We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in our January island home again. Love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Eldorado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Eldorado to your Saves list
Maui Eldorado
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2661 Keka'a Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Back in our January island home again. Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

There is a lot of talk about the "aloha spirit" and showing it. The staff of the OUTRIGGER Maui Eldorado does it well.
From the great welcoming by the front desk after our delay because of weather of 3 days was great. Even house keeping was aware and said welcome and sorry about our trip out.
We have in our last few reviews of this great property written about all it's great features so it will not do that again. It is really all that most people say it is.
The special event we really enjoyed on this years stay was the Challenger USTA tennis Tournament held right next door by the Royal Lahaina Tennis Ranch. The tennis level was outstanding and you could get so close to watch that you felt you were evolved. You mingled with, players, officials, USTA folk, and other tennis fans. If the powers that schedule this event do it again next January we will be there. You can pay hundreds of dollars at the majors for what we got here for $5.00 per person per session.
Oh yes and the whales were visiting with us again. They know a great place to be in January. We saw them daily on our walks.
Golf was still great in The Kaanapali Golf Resort Fit Club. A truly great value with a group of fun golfers.
Yes Ruby gave us a great deal before we left and we have booked our dates for next year.
Aloha and mahalo

Room Tip: Let Ruby from Outrigger Maui Eldorado know as soon as possible what you type of lodging you want and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Aloha NYNorthcoasters:

Mahalo for coming back to see us! I very much appreciate your recognition of my staff's Aloha and, in particular, Ruby's helpfulness to you.

It's great to read that you enjoyed the tennis tournament next door; I just talked to the Tennis Ranch and was advised that they're planning to hold the same tournament again next year in the third week of January.

Thank you for taking the time to post another review of your visit . We're glad that you've already made a new reservation and we look forward to seeing you again in 2015!

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Outrigger Maui Eldorado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    232
    73
    22
    18
See reviews for
174
267
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had a wonderful time. We had two condos and both fulfilled our family's needs perfectly. All the attractions were a short ride or walk away and we were still secluded enough to enjoy our own privacy when we wanted. Go see Chanel at reception. She was amiable, knowledgeable and professional.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Aloha Patrick C:

Thank you for staying with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. We're glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated that you could get away from it all while being in the heart of Kaanapali and near to your family.

Thank you, too, for your kind words about Chanel; I appreciate your recognition of her Aloha and have mentioned your comments to her supervisor.

We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We spent a week at the Maui El Dorado in December of 2013. The room was very spacious with a large lanai c/w patio table, chairs & sun bed. The condo also had full kitchen, large bathroom as well as washer & dryer in the condo as well. There is no maid service at the El Dorado, but you could call the front desk should anything be needed. The El Dorado has 3 outdoor pools, bbq's and lots of available parking. The El Dorado also has a great Cabana with lots of amenities included right on Kaanapali beach. The Cabana is about a 10 minute walk from the main complex, or you can get a ride from the staff in a cart. A convenience store is also a stones throw away, almost across the street from the main office. Whalers Village is also just down the hill and was a pleasant 15 minute walk. We are already thinking about our next trip to Maui & the El Dorado will be at the top of our list when we decide on accommodations.

Room Tip: A second floor room, with an ocean or partial ocean view is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Aloha Mark H:

Thank you for taking the time to post pictures and a review of your stay with us.

It sounds like you felt right at home here. We appreciate reading that you took advantage of your condos amenities and that you enjoyed the Outrigger Maui Eldorado property and the Kaanapali area.

Thank you for staying with us. We're glad to read that you are thinking about returning and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Maui.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We booked this condo using American miles and found it clean, easy to find, quiet and a great alternative to the touristy Wailea hotel scene. We were on the second floor in the J building closest to the beach and had a studio condo which was just enough room for two adults. We enjoyed having a kitchen, laundry in our bathroom and $8 parking close by our room. This was a great home base for us! Try it!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Aloha starviptrav33:

Thank you for staying with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. We're glad to read that you enjoyed our quiet, comfortable accommodations. Our 550 square foot studios are a great size for a couple on vacation.

Thank you for your review and your recommendation. We hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My family and I just got back from our second "staycation" here. Last time was a few years ago and this recent trip was just as great as the first. This is a fantastic place to stay if you want to be near the Kaanapali strip but not have to deal with the crowded resorts. There are restaurants close by and the beach and shopping are just a short drive or walk away. Although the pools are nothing fancy, they are mellow and adequate. The rooms are definitely spacious compared to the sardine cans the resorts offer. They're equipped with all the comforts of home (full kitchen, washer dryer, living room, dining table, etc). The units are all decorated according to their owners taste but both the ones we stayed in were really nice. I also recommend their sister property (read my review for the Aina Nalu if you want to stay in the heart of Lahaina-these are all furnished the same). There are a few things you need to weigh when considering your vacation: If you want to be ocean front in a tiny room & like a fancy pool then this isn't the place for your Maui vacation. If you don't mind being a little further from the ocean (the stroll to the beach is actually quite nice down the beach path) and desire a larger, tranquil space to spend your time, then I'd highly recommend the Eldorado. The staff and amenities were great. Parking was close by and a mere $8/day (most resorts charge an arm n a leg to self or valet park).

