We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Kai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Kai to your Saves list
Maui Kai
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   106 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed her for 6 nights in Room 806, rented directly through owners Art and Sophie.

Absolutely fantastic condo with everything you need. View from the lanai is spectacular and I think this is probably why the Maui Kai is rated so highly.

There is a supermarket within walking distance which was useful as we didn't hire a car. There is a bus from the Maui Kai to Whalers Village (which I thought was fairly poor) and the other way going up to Napili Beacj (which is definately worth a trip up to).

One thing to note for other Britsh travellers is that Maui itself is very very expensive, so bear this in mind when budgetting your spending money!! Also, everything is pretty much closed by 10pm, people tend to eat early (around 6-7) which is unlike when going on holiday in Europe so just bear this in mind when planning your day.

We loved the tranquility that the Maui Kai provided, it was so quiet, all you can hear are the waves!

Beautiful...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiscoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauikai806, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in our unit at the Maui Kai. I know its a long trip from the UK but hope to have you back soon!

Mahalo,
Art and Sophie Nickel
Maui Kai 806
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

In celebration of our 5th wedding anniversary, my husband Dan & I travelled to Maui for the first time together. Dan had been to the Maui Kai many times before, as early as 1984, but this was my first experience with Maui Kai. We booked Unit #1007 through Maui Kai 806 owners Art & Sophie (www.mauikai.org), and we're so glad we did! Art & Sophie made everything so easy, happily answered all of my questions (and being an A-type personality new to the Maui Kai, I had plenty!), and were very clear with prices, policies & procedure, so there were no surprises, and no hidden fees. Unit #1007 is on the top floor, accessed by 2 brand-spankin-new elevators, a beautifully decorated studio unit with a breathtaking view that grabs you the minute you walk in the door and peacefully, blissfully, never lets you go. The lanai has been captured as part of the room, a feature that didn't appeal to me until I actually saw it, and once I did there was no going back. What an amazing feeling to stand at the railing and gaze across the water, and to hear nothing but the ocean all night long.... The studio is well appointed and tastefully decorated...the bed was comfortable, the dresser drawers sufficient, the unit library shelves stocked & eclectic, the kitchen supplied with everything a person might need to eat, cook & store, the refrigerator clean & fresh smelling, and the closet big enough to hang our clothes above all the beach goodies and towels provided. The bathroom is small but bright with mirrors and a good place to primp, and the daily maid service divine. I could go on with more detail, but why? The best and most blissful way to experience the magic of the Maui Kai is to book a unit and go there!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view, but 6th floor and above are primo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunMoonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We booked Maui Kai 807 through condo owner Donna Bender.

The condo was amazing and very centrally located. It had everything you could ever need while on vacation. It was fully furnished and very recently updated. There were two beach chairs, a boogie board, beach towels, beach umbrella, every dish, pot, pan, and utensil you could need to cook up a gourmet meal. It was very clean and very quiet. The staff at the Maui Kai was also very nice, friendly and consistently greeted us.

I highly recommend an upper floor, you have an amazing view of the water, Lana'i, and Moloka'i. The patio was completely private, and we slept most nights with just the screen doors, listening to the waves all night. I can't imagine a better place to stay in all of Hawaii. The water is very warm and perfect for swimming. It's too rocky directly in front of the Maui Kai, but you simply walk a few feet to the right or left of the complex, and you are on amazing beaches for sunbathing, swimming, or snorkeling.

Being from the east coast and the jet lag, we were asleep by 6 and 7pm the first few nights there...it was always very quiet and peaceful in the building which made this very easy, another plus!

There is a pool, jacuzzi, and a common area with grills, fully equipped kitchen, and computer/printer. It was very easy to use the computer to print out boarding passes the day before we left. There is a grocery store down the street. I am looking forward to returning next year! Thank you Maui Kai for an amazing first trip to Hawaii.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor for better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mescooby422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a very nice hotel right near the ocean and staff is very friendly.
The studio room we had was at the 10th floor and in the beginning we were thinking of changing it but we didn't because the view was very nice. We could see whales right from our balcony. The room was very clean and the staff changed sheets and towels and cleaned the room every day.
There are plenty of things to do in the surroundings and many good places to eat.
I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was our first stay at Maui Kai. The location was wonderful. There is a shopping plaza within minutes that has good coffee, food etc. The room was clean and view was awesome. We say turtles daily and a munk seal in the am. The snorkling was amazing right from the lobby of the condo. We will be back and look forward to it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 707. The views from all the rooms are 5 star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauikai806, Owner at Maui Kai, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I'm glad we could help coordinate your stay and you enjoyed the Maui Kai. Looking forward to having you back... and its never too early to start planning your return visit!

And thanks for posting the great turtle picture!

Mahalo,
Art and Sophie Nickel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked a junior suite at Maui Kai through owner Donna Bender.

We enjoyed our stay at Maui Kai. The staff was very pleasant. We loved the common area around the pool (which the pool was also always the perfect temperature!). It was convenient area to have a few drinks while cooking some food on the BBQ. Our unit was beautifully decorated and the perfect size for the two of us. Our favorite part was leaving the screen door open at night and listening to the waves of the ocean. The fact that you are so close to the water was amazing and glad we had that experience. The location was ok, but if you wanted to take a walk at night there was not much to see. We actually chose two locations to stay on our vacation but the other location was not nearly decorated as well (extremely outdated) and did not have the best views (or ocean sounds) as the Maui Kai, but had a few more places to walk around to at night. I would suggest doing what we did as it is worth staying here for half our trip just to experience being that close to the ocean. Donna was also very helpful in answering all our questions.

Room Tip: choosing a room from above the 3rd floor is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed here on my second trip to Maui and it was wonderful. We checked in, walked out the back door and saw a turtle in the water. We saw turtles, rays and what we think may have been a small shark from our balcony. The water touches the back walkway. It is slightly loud next door but over-all this was an amazing place for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hodges1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#18 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,149 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#19 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Kai

Address: 106 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Kai features all oceanfront junior suite (studio), one bedroom and two bedroom accommodations. Daily towel service, weekly maid service, in-room safe, local phone calls, high speed internet cable hook up, wi-fi also in each room and at the pool and cabana area are all complimentary with no additional fees. Free parking. All rooms have central air conditioning, DVR's, DVD players with freee current release DVD's and spectacular sunsets. Heated pool, jacuzzi, barbecues, and laundry facilities all on site. Located on northern Kaanapali Beach, just four miles north of Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Maui Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Kai Hotel Lahaina
Maui Kai Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing