We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Eldorado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Eldorado to your Saves list
Maui Eldorado
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2661 Keka'a Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Edmonton
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Value and comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We loved having the amenities (full kitchen, beach side cabana) and were happy with the location because we enjoyed the 5 minute walk to the beach. Access to pathways for walks and runs was a plus. We liked having Whaler's General Store within easy walking distance and enjoyed the restaurants at Whaler's Village (especially Leilani's downstairs). We were originally placed in a completely unacceptable unit (warning....not all units are well maintained) but were moved to a completely acceptable unit when we complained. This property is about 500 metres back from the ocean, with a fairway between it and the ocean. The partial ocean view units vary, but many have a very good view and you can see the whales in the strait and the view to Molokai. Some of the garden view units have very enclosed views and you are looking at a neighbour's Lanai. The highway is only 100 metres back from the property but we never found it to be an issue. The property is located on a slope towards the ocean so the majority of the units are downhill from the highway (quiet and peaceful, but with a less view). We were located uphill (buildings K, D, and B) which put you closer to the highway but with a more expansive view. I hate highway noise and was very happy with this choice. Bed was comfortable and kitchen supplies were adequate...we prepared many meals in our studio kitchen.

Room Tip: Buildings B, D and K (especially the second floor) offer very good views but are closer to the highw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Aloha equus5:

Thank you for staying with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. We're so glad to read that you found our location to be convenient and our condo to be comfortable.

Since all units here have different owners and have a different orientation, the feeling of each one is different. We're always happy to let you look at other condos if you'd like.

Thank you for pointing out that our location on the hillside means that the bigger views are had by the units toward the top of the property. The condo you were in is definitely one of the highest ones here.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Thank you, too, for including the pictures. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    208
    67
    21
    17
See reviews for
155
243
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed at the Eldorado in February 2014. We loved the location. We especially loved our condos location on the resort. We were in G105 and our lanai was extremely bright and sunny with lots of privacy. It was nice and quiet, just what we wanted for our vacation. We were also very close to one of the three pools. Condo was very clean and nicely updated. Beach was gorgeous. It was the perfect location for a perfect holiday. Will be back!

Room Tip: We were in G105 and would ask for this spot again. Sunny, quiet, and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Aloha Lonny2014:

Thank you for staying with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. We're glad to read how much you enjoyed your visit with us.

We appreciate your fondness for G105; the privacy there is great and the new owners have made some pleasant changes to that condo. I've let the owners know of your kind words.

Thank you for posting a review of your stay. We look forward to seeing again on your next trip to Maui.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Valley, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This was our first trip to Maui and I can't imagine ever staying anywhere else. We visited with our 3 small children the location and amenities at the Eldorado were perfect for our family. Decor and finishings in our unit were a little dated, but for the price; (75% less than the big resorts located just steps away!!) we can't complain! We were in a 2 bedroom partial ocean view unit and it was definitely worth the slightly higher price to have a beautiful view of the ocean (the whales!) right from our lanai. We will absolutely, 100% be back to Maui and will undoubtedly stay here again. We have our fantastic Maui-based travel agent; Kay Ryan of Maui Vacation Consultants, to thank for making our stay so fantastic. She helped us book our accommodations, among other things, and was an absolute dream to work with. Check out her website at www.MauiKay.com if you are planning a trip to Maui. You won't be disapointed with Kay, or the Eldorado!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Aloha 3BB79:

Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado.

We're happy to read that you found your 2 bedroom partial ocean view condo to be a good value for your family and that you were able to see whales from your lanai.

Kay Ryan is great - she lives here on Maui and she really knows her stuff!

Thank you for staying with us. We're looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Maui.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have been to Hawaii 14 times and this was the most disappointing property we have stayed at. The grounds and location are pretty good but be prepared to listen to the traffic from the highway behind all night and the golf course maintenance crews beginning at 5:30 AM, one night was 3:30AM. Let me start by saying the staff were accommodating and tried to be helpful but I don't think they have a lot to work with as the complex is about 50 years old. We had already been at another property for 40 nights and wanted to extend our trip for another 8 nights which was at the Eldorado. I had booked the extra 8 days about 6 months before and the room I saw on line looked pretty nice and updated. We ended up in 3 different rooms because of various problems with the rooms we were assigned and after the 3rd time packing and unpacking we decided to stay put in the last room. None of these rooms looked anything like the room I saw on line when I booked it.
The first room was H106 and while is was pretty out of date it seemed okay for 8 nights. We were a little concerned with being on the first floor in a building this old because of musty smells but it seemed okay. We turned the air conditioner off and after returning from dinner found the room to be very musty, in fact both my wife and I became congested so we asked to be moved. The front desk had said there had been some complaints about a musty smell so there was no problem in looking at something else. We looked at D202 which was on the second floor and while I thought there was an odor in it my wife seemed to feel it was okay so we moved. My wife has arthritis and does not like air conditioning so we turned the air off and over the next few hours started to smell something. There were a couple of wet spots on the carpet which is where we thought the odor was coming from. The next morning I asked the front desk to have the carpets deodorized to remove the smell. On returning later in the day we found nothing had been done and the odor was worse. My wife & I had begun to get congested again so we went back to the front desk to ask whether the carpets had been deodorized and spoke with a senior front desk person and maintenance staff who decided to come up to the room. Upon entering the unit both staff members noted the odor and upon entering the bedroom felt there was a problem with the air conditioner. They showed us another room on the first floor which was all tile and was the most updated of the ones we had seen but we were concerned it would be musty if we turned off the air. Another room C204 was coming available the next day so they decided to move us to that. The odor is D202 turned out to be coming from the air conditioner which was dripping into the shower even though it was not running. I suspect the problem was a build up of mold which is why were were getting congested. We knocked on the door of C204 and the people who were leaving let us have a look. The unit had a great view and large lanai but was pretty dated although did not smell so we decided to take it. The people in the unit told us there was a ant problem in the dishwasher but said to run it every time you put something in it. They told us they were going to report it to the front desk. This unit had been all tiled but it was a long time ago. Neither the kitchen or bath had been updated, there was rust on the fridge door and all the cabinets were original stick built cabinets. The counter top was laminate and may have been replaced recently. If you pulled the drawers out in the bathroom more the 3 inches they would fall out onto the floor. The furniture seemed newer and in pretty good shape but the kitchen was pretty sparse. Our biggest complaint with this unit was that it was not very clean. It looked as though there had not been a thorough cleaning in years, piles of built up dirt behind the doors and along window sills, the window screens looked like they had never been cleaned which compounded the overall age of the unit. My wife spent several hours cleaning some of the areas such as the kitchen floor and bathroom.None of the patio door screens functioned very well and were hard to lock because they needed adjustment and there were ants all over the unit. Outrigger does not seem to have a regular pest control program which is needed.
This unit was not cheap, $245 +++ per night which given the age and condition of the 4 units we saw was not very good value. We pay much less for an ocean front unit in a very nice complex on Kaanapali beach so to pay this much for an outdated unit that is not very well maintained is disappointing. There are much better properties available for less money than the Eldorado. If you are determined to stay here there are some very nice units that have been updated but most of these are through VRBO. We spoke with several people staying at the Eldorado and most were disappointed. One couple had been there the previous year with friends and were in a 2 bedroom rented through Outrigger and they had a problem but nothing could be done because there were no other 2 bedrooms available. The couch smelled so bad they could not sit on it. The solution by Outrigger was to put a sheet on it. They were back this year but rented through VRBO and were pleased with their unit.
When we checked out no one asked how our stay was including the GM who I passed lugging my suitcase to the car and also saw in the office where I printed my boarding pass. I guess they were just glad we were leaving because of the problems we had.

All I can say is beware if you are staying here and do your homework on the unit you are getting. Some have been upgraded and look quite nice but it is expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: See comments above
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Aloha smithkel672:

Thank you for staying with and for taking the time to post a review.

I apologize that the condo units in which you stayed and the additional units that you also viewed, our location, and our facilities were not up to your expectations.

Each unit here is different and on our website we show units that are a general representation of the units available. During high occupancy periods, such as was the situation while you were here, we do our best to find a unit that will meet all or most of a guests' requests. I again apologize that we were unable to do so for you.

The Maui Eldorado homeowner's association does have a regular pest control program. There also is newly-implemented preventative maintenance program for the air conditioners, because of which we have already seen better performance from the A/C units.

Our nightly rates are very competitive with all properties in the Kaanapali resort; they have to be since, though we are in the heart of the Kaanapali resort, we are not directly on the beach. Rates are determined by unit size, view and the dates of stay. We do offer lower rates during non-peak seasons.

The front desk is always happy to call a bellman for you to help with your luggage or groceries. The bellmen are available from 6am to 10pm, the same hours that the front desk is open.

Thank you again for your recent stay with us.

