We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Eldorado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Eldorado to your Saves list
Maui Eldorado
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2661 Keka'a Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Tyneside England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Location in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

My husband and I have been to Maui 5 times and this is the first time that we have stayed at the Maui Eldoradoo, normally staying next door at the much more expensive Royal Lahaina. This Condo resort is absolutely fantastic. Set in lush tropical gardens and only a short walk to the beach with the best views in the whole world of Molokai and Lanai on the sea and the beautiful mountains facing inland. The Condo unit was fantastic with every amenity needed, crookery cooker, fullsize fridge washer drier, iron and ironboard. The room which was sold as a studio, was very large and airy and had a lovely patio area where you could sit on an evening. The location is superb, just a short stroll to the entertainment centre of whalers village, with loads of shops and a variety of restaurants. Would I recommend it............without a doubt! It was perfect in every way. There is even a private Cabana on the beach where you can store your drinks and food in huge fridges and there are cooker units to cook your meals. This place is truly paradise.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillRees, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Aloha wholelottaworld:

Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed your visit here. As you mention, our studios really do have every amenity to make you feel at home.

Thank you for your recommendation. We hope that you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    191
    65
    19
    15
See reviews for
144
222
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We returned to the Eldorado for the first time in 20 years last summer. Rarely do things stay the same but this place has. The staff were helpful and friendly, the accommodation is good value and the beach to our mind is one of the best in the world. This is the place to go to relax. The complex is quiet and low key. The pools may be basic but how often can you go to a place and get a whole pool to yourself. The units are spacious and airy, yes they do vary in quality so do your research. The only area of improvement could have been a really thorough cleaning of our unit half way through our stay. As we were there 17 days the bathroom mirrors and sinks could have done with a really thorough clean, same with the kitchen. Having said that I could have asked and I am confident it would have been done, the housekeeping did a great job of keeping us well supplied with towels and amenities.
We recommend using the farmers markets for fresh produce and the 'Fish Market' north of the Eldorado in a strip mall just past 'Times" supermarket. Goofy Foot surf school in Lahainia did a great job getting this family surfing for the first time and we would do it again. The snorkeling at Black Rock closest to the cabana (not the Sheraton side) is good and not crowded, we often saw turtles. Gazebos near Napilli beach is great for breakfast but get there early or you will be waiting a long time.
Special thanks to Ruby and MaryAnn who helped with our bookings and were always so kind and helpful. We will undoubtedly be back again.

Williams family (Portland OR)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillRees, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Aloha beachgoers2:

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience here at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. Thank you also for posting some tips about Maui - those will be very helpful to future guests.

I apologze that you were not happy with the cleaning. I have let the Housekeeping manager know of your displeasure. Next time, if you are not happy, please be sure to let either her or me know so that we can be sure that your unit is cleaned to your satisfaction.

I appreciate your comments about MaryAnn and Ruby. I have put a copy of your post in their files.

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyoming
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath unit in the B building. This was a wonderful pick for our family of 5. Everyone had their privacy. The master bedroom had a king bed and own bathroom with shower and tub. The other bedroom had 2 double beds so each girl had their own bed and the living room had a double sleeper sofa so our son had his own area. Each area is fully private from the others with doors and room dividers. There is a washer/dryer so we packed lightly allowing room in our suitcases for a collapsable cooler with some meats from the mainland - food in Maui is VERY ESXPENSIVE. The full kitchen was very inviting with dishwasher, full fridge and freezer, all the plates, utensils, and cookware needed to make any meal and BBQ at the pools. The three pools were quiet, usually empty, relaxing and refreshing. The stroll to the beach was enjoyable. Yes you can have the golf cart limo take you to and from the beach and cabana but you would miss out on so much - take the walk, it is easy and so much to see (birds, lizards, flowers) and how many times do you have the chance to walk to your own beach cabana.......The cabana has everything you could need - towels, chairs, kitchen facitilites, books, and even scrabble which was a lot of fun to play. The snorkeling to the left of the cabana by the rocks is excellent - even better than the Sheraton side of Black Rock - it was murky on that side and rougher water - our side was clear and calmer waters. This is an excellent find on Maui and in a wonderful location - away from the hustle and bustle of Lahaina and not in the snob nob area of Wailea - just perfect for our family. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillRees, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Aloha WyomingMomof3:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay.

It sounds as though you took advantage of all aspects of the Outrigger Maui Eldorado, from the kitchen and washer/dryer, to the quiet swimming pools to our unique beach cabana.

You make a great point about walking down to the cabana and seeing all there is to experience along the way; we're a great place to relax and smell the plumeria!

Thank you for staying with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon! A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

We loved the space of the one-bedroom condo. The beds were super comfortable and it was really nice to be able to cook meals instead of eat out all the time. TV was great. The sofa was a sleeper, so it wasn't great for laying on when closed. Almost two whole walls were windows which was great for enjoying the partial ocean view, but also let in car headlights from the parking garage way across the golf course for the Sheraton Maui.

Parking is an extra $7 a night. There is a garage, but also smaller lots closer to some condo buildings. Our small lot was really tight to navigate.

The kitchen was decently equipped but all the pan/pot handles got really hot (learned that the hard way). The shower was a two-person stall and was separated from the sink and vanity. The carpet was plush and the place was really clean. Propane grills let you enjoy the weather while you cook.

A Fitness Center for guests to use is part of the strip mall at the Eldorado entrance. The complex does not have one on-site.

We did not eat at the restaurant on-site.

