We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Maui Eldorado

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Maui Eldorado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Outrigger Maui Eldorado
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2661 Keka'a Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #17 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Dublin, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location and comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Outrigger Maui Eldorado is situated in the perfect spot! I had seen the property on a previous visit while taking a morning walk, so my husband and I thought we'd give it a try for our May vacation. The location of the Eldorado is set on a lovely golf course behind the Sheraton Black Rock and over to the right looking towards the ocean is the Royal Lahaina Resort. We were not disappointed. We booked a partial ocean view studio, which had a kitchen with a stove and full size fridge, a washer, dryer, a king size bed and a roomy lanai. There was also a comfortable couch and a dinette set if you wanted to eat inside. We arrived really early as our flight landed at 10:00am, but the pleasant hotel staff at the front desk held our bags for us and let us change into something cooler so that we could go out for lunch while the room was being prepared. We checked in at about 3:00pm and it was quick and efficient plus they gave us a really nice room, K-211. It was very close to the lobby and it had a pretty partial ocean view as stated. The parking was pretty much right outside the unit so when we had our groceries, it was very handy! We took many morning walks from the Eldorado. We averaged 3-5 miles per morning. Our routes took us to the beginning of the Kaanapali Hotels such as the Hyatt and we walked along the beach walk through Whaler's VIllage and up and around the golf course. (NOT on the actual course paths as those are for the golf carts.) Our 2nd route took us in the direction of the Royal Lahaina Resort. We had to walk along the beach for a few minutes until we reached the Aston Kaanapali Villas. We continued on and found another beach walk that passed a lovely looking Westin and a few time share condos that appeared to be new. Maui is the perfect place to get outside. Whaler's Village was just a 5-10 minute walk away. If you drive there, make sure to get your parking validated by a merchant or restaurant. The ABC Store is always handy and full of pretty much anything you might need. We ate a Leilani's a a few times because they were great with our Vegan requests. Good food as well! Setting there was lovely on the beach. We also ate at our favorite restaurant, Roy's. Roy's is NO longer in Kahana. They are located right at the entrance to the Kaanapali Resort and Golf Club right off of the highway. They were also VERY accommodating with our Vegan requests! Good Mai Tais! Back to the Eldorado! When we were there the complex overall was very quiet and the main pool was heated and also very quiet. So relaxing! The beach & private cabana is a short walk down the path or you can catch a ride from the front desk. The parking is $8 per day and the in room safe is $3 per day. I don't think you can get away from the parking fees anywhere you go, and if you book a condo through VRBO at the Eldorado, they may be a bit more up to date but there's a cleaning fee of about $130 and a $75 resort fee. We booked through the Outrigger as they do not charge those fees. :-) We had a great time and would happily return to the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. The front desk and other employees were always pleasant. Thanks!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second level offer better views. Some units that offer garden views located on the 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Aloha Erin F:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. Thank you, too, for adding all of the lovely pictures!

It's great to read that you enjoyed K211 and its location - there are advantages to having a condo close to parking!

It sounds like you expolored the entire Kaanapali area while you were here. That's a great tip about getting parking validated at Whaler's Village. We are happy to have Roy's so close now, just at the entrance to Kaanapali.

I appreciate your kind words about the aloha shown to you by my staff - thank you!

You'll always save at least $75 by choosing to stay at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado as we have no resort fee or check-in for for Outrigger guests. And our $8/day parking is one of the lowest rates in Kaanapali.

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Maui!

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    181
    56
    18
    15
See reviews for
136
205
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto Area, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived at the Eldorado & loved it. We booked a Studio with ocean view & were sceptical. It was lovely & spacious. For 2 women travelling it had everything that we needed. The view was lush & the ocean was wonderful. The staff was very helpful with all our questions, so we booked everything we needed to go to with the desk. Thanks Eldorado -it was a fantastic vacation.

Room Tip: We had room A110 & it was clean & had a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Aloha LovesHawaii821:

Thank your for posting a review and for including a photo of your partial ocean view and our cabana. I apprecate your kind words about my staff and I'm glad we could win you over!

You are welcome; it;s great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us; thank you for your visit. We look forward to seeing you both on your next trip to Maui.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

A great overall value. Our unit had an amazing ocean view with a large wraparound porch. Nice furnishings but kitchen needed updating. Easy walk to the beach with private cabana for guests. Parking is $8 per day and safe is $1.50 per day. Walk to Whalers Village for shopping and dining, free Wifi in unit. Only complaint is that ours electronic keys stopped working several hours before check out time and when I called, I was told it would be corrected, it never was.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Aloha Borioles97:

Thank you for staying with us. It's great to read that you enjoyed your accommodations. All of our two bedroom condos are on the end or corner of the buildings and have that great extra lanai and windows. I'll look into your comment regarding the key - I apologize that we did not follow through.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Maui.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Me, my mom and 2 aunties just recently stayed here. We only stayed 1 night May 3 and checked out may 4. We were in room D208. It was 2 bedrooms. Not sure of what kind of view but we were on the 2nd floor. The rooms were spacious and the views were beautiful. We were also able to check in earlier then normal. It was also convenient because we went to a wedding reception at the royal lahaina luau which was only down the road. My only complaint is about the parking. Inspite that we rented a minivan the frustrating part was that there were 2 golf carts parked in front of the main building. So i had a hard time parking the car. I know that there is a parkkng garage. But i didnt want to park so far due to my mom having a hard time walking. Everything else was great. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Aloha ateb808:

Mahalo for staying with us. Thank you for mentioning that you enjoyed your stay in D208; the view from that condo is spectacular.