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Aloha Surfchic55:

Thank you for staying with us again!

We appreciate that you enjoy our spacious, fully equipped condos and that you find the Outrigger Maui Eldorado to be such a great value.

Thank you for your kind words about my staff. We hope to see you again soon!

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Just back from another lovely stay at the Maui Eldorado. Spacious condo, terrific staff, QUIET (seriously - the quietest place I've ever stayed), and the beach cabana with its full kitchen/towels/etc. is a major selling point. Situated in North Kaanapali, the beach is so much nicer and less crowded than the southern end of Kaanapali or Honokowai. A few tips, tricks and observations:

- Do not stay here if you want the whole expensive Hawaii hotel experience (dolphins in the lobby, daily housekeeping, crowds, pools with fake pirate ships). This is a much quieter place -- and more relaxing. I went with my family of 4 - if you're in Maui with kids I promise you'll truly appreciate the in-unit laundry and full kitchen.

- Hawaii is expensive. I'd rather pay less for a more spacious accommodation without someone fluffing the pillows everyday (by the way, I don't know about you but I'd feel bad if I stuck my kids on a lumpy sofa bed on vacation vs. having a nice queen size all to themselves).

- Each unit is different (and the decor can be, um, heavy on the frolicking turtle wall art and silk flowers) but the Outrigger managed units are clean, clean, clean.

- I priced out our 2 Bed/2 Bath Eldorado condo vs. the Westin Villas and Eldorado was half the price (and double the size of the unit).

- Ask for a unit in E, G, H buildings which are away from the highway.

- Pay the extra $$ for a partial ocean view - you'll realize it's worth it when you're sipping your Mai Tai on the lanai.

- Bit of advice for mobility impaired...obviously ask for a ground level unit. In addition, ask for a unit nearer to the parking garage to cut down the walking. And don't hesitate to call the front desk and ask for a ride to the beach cabana - it's a five minute ride with one of the great guys like Willy or Brian who give tips on everything from restaurants to weather.

- Explore! We spent most of our time on the beach at the Eldorado, but took some time to visit Napili, Black Rock, Kapalua and Wailea for some diversity in snorkeling.

- Sign up for Outrigger emails. They have some good promo codes, along with AAA and gov't rates.

- My advice is to book through Outrigger vs. VRBO. I overheard someone who was having a problem with their unit and couldn't get the owner on the phone to fix it. Sure it may cost a few more bucks, but calling the front desk for extra towels or to ask for an A/C adjustment's a lot easier than tracking down some owner in Michigan.

- I can personally vouch for units H100 and E100 - both kitschy on the decor, but spacious and well-maintained. How much time are you going to spend looking at that popcorn ceiling? Go to the beach!

Room Tip: Choose a room in building E, G or H to be closer to beach and away from highway. If you have a fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Aloha BrianneMM:

Thank you coming back to see us and for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review of your stay.

We appreciate your no-nonsense comments - our marketing department won't let us be so blunt! We're glad that you find the Outrigger Maui Eldorado to be such a great value for your family and that you enjoy our low-key atmosphere.

Expanding a bit on your note to the mobility impaired, I would advise anyone with special needs to contact us at the property directly so we can work out the best possible unit for them in advance.

All of our condos are individually owned and decorated - we're working hard to tone down the frolicking turtle art, but some of our owners and guests like it that way! We're always happy to offer another condo, if available, if a guest does not like our first choice.

Outrigger units are not always more expensive than others at the Maui Eldorado. And, you are right, we are here at the property from 6am to 10pm and are always happy to offer our Aloha to you.

Thank you for returning to stay with us and for your kind words about my staff. We appreciate your visits and look forward to seeing you again soon!

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frovi, Sweden
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We got a big apartment but no wall to the bedroom. The apartment was a little worn but worked. It's a bit to go to the beach. You can not go on the golf course, which is the nearest way. The air conditioning was a little weak.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Aloha jorgenhaa:

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review with photos.

All of our condos are individually owned and decorated; we are always happy to find an alternate unit for you if you are not happy with our first choice for you.

The golf course does frown upon crossing the course at any time. There is a path to the beach and our cabana through the golf course, starting at the tip of the J building. And, the bell staff are always happy to drive you down to the cabana from the lobby at your request.

Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#19 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,943 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.4 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Napili Shores
Napili Shores
#21 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.5 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#16 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Eldorado

Address: 2661 Keka'a Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Eldorado 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the fairways at Kaanapali Beach Resort, Outrigger® Maui EldoradoSM situates you in easy walking distance to beach activities, championship Royal Kaanapali Golf Course, and Whaler’s Village shops, restaurants and nightlife. These low-rise Maui condo rentals are well regarded among vacationers for roomy comfort with 1-bedroom suites up to 1,200 square feet! The relaxed garden setting is informal and inviting. The house golf cart shuttles guests to the exclusive beach cabana at north Kaanapali Beach. And enjoy more of west Maui exploring art galleries and souvenir shops in historic Lahaina Town, and discovering outdoor adventure at Kapalua Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Maui Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Maui Eldorado
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Maui El Dorado
Maui Eldorado Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Eldorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.