We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding/honeymoon in beautiful Maui - Ocean view condo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Kai

Save Saved
You added Maui Kai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maui Kai
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   106 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wedding/honeymoon in beautiful Maui - Ocean view condo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed for two weeks in October of 2011. We felt at home in our beautiful ocean view corner- 1 bedroom unit. Glorious sunrises and sunsets. Right on the beach. Pool. BBQ. So clean. Staff very friendly. We would go back in a heartbeat.. and we will! Our condo selection was made easy with the help of Donna Bender who owns a condo at the Maui Kai - she knows the resort well and has lots of advice on activities and dining out.

Room Tip: Corner units have great views and more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    148
    16
    15
    12
See reviews for
146
499
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in Maui Kai 907. We had a wonderful stay. The room was immaculate and the bed was comfortable and that is saying alot with my husband of 200 pounds and I'm about 100! We didn't use the A/C unit because we wanted to hear the ocean WARNING...we heard the ocean! Sometimes it propelled us out of our beds to the balcony WOW is mother nature fierce! pretty cool though. All that being said, we cannot verify the A/C unit works or doesn't work! The one thing needed was a ceiling fan. During the day it seemed there was a ton of breeze blowing stuff around but in the night it felt warm sometimes and needed air movement. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were in walking distance to Castaways (great for breakfast) and then would go next door to the other resort and take the fabulous tram to Whaler's village. All good!

TIP!!! Run do not walk to Choice Health Bar. Its a ten minute drive and well worth it. We ended up there every morning for an Acai bowl and smoothie (well health elixir they call it). It was like eating ice cream in a bowl with fruit and granola and then downing it with a chocolate shake (they name it Insane Maca Cocoa something)! It was like Maui in a bowl. We go on holidays to "feel" better...to feel refreshed and to take it the beauty and essence of this magical island. This soul food is literally like experiencing Maui from the inside out. I am not vegan or vegetarian and neither is my construction worker rugby playing husband and yet we became fast addicts!! We didn't miss a morning! Ok Castaways and Gazebo (wonderful too) when we got there and then Choice everyday after! I understand this is supposed to be a review for Maui Kai but I have to share this too because it made our trip. We would stay again in Maui Kai because it is a beautiful place and because its minutes from our favorite breakfast place.

Hope this helps!
Aloha

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauikai806, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to having you back... and its never too early to start planning your return visit!

Mahalo,
Art and Sophie Nickel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in Maui Kai 108. Awesome beach access! Great nightly sunsets. Wonderful condo. Location is fantastic! We walked to the grocery store. Just 5-10 minutes by car to Lahaina. Easy and ample parking. Easy check in and check out. Truly a no hassle stay. Booked through aloha condos.com. Everything was as stated. No surprises. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Maui.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis,MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Maui Kai offered so much more than just a place to stay. We brought three generations of our family together in clean condo units that were booked through Donna Bender who also happens to own a unit. We found the closets stocked with boogie boards and the kitchens were outfitted with all that we needed. All members of the family thoroughly enjoyed the whale watching and the sunsets from our lanais which are practically right on the water. The condos offered us a place to gather and share stories about our day. We had easy access to parking, the boardwalk, grocery stories and restaurants. Everyone that worked at the Maui Kai was helpful and informative as we went about our day. The kids and the grandparents are already asking when we are headed back to the Maui Kai. Our trip to Maui was made even more memorable with our wonderful stay at the Maui Kai.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at #106 and were just amazed.. the 'studio' was plenty big for two people and decoration was just fantastic. It looked like it could belong to a Four seasons villa. They had remodelled recently and well worth it. The hosts thought about everything. Many little thoughtful touches. And the kitchen is fully equipped and you are literally on the beach and can watch the sunrise and sunset from the lanai on from your bed. Plenty of parking, cute pool area, fast internet and close to supermarket and not far from Lahania and restaurants. Honestly, if you go to Maui you would be foolish to not stay at this condo. It is truely paradise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We "booked through Maui Kai 806 owners Art and Sophie Nickel", who helped us find a unit since their's was reserved. The condo was nice, clean, and has an amazing view, along with the sound of the waves. The location of Maui Kai condos is excellent, close to everything. Everyone at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. The sunsets were beautiful, water was warm, and our weather was great. A very memorable vacation, we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We and our friends booked 3 junior suites at Maui Kai through owner Donna Bender. Maui Kai was highly recommended by my husband’s co-worker, and we all agreed that this will definitely be the place to return to on our next visit. We were also very pleased that Maui Kai doesn’t have the resort & parking fees that are becoming the norm for other hotels. The staff was always friendly and very helpful. We loved relaxing and having a few beers and barbeque dinners (the kitchen was well equipped) by the pool after a full day of exploring & playing. The unit we stayed at was wonderful and felt like home. It pretty much had everything that we could possibly need. It was amazing to just walk out through the back door of Maui Kai and you’re right on the beach! We really enjoyed walking on the beach and heading next door for happy hour at Duke’s or going to the other side if you wanted to just grab a great breakfast buffet at the other hotel. We loved keeping the doors open at night just listening to the waves while we drift off to sleep. I think the most fun thing about the trip was to see all the incredible sea life from the beaches, the snorkeling trips, and even from our room we spotted turtles, sting rays (or manta rays?), and dolphins. This was my first trip to Maui, and I’m still amazed and thrilled that I got to swim with turtles soooo close to me. Totally incredible! Of course, the most memorable part of the trip would be watching the sunsets, especially from our lanai.

Room Tip: Definitely make sure that your room has a lanai - ours was room 807, and our friends stayed in 808 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Kai

Address: 106 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Kai 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Kai features all oceanfront junior suite (studio), one bedroom and two bedroom accommodations. Daily towel service, weekly maid service, in-room safe, local phone calls, high speed internet cable hook up, wi-fi also in each room and at the pool and cabana area are all complimentary with no additional fees. Free parking. All rooms have central air conditioning, DVR's, DVD players with freee current release DVD's and spectacular sunsets. Heated pool, jacuzzi, barbecues, and laundry facilities all on site. Located on northern Kaanapali Beach, just four miles north of Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Maui Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Kai Hotel Lahaina
Maui Kai Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.