We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Maui Eldorado

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Maui Eldorado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Outrigger Maui Eldorado
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2661 Keka'a Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
Dallas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in room K211, November 2nd through November 7th. The view is amazing. The ocean, the well manicured lawn and golf course. The walk to the Cabana from the room is about 15 minutes...even though it is visible and close, you cannot walk across the golf course, or directly on the cart path. You have to take a winding path, which loops you around the golf course, and back to the Cabana. The Cabana is nice.

It seems that most of Maui is very spread out, so it is very important to have a car to get around. Whaler's Village is only a couple of miles away, with restaurants and shopping...but, nothing else is very close by.

This complex is primarily inhabited by Seniors of retirement age...at least at this time of year. As such, it is very quiet. However, not very hip or happening. But, everyone seems nice.

As others have stated, we had little nats/flies in our room...which seems to be common in Hawaii. Otherwise the room was clean.

But, the room is very VERY dated....think Golden Girls t.v. show circa 1989. Palm tree fabric couch, with cushions that are very flat and used...bamboo type framed furniture, plastic flowers. There is a flat screen t.v. However, it is not HD quality...of course, who watches t.v. when you have such a view out the window. The room is huge by Hawaii standards. It has a small washer/dryer...full sized fridge and stove/oven and a microwave. The kitchen is fully equipped to make meals. However, with the nats on the counter...we were hesitant to prepare food or use the utensils provided.

Some pictures show granite countertops...but, this room has not had such upgrades. It seems to me the individual owner could invest a few thousand on counters/hardware/furniture, aesthetics and possibly charge more for the room. But, for some reason no such investment has been made.

We had to pay $1.56 per day to use the in-room safe. $7.00 per day was the charge to park..even though there is plenty of ample parking. And, the little convenience store is very expensive...primarily because you are so secluded from others here...they kinda gouge you on the price...and, the fact that you nearly have to drive a car...

All in all the experience was good...and, I would definitely stay here again...this time knowing what to expect. But, if you are expecting luxurious accomodations, this is not the place for you.

The room is large. It has a beautiful view, and it is primarily clean, (minus the nats/flies).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Aloha jvmaddux:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. It's great to read that you liked our location and the view from your condo.

All of our condos are individually owned and decorated. If you're not happy with a particular unit, please let us know and we'll do everything we can to find another condo for you. I will be sure to pass along your comments to that particular unit's owner.

You'll be happy to know that our unusual invasion of gnats is now past with the return of the tradewinds and slightly cooler temperatures.

I'm pleased to read that you would stay here again. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Maui.

A Hui Hou,

BIll Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    183
    59
    19
    15
See reviews for
140
210
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was my first visit back to Maui after living there 30 years ago. (Yes, it has changed.) The location was perfect! I love snorkeling at Black Rock and swimming at the surrounding beaches. It was a 5-minute walk to Black Rock and the beach cabanas. A couple of more minutes and I was at the Sheraton pool bar, an excellent place for Mai Tais and a reasonably priced lunch. The setting on the Kaanapli golf course was beautiful. The view towards the hills, walking back from the beach, was gorgeous.

We stayed in building H, and it was very quiet. The most noise we heard was from the funny birds in the morning. The parking was very convenient. We had a partial ocean view, and it was great. Everything was clean and in good condition. The beds were comfortable. And there was plenty of drawer and closet space - and hangers!

The staff was friendly enough. They didn't ooze aloha, but they were fine. I'm a pretty independent traveler, so don't need many services. House cleaning every 3rd day worked perfectly for me. They gave us plenty of towels to last.

I will definitely stay here again, and I'll probably ask for the same room. I'm not giving the number because I don't want it to book up!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Aloha misskitty11:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. And thank you, too, for including the great photos!

We're happy to read that you found our property, location and your specific condo to be perfect for your return to Maui and that our housekeeping service met your needs.

