We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room in paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Maui Eldorado

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Maui Eldorado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Maui Eldorado
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2661 Keka'a Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
La Mesa, CA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful room in paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We booked a room at the Outrigger and were pleasantly surprised to find that it was still $129 a night, exactly what we paid 3 years ago on our last visit. We were even in the same building (E) which has a small pool next to it which no one uses! The room is very large, and has a sofa, dining set, large screen tv, king bed, kitchen and laundry. You can walk down to the beach and access amazing snorkeling at Black Rock. You are 3 minutes from Whalers Village, which has great shopping and fine dining. There is a small restaurant called CJ's within walking distance.
Outrigger has it's own beachfront building with towels, lounges, refrigerator, microwave and room service right on the beach!

Room Tip: Building E is quiet and has it's own private little pool! Close to parking garage, also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Aloha Vacationers62:

Thank you for staying with us. It sounds like you made the most of your visit by enjoying both the pool near your condo and our beachfront cabana. That small is a great place to hang out during the day if you are looking for some quiet time.

Thank you for posting your review and for including the photos of your room. We hope you don't wait another three years to come back to see us!

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    181
    55
    18
    15
See reviews for
135
204
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at Outrigger Maui Eldorado for a week. Had a lower floor, Ocean View, 1 bedroom condo. It was great! Lots of room, everything we needed, including washer & dryer. They view from the Lani was outstanding. We could see the Sunset and the other Islands. A good pool, and when we wanted to go to the beach, they would take us to the Cabana, or it was an easy walk.
Good access to Whalers Village. We had good access to parking, and the staff there was friendly, and very helpful.
All I can say is, we will come back.
Eldorado, No Ka Oi!

Room Tip: Ask F103 if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Aloha trans4med:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay. It's great to read that you enjoyed your condo and the two-island view from F103's lanai.

Thank you also for your kind words about my staff; they are always happy to be able to share their aloha with you.

Thanks for staying with us. We hope your stay with us left you "trans4med" and we look forward to seeing you again.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a great location for a large group looking for a good value and a great location. While not on the beach it does have a nice beach property a short walk away. There were about 40 of us with kids mostly in HS. With the location close to Whalers Village the kids and adults could rome around in our own groups.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom ground floor unit and the ground floor is the way to go if you can. I can't say anything bad about the rooms. Being on the ground floor made it easy for other families to stop by. I will go back, which is the best I can say about any place I go.

Room Tip: Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Aloha Bart P:

Thank you for bringing your group to stay with us. Our extra large two bedroom condos are a great way to go when you are traveling with the entire family! It's great to read that you found our property to be a good value and that you liked your condo's first floor location. Our Kaanapali location means that its just a short walk to the beach or to Whaler's Village.

We hope to see you and your family again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Read all the reviews on tripadvisor, vrbo and anywhere else I could find on the web. The consensus was that this was a good choice if you want to stay in central location in Maui. We stayed in a partial ocean view unit on the bottom floor. Got the best deal on the Outrigger site. We had a beautiful view of the golf course and to our right we had a view of the ocean. We were close to the parking lot and one of the pools. Our condo unit was decorate in a hawaiian theme. The bed was comfy enough but the headboard was unstable. Wash and dryer in the unit was very convenient and they even provided detergent. All the appliances worked well except the oven. The couch made me feel itchy so I never sat on it. Free wifi was great. It’s a 10-15 min walk to the beach/cabana. If you don’t feel like walking just call the front desk for complimentary golf cart service. All in all this is a decent condo. Nothing fancy, but great if you want a comfy place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Aloha Kim L:

Thank you for staying with us. I am very pleased to read that the Outrigger website gave you the best deal!

At the moment, not all units have wi-fi, but we're working on it. I'm hoping that all units will have wi-fi access by the end of the year. There is wireless internet access in the lobby and at the cabana and every condo has a wired internet modem.

