We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bargain in the best location in maui” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Maui Eldorado

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Maui Eldorado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Maui Eldorado
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2661 Keka'a Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A bargain in the best location in maui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have stayed here several times and enjoyed almost everything.The units are condos, with full amenities. You can cook your own meals or take a short walk to cj's for some home cooking. The hotel sits between a golf course and Ka'anapali hotels on the beach. The best part iof this place besides location, is the private beach that you have access to.The beach is accompanied by a beach house with a towel service, a full kitchen, sitting areas and nice sundeck area with lounges. This is where we spent most if our time as our toddler had shaded areas and we could access a fridge for refreshments/snacks. The rooms are typical with a variety of sizes and layouts. parking is safe and underground (theres also a place to rinse your car). Ka'anapli shopping is very close, as is the sheraton on Black Rock. Definitely take a night stroll to watch the cliff divers and fire show. I had to write review as Im itching to return....hopefully i will have a new review in january!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Aloha captaincasual:

Thank you for coming back to see us again. We're pleased to read that you find the large condos, full kitchens and our beachfront cabana at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado to be a good value for your family.

We like CJ's, too - have you tried their Mochiko Chicken? It's one of the best local-style fried chicken that I've had here.

Thank you for posting a review. We look forward to seeing you again in January.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    181
    55
    18
    15
See reviews for
135
204
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the last part of our vacation. Overall, we had a good time.
Positives: Grounds were nice with a lot of flowers and trees, multiple pools made them less crowded and convieniently located, great beach cabana, great beach, lovely staff, nice guests and several grills on the grounds to grill food.

Negatives: Pools were closed for half the time we were there due to chemical treatment (why they closed all three at the same time is beyond me), there is a walk to the beach because of the golf course,(normally I do not mind walking but I recently injured my hip so walking was more difficult. To get a golf cart ride it took a while for them to pick us up, we had an easier time with the ride back.) our condo needed some upkeep renovating but it was functional, no housekeeping, and they charged for parking each day.

All in all, we were fine at this hotel, but if we were to go back to Maui, we may explore another hotel option if the price is fair. We would stay here again if the price is right.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations. Comfortable bed, washer & dryer in unit, good view. Beach cabana was a plus. Within walking distance to Whaler's village with multiple restaurants and shops. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We requested a room in J bldg. A second floor unit was not available, but the first floor unit was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We looked at many resorts on Maui before selecting the Outrigger Eldorado and ended up choosing it because of its waterfront location and less expensive rates than other beachfronts. It was the best possible choice. The "room" was extraordinary in decor and size and view. The staff was always super friendly and helpful. Dining options were nearby as was the downtown Lahaina shopping.

The accommodations were supposed to be a one bedroom oceanfront suite, but that was unavailable so we were given a two bedroom, two bath unit. There is a huge living room area, large kitchen completely equipped, the beds had the finest mattresses ever, and the entire unit was surrounded by picture windows and balconies.

Absolutely stunning place to stay!

Room Tip: Please ask for oceanfront. All the units at the Outrigger are fantastic, but the ocean view makes i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Aloha Sparkie0491:

Thank you for posting a review and for including the pictures. We're glad that you enjoyed the upgrade to the two bedroom condo. Because we are separated from the ocean by the golf course and we are on a slight hill, our partial ocean view condos have lovely, large views of the golf course and ocean, with the island of Molokai in the background. I appreciate your kind words about my staff; they do love to show their Aloha to our guests.

Thank you for visiting with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have just returned from 5 days and it was awesome.
Facilities great and just been able to do things at your own pace.
Just so close so that you can choose from so many differnet options of where to go and eat and visit
We enjoyed the whole Maui experience

Room Tip: Have a look at the plan and see whether you want a seaside view or garden view. We were given a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Aloha Janney51:

Thank you for staying with us. We're happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and our extra-spacious condos.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Maui.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west hills, ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were coming to Maui for a wedding in Lahaina. We wanted something different
From a typical hotel room. Through internet searching I fiund thr El Dorado. I couldn't
Believe that we could get a large 1 bedroom condo for half the price of a small hotel room.
We did have to sacrifice room service and location (not right on the beach). But having
A kitchen, bedroom, large balcony and 2 flat screen tvs was well worth it! Everyone at
The front desk was so nice and made us feel welcomed and unrushed. After we checked
In we received a follow up call making sure everything was ok. That was a nice touch. I won't
lie, the walk to the beach was long at times but we welcomed the exercise. There is a market
just behind the condos that we walked to for provisions. That was very convenient. We
Walked to dinner at the Kaanapali beach resort. We walked to black rock at the Sheraton.
We wiuld definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in bldg B which does have a partial ocean view but is probably the farthest bldg from the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Aloha kdaywesthills:

Thank you for posting such a nice review of your stay. We appreciate that you recognize that the Outrigger Maui Eldorado is such a good value and is really like being at home here on Maui.

I appreciate your kind words about my front desk staff. We do like to check in with you after you've had a chance to check out your condo to be sure that everything is satisfactory..

True, we don't have room service, but isn't it nice to be able to have your own kitchen? That way, you don't even have to wait for room service (or pay room service prices!).

Thank you for staying with us. We will be happy to see you again on your next visit to Maui.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I arranged to have my entire wedding group stay at the Maui Eldorado. We had 20+ rooms. The beach cabana made for a great meeting place to socialize and meet friends and family. The location worked very well as guest could walk to many amenities as well as go for a run up and down the beach each day. The rooms are all very large in size and provide everything needed as it you were at home. We stayed in a 1 bedroom partial ocean view. No issues with the room (K103).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Aloha WisoWally:

Thank you choosing the Outrigger Maui Eldorado Kaanapali to host your wedding group. The cabana is a great place to meet and is even available after hours for your private function.

Thank you for posting a review of your stay. We're glad that you felt at home here. Will we see you again on your first anniversary?

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Maui Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Maui Eldorado

Address: 2661 Keka'a Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Maui Eldorado 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the fairways at Kaanapali Beach Resort, Outrigger® Maui EldoradoSM situates you in easy walking distance to beach activities, championship Royal Kaanapali Golf Course, and Whaler’s Village shops, restaurants and nightlife. These low-rise Maui condo rentals are well regarded among vacationers for roomy comfort with 1-bedroom suites up to 1,200 square feet! The relaxed garden setting is informal and inviting. The house golf cart shuttles guests to the exclusive beach cabana at north Kaanapali Beach. And enjoy more of west Maui exploring art galleries and souvenir shops in historic Lahaina Town, and discovering outdoor adventure at Kapalua Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Amex, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Outrigger Maui Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Maui Eldorado
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Maui El Dorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Maui Eldorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.