We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds......don't pay for the Ocean View Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Maui Eldorado

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Maui Eldorado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Maui Eldorado
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2661 Keka'a Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #16 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds......don't pay for the Ocean View Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We shared a 2 bedroom condo with friends. We requested an ocean view room.....the ocean is so far, and the view so limited it was not worth the extra cost for that room. Also, we had requested 2 queen or king size bedrooms. We arrived about 9:00 PM that night and were given a condo with one king and another bedroom with 2 twin size beds. We were told our requests had not ben confirmed. They offered to move us the next night to a different place, but after "moving in" for only 4 nights we decided not spend another day, packing, and unpacking. Outside of this glitch, the place is nice. 3 pools, (none heated and it is cool and windy). PARKING IS HORRIBLE...you have to schelp your luggage a long way from the underground parking or get a bellman. No elevators for second floor people. Golf course is between ocean frontage road, and condos. So if beach is your thing it is about a 10 minute walk. Nice cabanas there, with towels, and a golf cart will take you if you are unable to walk that far. Would I stay there again. Maybe....the grounds were gorgeous and great staff.

Room Tip: If you are a golfer ask for Bldg J. but it may only be Efficiency. Building B is next to busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Aloha nosmokegranny:

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words about my staff. We are happy to read that you also enjoyed our landscaping.

Since we are separated from the ocean by the width of the fairway of the Kaanapali golf course, we call our rooms from which you may see the ocean "partial ocean view" in order to help guests understand that we are a short distance from the water. Also, though we do our best to accommodate guest bedding requests, we are not always able to provide the exact bedding combinations requested, especially during our busiest times.

Two of our three pools are heated to 80 degrees. Unfortunately, you were here during some of the worst of our winter weather when Maui's weather was actually cool!

The Outrigger Maui Eldorado is laid out in such a way as to minimize parking intruding on the guest view. Unfortunately, this means that parking can be a bit out of the way. We do have bellmen available from 6am to 10pm to help with your luggage or groceries; a quick call to the front desk will dispatch them to your car or to your condo.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit. I hope we will see you again on your next visit to Maui.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    182
    58
    18
    15
See reviews for
138
208
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the second half of our honeymoon on the islands. While on Oahu we stayed at the New Otani Beach Hotel which we loved and we will definitely stay there again. We can't say the same for the Eldorado. While nothing was really terrible, nothing was really great either. Our condo was a good size and we didn't mind having to bring our bags up the stairs like others have complained of. The cons: The condo was not as clean as I thought it should be. Especially the bathroom. I had to give things a wipe down. We asked for the safe service but when we got to our room they had given us the wrong key to the safe. I called the front desk to let them know and we had to go down to pick up a new key. Which also did not work....By then we were 2 days in of our 5 day stay and just decided to forget it. When we checked out they had still included the charge for the safe on our bill and I had to ask them to remove it. On the final day when we loaded the dishwasher and turned it on we realized it did not actually work. The pros: The view of the garden and golf course from our condo was lovely. The colours of the plumeria flowers were incredible. The pools were never crowded and it was nice to have options. We only went to the beach for sunset and it was not crowded then. We did not go to the cabana or the beach during the day so I can't comment on that. The location is convenient with Whaler's Village just a quick walk away. But after having such a great experience on Oahu at the New Otani we were underwhelmed by the Eldorado and would not stay there again.

I've noticed the hotel responding to reviews often saying "if you had let us know....we would have been happy to fix it" While I appreciate the fact that they are reading the reviews and listening to what people are saying...your guests should not have to "let you know". Good service means things are already done right so there is nothing to know. In my mind, you should be pro-active, not reactionary. First impressions last forever.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Aloha Kristen S:

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review.

I apologize that you were not perfectly happy here. We do endeavor to get things right the first time. With every condo and every guest being different, though we do our best with each guest to make a perfect match, sometimes we fall short; that’s why I advise guests to talk to us while they’re here.