Me Ke Aloha,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is our second trip to Maui and our second visit to a condo unit at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. This condo was even nicer than the first. We are just in love with this place! If you are looking for a home away from home with lots of comfortable living space, cooking availability if desired, on meticulous, beautifully landscaped grounds, and reasonably priced, this is the place to be. This is not your busy, crowded hotel resort. It is a very relaxing, laid back family atmosphere where you can enjoy the Aloha spirit.
The Eldorado condos consist of several 2 story multiple unit buildings located on the Kaanapali Golf Course. However, you are only a few minutes walking distance away from Kaanapali Beach, Whalers Village and about ten minutes away from Lahaina. If you don’t want to walk to the beach, they will take you down on golf carts to their beach cabana. Shuttles are also available to Whalers Village. In addition the grounds contain three lovely pools. We really like the location of these condo units in the “quieter” area of Kaanapali Beach near the Hyatt’s and Sheraton’s, but without the cost. We stayed in a Studio Garden View. This is not your ordinary studio, they are 700 - 900 square feet in living space and very comfortable. The bed is not in a separate room, but that was fine for my husband and I. They also provide a queen sleeper sofa in the living room. The lanai had comfortable patio furniture and an electric grill. Washer, dryer, dishwasher, microwave, stove, fridge, cookware/bakeware, utensils; it’s all there if you need it. They also have central air and free Wi-FI in each of the units.
Even though they have changed some of their conditions, we are still very happy with our stay there. They no longer provide free room service, but you can turn in your towels and get new ones any time before 4PM. They are now charging a $75 cleanout fee at the end of your stay and the parking/resort fee went up to $12 per day as of January 2014. From what we’ve seen many of the condos are going this route, but it is still very affordable compared to most.
We love Leilani’s Restaurant in Whalers village. The sunset views over the ocean, with the island of Lanai in the background, the Maui Mountains behind you, and sharing a must-have Hula pie for dessert are simply heaven on earth! Whalers Village is a very nice shopping area that has everything from a Rolex store to a McDonalds. Just make sure you get your parking validated at one of the stores otherwise it gets pricey. In Lahaina, check out Fleetwood’s for dinner – excellent dining, and the rooftop tables are gorgeous at sunset. Who knows, you may catch Mick Fleetwood himself as we hear he dines here pretty often.
I’m sure this won’t be our last visit to Maui or the Eldorado. All of our arrangements were made through our travel agent Maui Kay. She lives on the island, and is a great resource for all the Hawaiian Islands. We highly recommend her services. Visit her website at mauikay.com.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Aloha spitzy135:

Thank you for returning to stay with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. We appreciate that you enjoy our quiet, homey surroundings right in the middle of Kaanapali.

And we're glad to read that our studio perfectly fit your needs; our studios are great for couples and have all of the comforts of home. We love Kay - she's a great travel agent and she definitely knows Maui and how to take care of her clients.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and photos. We hope to see you again soon!

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Outrigger Maui Eldorado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

There is a lot of talk about the "aloha spirit" and showing it. The staff of the OUTRIGGER Maui Eldorado does it well.
From the great welcoming by the front desk after our delay because of weather of 3 days was great. Even house keeping was aware and said welcome and sorry about our trip out.
We have in our last few reviews of this great property written about all it's great features so it will not do that again. It is really all that most people say it is.
The special event we really enjoyed on this years stay was the Challenger USTA tennis Tournament held right next door by the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch. The tennis level was outstanding and you could get so close to watch that you felt you were evolved. You mingled with, players, officials, USTA folk, and other tennis fans. If the powers that schedule this event do it again next January we will be there. You can pay hundreds of dollars at the majors for what we got here for $5.00 per person per session.
Oh yes and the whales were visiting with us again. They know a great place to be in January. We saw them daily on our walks.
Golf was still great in The Kaanapali Golf Resort Fit Club. A truly great value with a group of fun golfers.
Yes Ruby gave us a great deal before we left and we have booked our dates for next year.
Aloha and mahalo

Room Tip: Let Ruby from Outrigger Maui Eldorado know as soon as possible what you type of lodging you want and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Aloha NYNorthcoasters:

Mahalo for coming back to see us! I very much appreciate your recognition of my staff's Aloha and, in particular, Ruby's helpfulness to you.

It's great to read that you enjoyed the tennis tournament next door; I just talked to the Tennis Ranch and was advised that they're planning to hold the same tournament again next year in the third week of January.

Thank you for taking the time to post another review of your visit . We're glad that you've already made a new reservation and we look forward to seeing you again in 2015!

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Outrigger Maui Eldorado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had a wonderful time. We had two condos and both fulfilled our family's needs perfectly. All the attractions were a short ride or walk away and we were still secluded enough to enjoy our own privacy when we wanted. Go see Chanel at reception. She was amiable, knowledgeable and professional.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Aloha Patrick C:

Thank you for staying with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. We're glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated that you could get away from it all while being in the heart of Kaanapali and near to your family.

Thank you, too, for your kind words about Chanel; I appreciate your recognition of her Aloha and have mentioned your comments to her supervisor.

We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Eldorado

Address: 2661 Keka'a Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Eldorado 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the fairways at Kaanapali Beach Resort, Outrigger® Maui EldoradoSM situates you in easy walking distance to beach activities, championship Royal Kaanapali Golf Course, and Whaler’s Village shops, restaurants and nightlife. These low-rise Maui condo rentals are well regarded among vacationers for roomy comfort with 1-bedroom suites up to 1,200 square feet! The relaxed garden setting is informal and inviting. The house golf cart shuttles guests to the exclusive beach cabana at north Kaanapali Beach. And enjoy more of west Maui exploring art galleries and souvenir shops in historic Lahaina Town, and discovering outdoor adventure at Kapalua Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Maui Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Maui Eldorado
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Maui El Dorado
Maui Eldorado Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Eldorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.