We hope you won't wait another 30 years to come back to see us! Please request room XXXX (your secret is safe with us!) and we'll do our best to get that condo for you.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is exactly what I'm looking for when we travel to Hawaii. It is just so relaxing and low-key quintessential old school Maui. I have been coming here almost every year for the past 13 years and have always been greeted so warmly by the lovely people at the Eldorado. It's great for families, couples, friends--we've even attended a wedding here! Our favorite rooms have been E-204 (a one bedroom with an amazing view from the lanai) and A-111 (a two bedroom for when we are with larger groups--a stunning room!)
We will be back!--Mahalo!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Aloha Katsumu:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. I very much appreciate your comments about your experience and it is great to read that our atmosphere is exactly what you're looking for when you are here on Maui. Thank you also for your kind words about my staff.

We appreciate your many times returning to the Outrigger Maui Eldorado - thank you for your continued support.

A Hui Hou,

BIll Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

So, this one leaves me thinking on how to rate this place. It has it's share of upsides and equal (if not more) downsides to it.

If I was to put a one liner to it, I would say: Pick this place if you are going for a longer trip and are okay with room being cleaned every 3 days

Here is the full list of pros and cons of this place - we got into a studio condo

Pros:
- Condominiums - much more spacious than any typical hotel room. Would be great for families with kids.
- Includes a kitchenette (utensils, dishwasher, etc.) and laundry (washer, dryer)
- Great location - next to golf course, 7 min walking distance to beach, 7 mins driving to Lahaina
- Offers golf cart rides from/to the beach where they have their private cabana (free beach towels, kitchen area, restrooms)
- All condos include a nice patio - perfect for your morning coffee!
- Has a little marketplace to get food items, beer, wines, liquor, etc.

Cons
- No room service on a daily basis. Room service every 3 days. We were there for 3 days and did not receive room service. NOTE: Booking sites may NOT indicate this
- Did I say, you pay to stay in a room without daily cleaning? :) Now, imagine you go to the beach, come back in the room, take a shower, go out and come back to a dirty room ... stressing so that you do not underestimate the value of daily cleaning! :))
- $7/day parking charges - not sure if its common for Hawaii or not
- Condos themselves didn't appear to be upgraded (ours was definitely not). Not very old but don't expect any marble, granite, fancy faucets, furniture etc.
- Hotel staff is polite but service levels are poor. It's a reflection of management policies and not the individuals. Example: with no replenishment, we called front-desk to request some sweeteners and get an answer "Sure, please come by to the front desk to grab it" ... obviously, we said, we wouldn't and then it arrived
- On the expensive side for it's condition (at least for us)

Room Tip: Get something closer to the beach for easier access
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Aloha Live_It_Ez:

Thank you for staying with us. I am very happy to read that you found our studio to meet your needs; a condo with a kitchen and washer/dryer do make your visit more like staying in your own home away from home while you are on Maui.

Since most guests do feel at home here, we have found that they appreciate the privacy of not being interrupted by housekeepers during their stay and we have reduced our housekeeping service intervals accordingly.

I understand your concern with our daily parking charge; our parking rate is less than half of what you would pay at other nearby properties.

All of our condos are individually owned and decorated. Should you not be happy with your unit, please let us know and, based on availability, we will try to find a condo that you will like better.

Thank you for your comment about the service from the front desk. I have just spoken to them to let them know that we should be more attentive to guest requests during the day.

Thank you for posting your review. We hope you'll give us another try on your next visit to Maui.