If you're traveling with your mom again next time, please let us know in advance and we'll do our best to find a unit with easier access to parking.

Thanks again for your recent stay. We hope to see you all again on your next visit to Maui.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado after a week on the Big Island. While we used Wyndham points for the place, it is available as a hotel. We had a one bedroom condo that had a full kitchen, two full baths, a large lanai, a sleeper sofa, and a nice view of one of the pools. The master bedroom had two queen size beds, which we did not like. We were in Building D on the top floor. This building is the closest to the street, but we didn't notice any noise. The furniture and fixtures are a bit dated, and the walls have no baseboards, giving a very unfinished look. I don't really like paying for parking at this type of resort. The staff was very nice and helpful. The number of points we used is more than comparable resorts in the Wyndham family. We had not been to Maui for several years. We really prefer Kauai and the Big Island, and this trip confirmed that. There's a lot of traffic and it just didn't have the island feel for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Aloha Buddygcpa:

Mahalo for staying with us and for your kind words about my staff. And it's great to read that you enjoyed your location in the D building.

The Outrigger Maui Eldoradi is unlike other resorts you may be used to in that all of our condos are individually owned. The decor and bedding is different in every unit. If you'd like to stay with us again, please let us know in advance about your bedding preference and we'll do our best to get a room with a king bed for you.

Our $8 per day parking charge is one of the lowest in Kaanapali. We also have bellmen to assist you with luggage and groceries.

While we hope that you did enjoy your visit, every island in Hawaii is a different experience and everyone has their own unique preference.

Thank you again for your recent stay.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We just returned from our 3rd vacation in Maui. We have stayed at the Maui Eldorado all 3 times. I booked very early in October for two 1 bedroom partial ocean view condos. The couple we travel with specified the room they wanted in building A and were lucky enough to get it. We had specified 2nd floor with a king bed. We were given an older unit on the ground floor with 2 queens and a lot of carpet. I spoke to the front desk personnel and by the next day we were moved. Very good customer service. We love the location of the Outrigger, overlooking the golf course with the sea beyond that. We have been to many beaches on Maui but still feel the beach at Blackrock with the beach cabana for Outriggers guests is the best. Quiet, sandy and never busy. The room we stayed in could use a reno, especially the kitchen but the huge lanai with the fabulous view made up for it. Next time I am traveling with my own cooking knives. I am a cook and we eat most of our meals at the condo. The knives in C204 are very dull (not worth complaining about though and we made out okay). We love the proximity to Whalers Village and Basil Tomatoes (lovely Italian Restuarant within walking distance of the Outrigger). The grounds, pools, condo size and staff make this resort a wonderful place to stay. We are already planning our return trip in 2014.

Room Tip: Request an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha DBalt:

Thank you for returning to stay with us. We're happy that you enjoy our property, location and Aloha so much that you stay with us when you are on Maui.

Thank you also for your patience while we found a condo that you liked better than the one which we had initially provided. By the way, new knives arrived yesterday!

We're looking forward to seeing you on your fourth visit next year!

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diemen, Nederland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed in room A109, a ground floor studio next to the golf course.
The room was clean, well equipped, quiet and spacious, with partial oceanview.
We were very lucky to have this room, since the rooms on the other side of the complex were near a very busy highway!

We were very pleased with the service offered. Our toaster was broken, and after reporting this we got a new one within the hour. And when we had a problem with the waste disposer, it was stuck, this was also solved/repaired very fast.
There was not much parking space near our studio, but we could always use the resorts parking garage so that was no problem.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the west side of the complex, away from the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha Mona R:

Thank you for staying with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. We're happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in A109.

Thank you, too, for your kind words about my staff; while we would prefer that everything be in perfect working order for you, I appreciate that the responses to your requests were prompt.

We hope to see you again soon!

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Maui Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Maui Eldorado

Address: 2661 Keka'a Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Maui Eldorado 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the fairways at Kaanapali Beach Resort, Outrigger® Maui EldoradoSM situates you in easy walking distance to beach activities, championship Royal Kaanapali Golf Course, and Whaler’s Village shops, restaurants and nightlife. These low-rise Maui condo rentals are well regarded among vacationers for roomy comfort with 1-bedroom suites up to 1,200 square feet! The relaxed garden setting is informal and inviting. The house golf cart shuttles guests to the exclusive beach cabana at north Kaanapali Beach. And enjoy more of west Maui exploring art galleries and souvenir shops in historic Lahaina Town, and discovering outdoor adventure at Kapalua Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Outrigger Maui Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Maui Eldorado
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Maui El Dorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Maui Eldorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.