We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaleialoha Condominiums

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kaleialoha Condominiums to your Saves list
Kaleialoha Condominiums
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3785 L. Honoapiilani Rd, Kaanapali, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here three times in the past three years. The units are always as advertised, with marble counters, travertine tile, new appliances and most have stackable washer/dryers! The from office staff (Lonnie) are always helpful, and being thirteen steps from the ocean is about the best you can do. There are lots of reef right off the shore, so do not pay to go on a snorkel trip. You can see many species of fish and lots of turtles right here! There are three grills for cooking, and the condos are all stocked with the cookware you'll need. Don't spend huge money on a hotel! Stay here and use your savings for other things to do on Maui!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    37
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
112
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This condo is fantastic. Between watching the whales & seaturtles from the lanai, to the layout of the condo, everything was great. We loved having the end unit so we could have extra breezes and views. The pool was quiet and uncrowded, the bbq area was clean and well-functioning, and the kitchen appliances were top-notch. The only beach was next door, but it is very close and convenient. The surf can be very loud at night, but closing the louvered windows took care of it. It was an easy walk to shops & the farmer's market (M-W-F, I highly recommend it.) We would definietly come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

It's all about the Balcony for us!
We stayed at this condo late last summer for two weeks (a bit too long away from home for me) as our first off continent vacation.
The amenities were quite adequate, and the ocean front view was spectacular. We quite enjoyed our stay in Apt 210. There were only two problems during our stay both relatively minor. One was the mini ants that invade the apartment building. They congregate in the kitchen so do not leave any food out at all. They're not pervasive, just in the kitchen if you leave food around. Speaking with permanent residents, this is a building wide issue. More of an annoyance than an problem for a visitor. We saw them nowhere else in the apartment.
Second problem was an encounter with a very testy front office manager (Lani) that we felt could be handled far more professionally than she did. That was one occasion out of five that we encountered her, so the odds are in your favour, but I would be aware that she has a nasty side and that can be very unpleasant.
One fact you should be aware of is the Air conditioner and the microwave are one the same circuit as the TV and almost everything on that wall. So arriving there we wanted to heat up something for supper we bought from Safeway on the way in (near Lahaina) from the airport, and turned the AC on and boom! the circuit tripped. The breaker panel is on the end kitchen wall behind a picture. We adjusted our behavior and it didn't happen again although we just didn't turn on the AC after that. Power costs are unbelievably expensive there at around 30 cents per KW/h. We tried to be prudential in our usage.
Other than that it was a very pleasant stay. The apartment was comfortable, spacious for two, well decorated. The bathroom could use some maintenance (re-caulking) and if it were mine I would spend my next upgrade dollars there, although it actually was perfectly serviceable.
The kitchen was very nice, modern and had all the tools you would likely require.
Has an en-suite laundry, but we were given instructions not to use them, but to use the coin operated building ones at the front entrance. They offered coins for doing the laundry which we took up once, but after our encounter we decided to limit our exposure to Lani so we used our own to avoid her.
The floor is all tiled which helps cool the feet (which you should be taking your shoes off at the door).
We slept with the windows open/doors locked.
It had a good package of Cable and had (relatively speaking) High speed DSL (Cable is better). Good selection of handed down books to read for those inclement weather days.
We often took advantage of a very nice and well maintained swimming pool. If you're going to go into the ocean I would recommend buying a pair of swimming shoes (there is a store in a plaza beside McDonalds). The rocks are volcanic, rough and the waves can knock you onto ones sticking out of the sand bottom.
We spent a fair amount of time in Lahaina, which has a ton of amenities, shops to while away the hours, great food. Check out the Banyon Tree. It amazes that the whole block is one gigantic tree.
Tips: Try Slappy Cakes in the plaza by the main highway- awesome pancakes you make yourself. Use Safeway on the Cannery Mall about half way from Lahaina to the condo hwy turn off (Slappy Cakes is there too).
Pass on the Royal Lahaina Luau, mediocre meals, gravel parking lot is where you sit.
Take up the Pacific Islands Luau at the Sheraton, more money but well worth the upgrade, better food, atmosphere etc.
About a 7 minute walk up the road (Southbound) there is a farmers market. Good food there. and beside that another minute walk there is a strip mall that has Ozyukos Deli slightly offset across the street from Kanaapoli Beach- a main open access public beach. Excellent freshly prepared food there for quite reasonable prices. We ate there numerous times.
Northbound on the Condo drag quite a ways up walking maybe half an hour- 3 minutes or so by vehicle, there is a plaza with a McDonald's. In this plaza are two gems: The Black Angus Restaurant and the Maui Brewing Company. Give both a try. The only complaint was the red wine served at the Angus was room temps (80 degrees), and needed to be chilled to 55. Meals were very good for the price.
If you have the budget, try the Lahaina Grill in downtown Lahaina. Spectacular food and superb friendly service. Quite reasonable. We had the main entre, drinks and tip for two all in $130. And we didn't have to get dressed up but you could if you wanted. nobody made you feel out of place if not.
Secondly, if you have the opportunity to try a personal massage at the Grand Wailea. It's a fantastic day- just remember to bring your bathing attire- unless you like walking around nude. I can't say enough about the experience but after all it is a Waldorf Astoria establishment.
Kahului (airport) has all the big box stores that you would ever need and some you don't (Home Depot/Lowes). If you are a Costco member, make the first left hand turn at a stoplight coming out of the airport, and the Costco is on the right side. It includes a gas station so you can fill up on your way back to the rental stop.
DO NOT miss the road to Hana. We took a bus tour and was worth the price because of the stress of driving. The driver would be totally stressed out and exhausted by the time you arrived, never mind getting home. This way you can sit back and enjoy the trip. They stop at State and national parks that you would miss if you were driving on your own. Don't miss Black rock Beach.

