We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Maui Eldorado

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Maui Eldorado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Outrigger Maui Eldorado
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2661 Keka'a Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #16 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Diemen, Nederland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed in room A109, a ground floor studio next to the golf course.
The room was clean, well equipped, quiet and spacious, with partial oceanview.
We were very lucky to have this room, since the rooms on the other side of the complex were near a very busy highway!

We were very pleased with the service offered. Our toaster was broken, and after reporting this we got a new one within the hour. And when we had a problem with the waste disposer, it was stuck, this was also solved/repaired very fast.
There was not much parking space near our studio, but we could always use the resorts parking garage so that was no problem.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the west side of the complex, away from the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha Mona R:

Thank you for staying with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. We're happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in A109.

Thank you, too, for your kind words about my staff; while we would prefer that everything be in perfect working order for you, I appreciate that the responses to your requests were prompt.

We hope to see you again soon!

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    182
    58
    18
    15
See reviews for
138
208
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in March. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, with a lovely golf course stretching out to the ocean. The beach is amazing- wide and long, gorgeous sand, and quiet. We enjoyed the walk some days, and called for the shuttle on others. We walked to the beach past Black Rock a few times, but were always glad to get back to our quiet beach, away from the crowds. The staff was very helpful. We had a couple things that needed handling, but both times someone came within 10 minutes. The shuttle came quickly, and the cabana attendant was helpful. The condo was very spacious, and the kitchen was well stocked. We chose Garden View, so we looked out from our large lanai onto tropical trees and plants, and it was very private.

I do have one serious concern, however, which would prevent us from returning. When I booked the room on the Outrigger website, I chose One Bedroom, 4 people. The site features photos of one bedroom units with two queen beds. However, when I phoned to confirm the unit the week before we were to arrive, I was told we were booked for 4 people, but that Outrigger policy is that they only guarantee one bed. I told the person at the desk, and then the manager, that we have two (large) teenage boys, plus we would be arriving at 1am Hawaii time (3am our time), when the front desk is not open, so we had to know in advance that we had a place for everyone to sleep. The manager repeated several times that she could not guarantee that. When I said that we wouldn't be able to stay there, the manager finally told me that she had booked us into a room with two beds, but she was obviously annoyed. This is a great property, and we would stay there again, but only if we were guaranteed the number of beds from the outset.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha Tera845:

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review of your visit.

It sounds like you had a great time and that you enjoyed the beach and cabana, as well as your condo unit. I appreciate your kind words about my staff.

Our units here are designated by view type and by number of bedrooms. We do try to accommodate all requests for specific bedding, and it is great to read that we were able to provide a condo for you with the bedding that you wanted.

Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I went for our anniversary & stayed in an ocean view Studio Condo. It was perfect. Well appointed kitchen & large enough that we could have had our two teens come with us (fold out large sofa bed). Our unit was in "J" building & was perfect. A few minutes walk to beach & parkade was close by also. Lahaina/Kannapali is beautiful. Much preferred the beaches & atmosphere here & it was easy enough to travel to other areas of the island. We went up & down the coast. Kihei/Wailea Area was nice, but very very resortish & windy. Beaches not as nice in our opinion.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha lumarm_12:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado for your anniversary. Though two guests is our maximum occupancy for a studio, those units are large enough for the whole family. It's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Mahalo for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us and for including the photos. I've shared your review with the unit owner.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Maui.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
315 helpful votes 315 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Spent 4/8, 4/9,4/10/2013 in B-203. This was a PARTIAL oceanview with emphasis on PARTIAL. The resort is on a golf course and the grounds are well maintained and quite lush. We were on the 2nd floor and our condo was very outdated decor-wise. In fact, the bedroom was downright tacky. The area with the bathroom sink was ENORMOUS with lots of wasted space yet the commiserate and large shower stall seemed to be an after thought. TINY area! The closet area with the apartment size washer and dryer was awkward as far as raising the lid to the washer to put the soap and clothes in......dryer was okay. The kitchen was strictly out of the late 1960's and needed a renovation. Paint job for sure if the owner does not want to update appliances! Living room furniture not really comfortable and the chair beside the sliding glass doors is so low that a person with back problems would have a hard time getting up. (I know----I have such problems). Dining table is round glass top and outdated too. You are asked to remove your shoes upon entering this outdated wonder so we did. Well, the next afternoon we noticed our sock bottoms were BLACK!!!!! I do not think the ceramic floors had been mopped in a LONG time for our socks to be so dirty. (HINT: a little vinegar and bucket of warm water will CLEAN the tiles without stripping the shine). My biggest gripe is the picture of the room we selected is NOT what we were given. We selected a renovated GROUND FLOOR studio suite. We had been upgraded to a one bedroom relic from the late 1960 's to early 1970's and not on the ground floor! The young man who checked us in saw that I was walking with a cane
and it did not occur to him a 2nd floor WITHOUT AN ELEVATOR might not be wise? ALSO DO NOT COUNT ON A PARKING PLACE WHEN YOU RETURN EACH DAY; you get to drive to the office and hope there are parking places there! MADDENING.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify an updated/renovated condo with decent amount of parking places
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha luvsf:

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review.

Thank you for your comment about the floor - I have shared your words with my housekeeping department.

As we were experiencing high occupancy when you arrived, we upgraded you from a garden view studio to a one bedroom partial ocean view condo. I apologize that you were not happy with your view. Since this condo property does not have elevators, we would have been happy to have provided a condo on the first floor had we known in advance of your difficulty regarding stairs.

Our bellmen are always happy to help you with a ride to your condo if you are unable to find a place close by. Please just call our front desk and they will be happy to alert the bellman to drive you to your unit.

Thank you again for staying with us.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had J118 with an ocean view across the golf course. The condo is spacious with a well equipped kitchen, a large widescreen TV and free wi-fi. This is a well designed development with beautiful gardens and a short stroll to the beach. Guests have exclusive use of 3 cabanas on the quiet beach. The cabanas include seating areas with tables and chairs, a small kitchen and large refrigerator to store your drinks and lunch. There are also complimentary beach towels and backrests.
It is about a 10 minute stroll from the beach area along beach walk to Whalers Village and a selection of shops and restaurants. We regularly ate at Leilani’s which has a good value beach bar and grill menu. The Fairway shops are at the entrance to the complex with more restaurants including Pizza takeaway, Chinese and CJ’s which is excellent value.
We were here during whale migration season and were treated to displays by the humpback whales on a daily basis. They were clearly visible from the beach and we actually saw the tail of a whale splashing into the water from our terrace one afternoon!
There is a complimentary trolley shuttle from outside the entrance to Whalers Village that runs a regular timetable. Lahaina is worth a visit but I suggest you set off early as parking is a nightmare. It can get busy along front street from mid-morning, especially if there is a cruise ship in. There are a lot of the usual tourist gift shops but there are also some nice galleries. It is worth exploring some of the back streets as well where there is the old prison. The Wain’e churchyard contains a tomb where some of the former royal family are buried. We met Tama there who is descended from one of the royal families and he is helping with restoration of some of the historic sites. He was very friendly and informative with a great sense of humour.
If you prefer somewhere a bit quieter and with more comforts than the normal large resort hotels then Maui Eldorado is the right choice.

Room Tip: Sea View room, J block is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha Gadabouts95:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. Thank you also for your pointers about the area and about seeing Lahaina. It is a very historic area and it is nice to read that you were able to explore some of that history. It's great that you were able to see some whales during your visit!

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for nine nights March-April. We had stayed here before and loved the convenient location within walking distance to Whalers Village and plenty of restaurants. At registration, the desk clerk was welcoming and helpful. When in Maui, we generally eat most dinners at the condo and have lunches out. The BBQs at the El Dorado are convenient and well maintained. We love to sit on the lanai for breakfast and watch the birds. Our only complaint with this particular stay/unit was lack of supplies in the kitchen. The knives were so dull (couldn't peel a cucumber) we actually bought a vegetable peeler and contributed it to the unit when we left. We really missed having a cutting board however. We will be back as soon as possible :)

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Aloha PattiCNS:

Thank you for coming back to stay with us and for posting a review of your visit. It's great to read that you enjoyed both breakfast and the birds on your lanai.

Thank you for your contribution of the peeler and for your comment about the knives. New knives are on their way! If you feel something is missing or needs to be replaced, please contact us and we'll be happy to help.

We look forward to your staying with us again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Aloha!

This was our first trip to Hawaii and it was perfect! We chose the Outrigger Maui Eldorado based on Tripadivsor reviews and I was not let down. We stayed 7 nights (the last week of March 2013) in J102. This is a huge condo with a beautiful view of the grounds and the ocean. It is also, probably the closest unit to the beach.

The condo was spacious and very clean. We had our 16yr old son with us and he had his own bedroom, bathroom, closet, and sliding doors to the grounds.