Me Ke Aloha,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just booked our 5th or 6th stay at the Eldorado for spring break 2013. It's like going home! The beds are wonderful and the big pool is never crowded. We love walking down to the cabana in the morning to watch the whales. Just a bit of paradise!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Aloha Phyllis P:

Thank you for continuing to stay with us at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado. We appreciate your continued confidence in staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

BIll Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We just returned from 8 nights at the Maui Eldorado and overall we found this to be a very nice property. The room was very large with 2 queen beds in the bedroom and a queen size sofa bed in the living room. All the beds were very comfy, even the sofa bed. The balcony was huge. This unit is advertised at 1200+ sq. ft. but that includes the balcony. We had a partial ocean view room that overlooked one of the 3 pools. The view wasn't bad, but I've had better "partial ocean views". It could have been better if the trees next to the balcony had been trimmed back in previous years so as not to block the view. This property is a low rise condo and has no elevator. It is spread out over a large area. We stayed in building B which is towards the back of the property. I asked if there was anything closer to the beach but I was told that there was nothing available. I was a little bummed about that because I made my reservations several months in advance and I would have liked a unit closer to the beach. However, this made for a shorter walk to Whaler's Village. Make sure if you make reservations here, that if you want to be closer to the beach that you request it when you make your reservations. I booked this directly through Outrigger. From what I've read, you get a nicer unit if you do that instead of going through someplace like Expedia (and I got a better rate through Outrigger). Also, even though we were towards the back of the property it took only 10 minutes to walk to the beach (next to Black Rock) and 2 minutes more to get to their very nice cabana (and I am 62 years old and have arthritis in my knees). If you are at the front of the property it would knock off 5 minutes of your commute. Housekeeping is something that might bother some people as they only service the rooms every 3 days and all they do is bring you new towels, toilet tissue and paper towels. They do not do any cleaning or change the sheets on the beds. There are washing machine/dryer combos in the rooms so you could wash your sheets if needed. They also provide free internet service in all the rooms. It's not wireless, you have to use a cable which is provided. There is however, wireless internet service available in the lobby and at their beach cabana. All in all, my family enjoyed our stay here and I would recommend this property to anyone but especially for families.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the property are closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Aloha UghDoug:

Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review of your stay at the Outrigger Maui Eldorado.

We were entirely sold out of the one bedroom partial ocean view condos while you were here, otherwise we would have been happy to show you some alternate accommodations. But I'm happy to read that you still found the condo's location to be a shorter walk to Whaler's Village.

I am in the process of installing wireless routers in all of our condos. It's a gradual process, but I hope to complete the project by the end of the year.

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, CA
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We booked a room at the Outrigger and were pleasantly surprised to find that it was still $129 a night, exactly what we paid 3 years ago on our last visit. We were even in the same building (E) which has a small pool next to it which no one uses! The room is very large, and has a sofa, dining set, large screen tv, king bed, kitchen and laundry. You can walk down to the beach and access amazing snorkeling at Black Rock. You are 3 minutes from Whalers Village, which has great shopping and fine dining. There is a small restaurant called CJ's within walking distance.
Outrigger has it's own beachfront building with towels, lounges, refrigerator, microwave and room service right on the beach!

Room Tip: Building E is quiet and has it's own private little pool! Close to parking garage, also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Aloha Vacationers62:

Thank you for staying with us. It sounds like you made the most of your visit by enjoying both the pool near your condo and our beachfront cabana. That small is a great place to hang out during the day if you are looking for some quiet time.

Thank you for posting your review and for including the photos of your room. We hope you don't wait another three years to come back to see us!

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Maui Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Maui Eldorado

Address: 2661 Keka'a Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Maui Eldorado 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the fairways at Kaanapali Beach Resort, Outrigger® Maui EldoradoSM situates you in easy walking distance to beach activities, championship Royal Kaanapali Golf Course, and Whaler’s Village shops, restaurants and nightlife. These low-rise Maui condo rentals are well regarded among vacationers for roomy comfort with 1-bedroom suites up to 1,200 square feet! The relaxed garden setting is informal and inviting. The house golf cart shuttles guests to the exclusive beach cabana at north Kaanapali Beach. And enjoy more of west Maui exploring art galleries and souvenir shops in historic Lahaina Town, and discovering outdoor adventure at Kapalua Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Outrigger Maui Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Maui Eldorado
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Maui El Dorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Maui Eldorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.