A short walk around the golf course (on-site) to Ka'anapali beach brought us to really soft sand and clear blue water. Black Rock is right there as well so snorkeling was fast to get to. A Cabana offers a mini-library, tables and a kitchnette for those wanting to camp out at the beach all day. The Eldorado offers a free golf-cart ride to and from the Cabana for those who don't want to make the 4 minute walk. An 8 minute walk gets you to Whaler's Village, an outdoor mall with restaurants.

The whole complex got louder at night and busy with people once schoo/university let out. The atmosphere before that day was quiet, peaceful and almost deserted-mostly elderly couples. After that day, large groups of young people arrived and it got really noisy at night (parties on balconies, college students running around the golf course at night yelling). Almost two walls of windows means little sound proofing. We were glad to leave right after that change. If you're staying in Maui between June and September and prefer quiet (like me), I would not stay at the Eldorado.

Lahaina is a nice town to stay in if you don't plan on going upcountry or south very often. Best shave ice (Ululani's), good restaurants, grocery stores, shopping malls and great bays for snorkeling are within 10-15 minutes (driving). If we return to Maui though, we'd stay more centrally located though, like Makena or Kihei, as the drive back to the middle of Maui from Lahaina became taxing. It's one lane, each way and this time of year, both road construction and a brushfire backed up traffic for miles.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillRees, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, July 6, 2010
Aloha JollyNoggin:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Outrigger Maui Eldorado and for adding photos.

I apologize that you were bothered by noise from other guests. I can assure you that rarely is noise an issue here. We had a wedding party here and, while these groups are generally very well behaved, unfortuantely that was not the case in this rare instance. I wish you had let us know of the noise and light problems; we could have moved you to a different area of the property, away from the group and to a unit with fewer windows.

I am pleased to read that you were generally happy with the unit's equipment and decor, that you enjoyed the beach cabana and the barbeque grills. While there are a number restaurants within walking distance, the Outrigger Maui Eldorado does not have a restaurant on site.

Thank you for staying with us. If you decide to return to Lahaina, we'd love to see you again. A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

The Outrigger was nice. We had no problems with checkin the staff was very courteou s and accomodating. They picked us up outsideour room and took us to the Cabana within 5 minutes of each time we called and they returned to bring us back at the specified time. This was our first trip to Hawaii and it was superb. Of all the places we've travelled this is the first where we are immediately ready to return as soon as possible if not sooner. The natural beauty was sometimes a tear jerker for me. The Road to Hana was so beautiful. Had I had a magic marker I would have written on every one of those DO NOT PASS signs, "AS IF I WOULD". It was a beautiful experience and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillRees, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Aloha joyastt:

Thank you for staying with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay here. And I am very pleased to read that Maui worked her magic on you; this island is a special place and it is wonderful that you were so moved by her beauty!

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and photos. We look forward to seeing you again soon. A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

What can I say,Where do I start?We have just spent 11 days at Eldorado.What a great facility.It was the best choice for accomodation.It is lovely & clean & well laid out.Our studio unit was extremely well equipped & enabled us to do our own cooking most nights.All the staff from front office to ground staff & cleaners were very helpful & friendly.Eldorado is really handy to everthing.We chose not to get a rental car & found it very easy to get around.We walked to Whalers Village(10 Mins)& caught the free trolley back up the hill.All the buses on the island cost $1 a ride which enabled us to go to the supermarket & sight seeing.The cabana was brilliant.We would take our lunch there & use the facilities.Once again we would walk down ther & catch a ride back on the golf cart.I could go on but this is one holiday we will remember for a long time.Thank you all!!
Hope to come back one day!!

Judith & Russell bell
New Zealand

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillRees, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Aloha Judithbelznp:

You are welcome! Thank you for staying with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed our facilities and that you found interactions with our staff to be pleasant.

Thank you for mentioning your experience with transportation options in the area; many people ask us if they need to rent a car and you show that it is possible to manage very well without one.

We look forward to seeing you again soon. A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

My husband and I booked the Maui Eldorado for our honeymoon/first visit to Hawaii and we absolutely loved it! It honestly turned out to be just what we were looking for. The staff was friendly when we arrived and told us exactly where to park so we would be near our unit. It was laid back and we enjoyed lounging in our 1 bedroom (G) unit after a day of activities and sightseeing. It was spacious and had all the amenities we needed. We decided to save some money by buying groceries, which worked out perfectly since the kitchen was perfect for storing and cooking our food (it definitely saved us quite a bit)! We only visited the pool once (the largest pool was right outside our unit) and enjoyed it very much. We made a few visits to Ka'annapali Beach, which was a 5-10 minute walk depending on how fast we walked and how many pictures we stopped to take. Overall, we were extremely happy with our stay and were sad to leave. We will definitely be back in the future!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillRees, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
Aloha lestrada:

Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Maui Eldorado for your honeymoon! I am very pleased to read that your experience here was positive.

Thank you also for taking the time to post your review and your pictures. We look forward to seeing you again soon - your first anniversary is coming up! A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Eldorado

Address: 2661 Keka'a Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Eldorado 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the fairways at Kaanapali Beach Resort, Outrigger® Maui EldoradoSM situates you in easy walking distance to beach activities, championship Royal Kaanapali Golf Course, and Whaler’s Village shops, restaurants and nightlife. These low-rise Maui condo rentals are well regarded among vacationers for roomy comfort with 1-bedroom suites up to 1,200 square feet! The relaxed garden setting is informal and inviting. The house golf cart shuttles guests to the exclusive beach cabana at north Kaanapali Beach. And enjoy more of west Maui exploring art galleries and souvenir shops in historic Lahaina Town, and discovering outdoor adventure at Kapalua Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maui Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Maui Eldorado
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Maui El Dorado
Maui Eldorado Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Eldorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.