Perhaps you will consider returning to see us. If so, please contact me when you make your reservation as I would like to be sure that you have a most comfortable visit.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This property has become our January home in the last few years. We were pleased that Outrigger took our suggestion that Outrigger add secured wifi to their cable broadband in THEIR units. We know others probably made the same suggestion too. But we loved this "new perk" in the Outrigger units.
The landscaping has be greatly improved over what was one of the most beautiful properties on Maui. The new landscape company has made a difference.
It is always nice to be greeted by name and welcomed back, as we were. Tifany from The Eldorado Market had our requested list stocked in our unit when we got there in the evening. The owners and HOA board members who were there for their January meeting also made us feel their welcome and interest.
No stay is possible without Ruby who literally makes our stay. She has always gone the extra mile to get us our requested unit and the big smile and "aloha" when we first see her each visit is special.
To us this is "Our Island Home "
Mahalo to all those who make The Outrigger Maui Eldorado truly an "aloha place".
NYNorthcoasters

Room Tip: Tell Ruby with Outrigger what you are looking for and if at all possible you will get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Aloha NYNorthcoasters:

Thank you for coming back to see us! We're always happy to see you. We appreciate your kind reviews.

Our new complimentary wi-fi was a great suggestion and we're happy to provide it for you.

Thank you for noticing the effort that has gone into the landscaping - more is yet to come, so next year when you're here it will be even better.

Thank you also for recognizing Ruby and her Aloha; she takes guest requests very seriously and tries very hard to make them happen.

Have you made your reservation for next year? We hope to see you all again the next time you return home to Maui.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

It's probably true with most places, but especially with the ElDorado Maui, that location of your room/unit is EVERYTHING. Before I get too far, let me suggest to anyone thinking about this property that you should absolutely book directly with the owner if at all possible so that you have control over that location.

We booked on Orbitz given our time table and a coupon that discounted us for booking air and room together. That was a mistake. While our room did indeed have everything we were looking for (AC, walking distance to beach, laundry, kitchen, king bed, lanai, wireless) and was pretty comfortable all in all, our view from our lanai was the entry way for several units placed in front of us with the parking garage to our left. We were literally placed in a studio, K106, that was directly next to the front office registration. There was an open parking lot directly in front of our entry way, right off the main street, to boot. How lovely. We were clearly low priority in management's eyes and it was not appreciated, especially since were there for a full 2 weeks. The difference between that location and others closer to the beach/golf course was enormous. Buildings H and G sure looked a great deal nicer. I imagine there are others as well but these were the most obvious choices from our stay.

I will say the staff was lovely. The bed was very comfortable. The little store is handy. The folks whom took us, and our scuba gear, down to the beach cabana in the golf carts were extremely nice and we tipped them well with some good wine. The studio was roomy but outdated, not a big deal for us though. The internet was pretty good. The cable picked up very few channels. Granted we are not there to watch TV but you have to have some down time and it would have been nice to watch tennis or the football playoffs. We couldn't pick up any channels that carried these major events(ESPN, FOX, CBS....I mean come on!) and had to go out every time, which somewhat defeats the purpose of having a unit with a kitchen. Speaking of the kitchen, it was well stocked and setup just fine for everything. The bathroom was nice and large which my lady sure appreciated. It's now $8 per day to park and we frequently had to park over in the main garage as our lot out front was often full with other guests and folks checking in. They have a gas bbq grill in the pool area (top of the garage) which was convenient for a couple of meals for us.

We sure do love Kaanapali and this property is easy walking distance to everything could want to access there. We loved the beach cabana and utilized it many times. The northern beach to Black Rock is quieter, less crowded and extremely lovely. We dove Black Rock 4 times and snorkeled it another two. Fabulous life out there.....eels, lobsters, white tip reef sharks(harmless so relax), eagle rays, and some huge turtles all made appearances. We snorkeled out towards the buoy one day and a huge pod of dolphins surrounded us frolicking everywhere....wow....we were completely blown away by that one. Black Rock really is amazing for that sort of encounter with wild life. This was our first stay in January and the whales were quite plentiful, though we had to go out on boats to get close. You could hear them singing when we dove under water. Lovely weather, some afternoon wind for about 5 days....ah still basking in the glow of two weeks of relaxation in paradise.

So it's a mixed bag really for the ElDorado for us. I'd give our room 2 stars for the location but the property overall could be utterly brilliant if you can elect for a better spot. Contact the owner directly, as a number of other guests mentioned to us. It's the only way we would consider going back.

