1.5 miles away and is a must do early in the morning for snorkleing. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaBender, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
It was my pleasure making your stay at Maui Kai smooth and easy. I'm glad you took advantage of the great snorkeling that can be found close by as well as right out in front of Maui Kai. Let me know when you're ready to return! Mahalo nui loa, Donna Bender
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We loved our 3night stay at the Maui Kai, to celebrate our 25 th anniversary, We had a studio unit, 303, and it was a beautiful, clean well stocked unit with all we needed. The view from the large lanai was unbeatable, pure ocean view with no obstructions. To hear the waves crashing from the room was perfect. (The waves can be loud though even with the sliding doors closed so if you are a Very light sleeper you might want to try a room with a glassed in lanai). The beach out front has rocks and coral but there are spots closeby for swimming and we saw several snorkellers along that stretch so something for everyone. Seeing whales from our lanai and a turtle right off the beach was so worth booking here. Thanks to Donna Bender for arranging this through VRBO rentals. We had no trouble when we wanted to extend our stay, This is a nice place, nothing huge or super fancy, with a nice outdoor pool/hot tub and fully equipped cabana for BBQ and is exactly what we expected and we would highly recommend this place. A superb value for the money. Don't forget to bring your binoculars and beach chairs though, our room didn't have either. DVDs for borrow in the lobby was quite handy also. Good proximity to a little shopping place with groceries and restaurants etc. Too and a nice location in the kaanapali area.

Room Tip: We enjoyed 303, it was a perfect size room for a couple, nice adequately stocked kitchen....beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaBender, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
I'm was happy to help you book your stay at Maui Kai for your 25th anniversary - congratulations! I'm glad you saw whales from your lanai - most Maui Kai units have binoculars but it's always good to bring an extra pair so you're not fighting over them! Yes, Maui Kai is the best value for your money because every unit is oceanfront with a spectacular view of the islands of Lanai and Molokai and gorgeous sunsets every night. Maui Kai looks forward to your return! Mahalo nui loa, Donna Bender
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maui Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Kai

Address: 106 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Kai 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Kai features all oceanfront junior suite (studio), one bedroom and two bedroom accommodations. Daily towel service, weekly maid service, in-room safe, local phone calls, high speed internet cable hook up, wi-fi also in each room and at the pool and cabana area are all complimentary with no additional fees. Free parking. All rooms have central air conditioning, DVR's, DVD players with freee current release DVD's and spectacular sunsets. Heated pool, jacuzzi, barbecues, and laundry facilities all on site. Located on northern Kaanapali Beach, just four miles north of Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Maui Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Kai Hotel Lahaina
Maui Kai Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.