In my opinion, the unit can easily sleep 8+ people. There were two queen beds in my son's room, two queen beds in our room, and a pull out sofa in the living area.

In the main unit there is a large dressing room and a walk in shower. There is also a washer and dryer which worked great! My son's area had a bathtub/shower and plenty of closet space.

The unit has a blow dryer, coffee pot (drip type), stove,dishwasher, garbage disposal, microwave, refrigerator, ironing board, iron, safe, soaps, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, plenty of towels and washcloths, dishes, cutlery (although they are dull), plenty of silverware, 3 TVs, and high speed internet (internet worked great). There was also, dish soap, dish towels, a sponge, creamer, sugar, coffee filters, some coffee and tea.

We arrived early at 1pm and the room was still being cleaned. No problem...we checked in and went to Safeway in Lahaina (about 7 mins away) to get groceries. Once we got back we picked up the keys and were advised where to park (very low clearance (6' 1") in the parking garage - keep that in mind when renting a vehicle). Staff came with a golf cart and picked us up at our vehicle with all of our luggage and groceries and took us to our room. He even carried our groceries in for us!

The condo was VERY clean (thank you Gletha!) and spacious! The condo has sliding glass doors that face the ocean and allow for the entire condo to be opened up. We enjoyed this as it allowed us to have the breeze blowing through the unit while were were there. The unit is air conditioned, although we did not really need the air on.

There are lawn chairs and a patio table and chairs on the patios outside the unit. This was especially nice in the morning while we sipped coffee, watched the birds and listened to the waves hitting the beach.

We had one little visitor while were were there. A small lizard (I have attached a picture) which my son took great pleasure in catching and observing.

The condo became our base camp and it is perfectly located! We were about 7 mins away from Lahaina (this is a great town with shops and restaurants), 35-40 mins from Kahului Airport and we did a tour (The Road to Hana) and were picked up at the lobby of the Maui Eldorado.

We also island hopped to the Big Island and Ohau. Both islands were great to visit but, it was nice to come back to the condo (it was like coming home) and resting.

The beach was about a 4-5 minute walk; they will shuttle you to and from the beach if you like. We chose to walk. There is a cabana there for your use and you can cook, bring food and put it in the refrigerator, check out beach chairs, and towels.

The beach is not crowded and is absolutely beautiful. (check out the Maui Eldorado web cam online; it is on top of the cabana and you can see the beach live - in fact I did that yesterday just because I was missing it) My son and I sat on the beach and whale watched. March is a great time for seeing whales!

The cleaning crew came in once while we were there. They notify you of that when you check in. If you need something you can call the front desk and they are happy to help. We checked in on a Monday and the cleaning crew came in on a Thursday.

This is a great place to stay! It is clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, the location is perfect, the beach is beautiful and the condo was great!

We liked it so much, that we have decided to return in a couple years for another visit and I am looking at other Outrigger locations for future vacations!

Remember you are on an island, in Hawaii, on Maui, one of the most beautiful places on earth! Relax and enjoy your trip:-)

Maui Eldorado, you played a big part in making our vacation perfect!

Mahalo nui loa!!

Room Tip: J102 is a great condo and closest to the beach! Request a partial ocean view, it is worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Aloha CheriS0913:

Thank you for taking the time to post a such a detailed review of your stay with us. I'm very pleased to read that you enjoyed your condo and your stay with us and that you were able to take full advantange of J102's kitchen, lanai, beach and the cabana. And thank you also for including so many photos (we did like the picture of the gecko!).

Your kind words about my staff your recognizing Gletha's diligence is all particuarly appreciated.
Thank you for recommending our cabanacam. It is a great way to remember your stay and it is just a click away whenever you feel like coming back!

We look forward to seeing you all again on your next visit.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Maui Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Maui Eldorado

Address: 2661 Keka'a Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Maui Eldorado 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the fairways at Kaanapali Beach Resort, Outrigger® Maui EldoradoSM situates you in easy walking distance to beach activities, championship Royal Kaanapali Golf Course, and Whaler’s Village shops, restaurants and nightlife. These low-rise Maui condo rentals are well regarded among vacationers for roomy comfort with 1-bedroom suites up to 1,200 square feet! The relaxed garden setting is informal and inviting. The house golf cart shuttles guests to the exclusive beach cabana at north Kaanapali Beach. And enjoy more of west Maui exploring art galleries and souvenir shops in historic Lahaina Town, and discovering outdoor adventure at Kapalua Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Outrigger Maui Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Maui Eldorado
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Maui El Dorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Maui Eldorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.