We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maui Kai #301 was AWESOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Kai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Kai to your Saves list
Maui Kai
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   106 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shalimar, Florida
1 review
“Maui Kai #301 was AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

We spent 7 nights at the Maui Kai unit #301 from 7-14 Nov 07. The unit had recently been remodeled with granite countertops, new beds, updated bathroom, and updated kitchen. It was beautiful. The owners left boogie boards, snorkel equipment, chairs, towels, guide books, DVDs, music, and games for renters to enjoy. My 8-year old said it was the best place we stayed during our 17 day trip (which included a stay at the Marriott in Wailea). I would definitely recommend this unit and we will be staying there next time we visit Maui.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    161
    17
    15
    12
See reviews for
152
548
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

We stayed here for four days for the Maui Invitational college basketball tournament. Very good location, beach right on the property. You are close to Lahaina and its many attractions. Room was spacious for a 1 BR condo. Also fully stocked kitchen so you can cook if you like. Living area was very nice, we had a clear view of the Pacific Ocean. Considering you could pay a lot more to stay at a resort, we were very pleased.

One day it rained and the windows leaked, which if I was the property owner would be a concern.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — leaky windows near lanai
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

We stayed here Jan 2007. we got the info about this hotel from Maui Reveal. (Excellent source, BTW)
It was such a great place! Rooms are clean, stylish and very comfortable. Would strongly recommend! It will be good you could try to choose which room to stay at before you book it since they are all very differently decorated/furnished units. They are all condo units, I think, though, which is perfect for couples.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

We stayed in Unit 301 and booked the unit through www.alohacondos.com. The views from the balcony and the condo were beautiful. The condo was very clean and recently remodeled. I would recommend this condo to anyone. To be able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the sunset while being so close to the ocean was just amazing. Plus having the amentities of a kitchen and condo and yet so convenient to everything.

  • Liked — The view and private balcony.
  • Disliked — The pool is small and not oceanfront.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

We stayed at 504 Maui Kai OCT 2007 for 4 nights for our honeymoon. This suite overlooks the ocean - as close to the ocean as you can get! It's like you are on a ship. Very nice condo, clean, had all we needed. Great location just south of Kanapaali and near stores, shops for supplies. Didn't care for the pool there but this is a good value. No complaints at all.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert AZ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

We stayed in Room 301 at the Maui Kai, their website is awaketowaves.com. It was awesome, upgraded condo with ocean front view..5 ft from the waves. We stayed there for our 2nd honeymoon and would sleep on the lanai, listening to the waves all night on the futon. This is the perfect place for a romantic getaway. The condo furnishes just about everything you will need. We were extremely happy!

  • Liked — The Lanai
  • Disliked — People on Maui are rude!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samo, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

the maui kai is fine. if, like liberace, your tastes are more ostentatious, by all means go elsewhere....especially somewhere on the mainland. the maui kai is the last of a dying breed on the coast....pleasant and affordable. it is relatively small compared to the apokalypto scenarios down the beach. i walked, swam, and played in the sames places that the elite, who share hairdressers with bozo, talked trash and threw around ridiculous amounts of cash for the same thing i was getting for much less. i saw enough of the rich sniffing around the maui kai for cheaper rooms and deals wrapped in their sheridan towels. towel color can be everything if you stoop to that.

when i go on vacation i go all the way. my ego doesn't have to work overtime to impress anyone. the maui is like that too. quiet and elegant in it's own understated way. if you want your ego stroked and other things by midgets on donkeys with handcuffs while you drip cartier, please go to dubai. the maui kai is proletariat heaven. the staff are for real pleasant folks and deserve to only have to deal with the same. if not, the airs you assume, it may pay to remember, have the rest of us running for the windows.

  • Liked — It's actually in a great neighborhood if you get out and walk! great local food places. comfortable and low key.
  • Disliked — the neighbors...not in the building but the encroaching megalithic disneyfication of a natural paradise.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Kai

Address: 106 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Kai 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Kai features all oceanfront junior suite (studio), one bedroom and two bedroom accommodations. Daily towel service, weekly maid service, in-room safe, local phone calls, high speed internet cable hook up, wi-fi also in each room and at the pool and cabana area are all complimentary with no additional fees. Free parking. All rooms have central air conditioning, DVR's, DVD players with freee current release DVD's and spectacular sunsets. Heated pool, jacuzzi, barbecues, and laundry facilities all on site. Located on northern Kaanapali Beach, just four miles north of Lahaina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maui Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Kai Hotel Lahaina
Maui Kai Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.