Overall we would stay here in this condo again in a heartbeat (but I would limit my interactions with Lani to signing in/check out).

If you have the time and the bandwidth available (and lots of time) I have uploaded some High Definition videos of both off the balcony viewing the ocean and some other areas of the island.
Videos 315-319, 326-331 and 333 are specifically of the dreamy balcony off unit 210.

http://www.serve-my-stuff.com/Videos/Hawaii/

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkdale, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This place this the best for making your trip your own. There is no hustle and bustle to try and find a spot by the pool and it is not overcrowded. Each condo is designed differently and some people live there. We loved that you can snorkel right there, and the turtles!! So many turtles! This made the trip. There are great places to snorkel close by too

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is the second year we have stayed in unit 207. I love this one bedroom condo. It is very well maintained, the bed is extremely comfortable, and the ocean is right out your deck. The price is very affordable for such a wonderful condo.

Room Tip: I would only choose the units that face the ocean. I would want to be on at least the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly, ID
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Beautiful, fully updated condo. Lovely kitchen with granite with great appliances.
Great flat screen tv, lovely ocean view, comfortable bed. Only suggestions for improvement...need better pots and pans--no suitable pan for cooking pasta. Also, could have used more cleaning products, especially for your beautiful granite!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria ky
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed for two weeks in unit 115 and it was wonderful. The unit is beautiful and has all you need and more. They even have snorkeling equipment and binoculars (even under water ones) that you can borrow. The views are fantastic and I saw many whales right out my lanai. This unit is more private which I wanted and has a great smelling plumeria tree very close. The grounds are very well maintained and pretty. There is a farmers market on Monday, Weds, and Fridays within walking distance that is fabulous. Plenty of local restaurants and shopping. I found the staff to be nice and helpful and Lonnie went out of her way to make my stay perfect. She recommended Tom Barefoots to help me set up a whale tour and zip line tour and they were unbelievable. Hope I can return.

Room Tip: I liked 115 because of its beautiful interior and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaleialoha Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaleialoha Condominiums

Address: 3785 L. Honoapiilani Rd, Kaanapali, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaleialoha Condominiums 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful direct oceanfront, one bedroom, fully equipped condos near the famed Kaanapali Resort area in desirable West Maui. Sandy beach, sunset BBQ area, in-ground pool, free parking, internet and cable. Weekly Farmers Market, health food store and beach park 3 blks away. Shopping, restaurants and all beach activities within minutes. 4 miles to Lahaina Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Kaleialoha Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaleialoha Condominiums Hotel Lahaina
Kaleialoha Condominiums Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaleialoha Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.