Room Tip: Location, location, location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Aloha marcus8:

Thank you for staying with us.

Thank you for your kind words about my staff; they do like to share their Aloha with our guests. We do not treat any of our guests as low priority, regardless of how much they pay or how they make their reservations. Some guests prefer the location of K106 for precisely those reasons that you did not like. Had you let us know you were unhappy with the location of K106, we would have been delighted to help you find a different garden view studio. Please advise us of your requests prior to your arrival next time and we will do our best to meet them for you.

Also, we have fixed the television channels; I apologize that you were not able to watch your favorite channels while you were here.

It's great to read that you enjoyed the Kaanapali area and that you saw so much ocean life on your dives. Black Rock is one of the best snorkling/diving spots on Maui, and our beachfront cabana is right there for you to enjoy.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Returned for another excellent stay at the Eldorado. Travelled with my family of four and the mother -in-law. Great two bedroom suite with an excellent view for my family. Clean and modern and my daughters loved the large bathroom/wardrobe. One bedroom suite was originally reserved for my mother-in-law. Mary Ann at the front desk helped us change from that suite to a studio suite that was smaller and closer to us. A benefit of booking through Outrigger.

Great beach and great condo! We will return for a third time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Aloha Amy F:

We appreciate your taking the time to post a review of your stay - thank you. It's great to read that you found your studio to be comfortable and well-equipped.

It's great to read that you enjoyed our beachfront cabana; it is whale season now and it really is spectacular to see the whales playing just off the beach in front of you.

Thank you for your kind words about my staff. Thank you also for staying with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. We hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in 2 bedroom partial ocean view. Both bedrooms were large the bathrooms were a great size too. For 4 adults, there was more than enough room. The lanai was HUGE.

The lobby is a great place to catch a ride to the cabana. They will even put your drinks in their refrigerator for you.

The parking is tight if driving a minivan.

We will stay here again if in the Kaanapali area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Aloha SK52009:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and include some great photos! It's great to read that you enjoyed our large condo and our oceanfront cabana that has a full kitchen.

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see all of you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I was very pleased with our studio unit. It was clean, comfortable and peaceful. It was centrally located and had well kept grounds. The beds were very comfortable, too! The kitchen had everything you could possibly need to make your stay comfortable and low key. There were many stores to purchase groceries and anything else you could possibly need. The private Cabana was a nice perk to rest comfortably on the beach. The attendants provided clean towels, a private restroom, a beautiful and complete open kitchen to place anything you like in the fridge! it had many tables and chairs when you needed a break from the sun, while still enjoying the migrated Humpback Whales in front of the property, jumping and playing in full view. I would return in a heartbeat! I had read some of the horror stories posted on here before we left and just can't figure out where they were staying, because it wasn't here! I know each unit is privately owned, but they keep it clean and some may be more outdated than others, but was a restful, relaxing stay. I've been back nearly a week, and still find myself going there in my head. So peaceful. they called that evening to make sure everything was up to para. Very friendly and accommodating staff. GO! Can't beat the price, either. Loved it all!!!!

Room Tip: 2nd story unit would be ideal for the best veiw and most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Aloha Amy F:

Thank you for staying with us. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your studio and our Kaanapali location. Our cabana really is a unique and special place and you were here at a great time to see whales!

If you're in the mood to come back but don't have the time, check our cabana web cam!

We appreciate your taking the time to post a review of your stay; we appreciate your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Maui Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Maui Eldorado

Address: 2661 Keka'a Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Maui Eldorado 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the fairways at Kaanapali Beach Resort, Outrigger® Maui EldoradoSM situates you in easy walking distance to beach activities, championship Royal Kaanapali Golf Course, and Whaler’s Village shops, restaurants and nightlife. These low-rise Maui condo rentals are well regarded among vacationers for roomy comfort with 1-bedroom suites up to 1,200 square feet! The relaxed garden setting is informal and inviting. The house golf cart shuttles guests to the exclusive beach cabana at north Kaanapali Beach. And enjoy more of west Maui exploring art galleries and souvenir shops in historic Lahaina Town, and discovering outdoor adventure at Kapalua Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Outrigger Maui Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Maui Eldorado
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Maui El Dorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Maui Eldorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.