We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Kai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Kai to your Saves list
Maui Kai
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   106 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
“Outstanding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Condo's view amazing! Inside everything in great shape(appliances, furniture, good bathroom, nice bed)!
Reception warming, and buildind elevators new!
Small swimming pool (but with beautiful beaches all around who cares)!
Definitely would go back!
Paulo ( from brazil)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaBender, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed the amazing views from Maui Kai. It was my pleasure helping you arrange your stay coming all the way from Brazil! Please come back soon. Mahalo nui loa, Donna Bender
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    157
    16
    15
    12
See reviews for
152
522
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed in Maui Kai for a pre-Christmas vacation. We chose the condo based on trip adviser reviews and price. Pros- great location, easy to get to most places. Loved being so close to the beach. Having a full kitchen saved us money on snacks and drinks. Cons- it truly is a condo building, you do not have the resort feel of other hotels or condos in the area. Some furnishings or amenities in the room are not updated or even working. Overall, we received good value for the money and would stay again.

Check in was easy, the office is a small room off an unimpressive lobby. We appreciated the free cloth bag from the office as Maui has outlawed plastic bags.

Our room was as expected. The kitchen had a full sized refrigerator, small oven and stove, microwave, and any needed dishes. Enough room for us to cook, store our suitcases, sit, and move easily around the bed. Lanai was large and had a table with four chairs, it appeared lanai furnishings differed from unit to unit. The only real disappointment was the bathroom, it took a while for the room to fully "light up" and the shower was a strange, square shape with one higher wall. While the rest of the room was open and airy, the bathroom was the opposite, closed in and out of date. There were a few broken items in our room. The deadbolt to the room did not work. Our in room safe did not work. And one of the beach chairs left in the room was broken. We informed the office upon our departure, we didn't want to advertise that we were in a room with a broken safe and deadbolt while we were staying there.

View from the room was amazing, right on the water with a completely unobstructed view. You can walk into the water from the front of the Maui Kai and they offer a hose to clean off once you leave the ocean. Great snorkeling right outside the hotel, we saw a puffer fish and a sea turtle while snorkeling. Not for the weak swimmers, however. There is no beach directly in front of the hotel, but you can easily find a space to the right or left. A few bars and restaurants within walking distance on the beach (Duke's).

The pool was small- you can see the pool at the resort next door and you are somewhat jealous. That being said, it was rarely crowded and both the pool and hot tub were clean and well maintained. The room adjacent to the pool offers a computer with internet, ping pong table, etc. Parking was hit or miss. Occasionally one can find a spot right next to the building, however if you come back later at night (after 9), you will be parking further away, there are several small parking lots leading away from the condos.

We slept well at the Maui Kai, no loud noise, no bright lights. The condos appeared geared towards families or older couples. There is a supermarket close by (within walking distance), an ABC store, and several restaurants.

Overall, a nice stay with some glitches. There is no resort feel, no restaurant or bar onsite, no room service. For the price (half that of a resort), you do receive a decent room with nice amenities and a good location, well worth the value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles M, General Manager at Maui Kai, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Mahalo for your feedback. We are sorry you didn't report the issues you encountered; we have a full time maintenance staff who could have addressed any problems right away. It sounds like you had a wonderful vacation. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great whale watching right from your lanai. Lots of friendly people around. A great snorkeling spot just down the beach at "Airport Beach" (half-way to Black Rock). Times supermarket is nearby. Not fancy, but very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Donna Bender, an owner at Maui Kai, helped us book a 1-bedroom corner unit there. she gave us more info than booking via websits. The corner is suite is so great. it has large windowns on both sides, so the view is stunning, could see the ocean from anywhere in the living room and sunset and made you feel you are so close to the ocean. The kitchen has everything, we cooded breakfast and enjoyed it in the living room with the beautiful view. We really didn't want to leave when we had to. just wish I could go back to Hawaii again very soon!

Room Tip: corner room is so great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We just returned from 11 days at the Maui Kai # 306 and we can't tell you how terrific this place is. We rented the unit through owners David and Cathy Clayton and everything went smoothly with no problems at all. We spent most of our time on the lanai watching the whales and turtles, it was hard to leave the condo . The views of Lanai and Molokai are fabulous . The junior suite was spacious enough for 2 adults and came fully equipped. The condo is furnished with class and love, the bed sooooo comfy. You opened your eyes and looked right out into the ocean. Everything was top notch and you wanted for nothing. We felt like we were on a cruise ship when we sat on the lanai because you are literally right on the water. We can't say enough about this beautiful condo and have already booked our return trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We just returned from a week at the Maui Kai and can't stop thinking about it. We rented the unit through Maui Kai 806 owners Art and Sophie NIckel. We spent most of our time on the lanai eating meals and watching the whales and turtles. The views of Lanai and Molokai are spectacular. The junior suite was roomy enough for 2 adults and came fully equipped. Maui Kai is now my most favourite place to stay in Hawaii and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a fantastic time at the Maui Kai!! The view was absolutely amazing from our lanai!! Waking up every morning to the ocean was heavenly. We booked our unit through Maui Kai 806 owners Art and Sophie Nickel who provided us with a great unit, and fantastic service. They were really helpful preparing us for our trip, and helped make everything so simple. We can't wait to go back!!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Kai

Address: 106 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Kai features all oceanfront junior suite (studio), one bedroom and two bedroom accommodations. Daily towel service, weekly maid service, in-room safe, local phone calls, high speed internet cable hook up, wi-fi also in each room and at the pool and cabana area are all complimentary with no additional fees. Free parking. All rooms have central air conditioning, DVR's, DVD players with freee current release DVD's and spectacular sunsets. Heated pool, jacuzzi, barbecues, and laundry facilities all on site. Located on northern Kaanapali Beach, just four miles north of Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maui Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Kai Hotel Lahaina
Maui Kai Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.