Thank you for posting your review. We hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

5 of us (2 couples and 1 teen) stayed for a week in these condos, very beautiful, clean grounds and the condos were nice and clean too. We were in D-208, had 2 bedrooms with their own washroom/shower plus a washer/dryer. The decor was a little dated but very cute and tropical themed which I really liked! The view from the living room/deck was amazing...ocean view & beautiful grounds to gaze out at. Our only complaint was the D block is closest to the very busy highway and our room had a little window by the wet bar that had no glass, just a screen and some shutters so it was very noisy and hard to sleep. Thank goodness we had earplugs! We finally stacked a bunch of pillows & towels in front of it which at least muffled the sound.

The beach was about a 7 minute walk or one can ask at the front desk for a ride down on a golf cart. There's a nice little cabana on the beach that has a kitchen, washrooms, towels and deck chairs all free to use for guests. You can take some your own drinks down and keep them nice & cold in the fridge while you relax on the beach or at the cabana!

We really liked these condos and would definitely stay again in future!

Room Tip: D block (specifically room 208) was close to the highway and quite noisy in the back bedroom but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Aloha FluffnClem:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and your photos of your stay with us.

Though D208 is closer to the road, the expansive view from that unit is one of the best on the property. I am pleased that you did enjoy the unit decor and size, the view and our beachfront cabana.

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you all again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Maui Eldorado, at Unit A107. We had beautiful view from our lanai, the golf course and the ocean was amazing.

The furnitures and the equipments are not the same at the units, the owner of the specific unit could buy and install them. Our unit was very comfortable and nice (with a full kitchen, washer, dryer, comfortable indoor and outdoor seating). Washing powder, and dishwasher detergent and liquid dish washer was provided.

The ocean shore was 5-8 minutes by walk from our unit. The beach cabana was very good, restrooms, an equipped kitchen and indoor and outdoor sitting areas (chair, tables, and sunbathing beds) are available there.

The snorkeling was very good at Black Rock, there were a lot of fishes, rays, corals and turtles. We swam from the beach cabana to the other side of the rock. At that time there were no strong currents there so it was not a hard swam. It was recommended to us to snorkel there at the mornings.

The Whalers Village shopping center is also very close approx. 8-10 minutes from our unit. The Whalers Village Museum was worth a visit, at the time of our visit a biologist from NOAA hold an interesting presentation about the humpback whales.

Altogether the Maui Eldorado is a very good place, with good value for money.

Room Tip: Unit A was a bit farer from the ocean (5-8 minutes by walk), but it was calm, and the view was beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Aloha James_Davis:

Thank you for coming all the way from Hungary to stay with us! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in A107 and I have shared your review with the owners of the condo.

The whaling museum at Whaler's Village is a mostly undiscovered treasure and it is terrific that you were able to see the museum and hear a talk about whales.

Thank you for posting the photos. We are all in awe of the beautiful sunset shot.

Please let us know when you're back on Maui. We hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at a two bedroom condo, it was dated but very clean and very spacious. The proximity to beach was a short walk or the golf car was very handy. We enjoyed the cabanas.

We had trouble connecting to the wifi but we didn't spend too much time to solve the problem until the last day, the router was missing the coaxial cable.

We would recommend this Condo if you are looking for inexpensive, clean and simple facilities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill R, General Manager at Outrigger Maui Eldorado, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Aloha none2011then:

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review. We're happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We are gradually rolling out the in-room wi-fi, so I appreciate your patience with the missing cable. The front desk does have a few spares.

We hope you come back again soon.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Maui Eldorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Maui Eldorado

Address: 2661 Keka'a Drive, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Maui Eldorado 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the fairways at Kaanapali Beach Resort, Outrigger® Maui EldoradoSM situates you in easy walking distance to beach activities, championship Royal Kaanapali Golf Course, and Whaler’s Village shops, restaurants and nightlife. These low-rise Maui condo rentals are well regarded among vacationers for roomy comfort with 1-bedroom suites up to 1,200 square feet! The relaxed garden setting is informal and inviting. The house golf cart shuttles guests to the exclusive beach cabana at north Kaanapali Beach. And enjoy more of west Maui exploring art galleries and souvenir shops in historic Lahaina Town, and discovering outdoor adventure at Kapalua Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Amex, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Outrigger Maui Eldorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Maui Eldorado
Outrigger Lahaina
Outrigger Maui Eldorado Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Maui El Dorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Maui Eldorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.