We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay but this is not a luxury hotel and doesn't claim to be so don't judge it as such!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ka'anapali Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ka'anapali Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ka'anapali Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Superb stay but this is not a luxury hotel and doesn't claim to be so don't judge it as such!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a fantastic stay here on the third island we visited as part of our honeymoon. Bottle of Champagne (Californian though - I don't think that is technically possible is it?) waiting in our room on arrival with a nice little note. Room was spacious and clean and comfortable but not luxurious. We had a small balcony and a table and chairs in the room, as well as a coffee maker and a fridge and just about everything we coud want.
The location is amazing - right on a beautiful beach.
We attended a free breakfast the day after we arrived - they don't really try to sell you anything and after you've endured the (cringeworthy to me anyway!) Hawaiin singing it's quite entertaining and useful - and a free breakfast!
I'm not sure how "Hawaiian" this hotel is - is it real or just for the tourists? who knows but eveyone is really friendly and when you leave you get a lovely lei with a story explaining why they give them out.
I would definitely stay here again in a flash - could really not ask for more from a hotel or a location. Far better than the Marriott etc which we found rather clinical.
At the far end of the beach we swam with a sea turtle (you must not touch!) which was really cool. Didn't do any organised trips or anything as we hired a car but I think if we went again we'd do an early morning trip out to Molokini (little point going on one of the discount trips in the afternoon I'm told as not a lot to see by then)

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the garden and could see the sea. It was lovely. Higher floors will natura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,260
    807
    271
    130
    78
See reviews for
592
1,251
46
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My wife and I have just spent our honeymoon at the Ka'aanapali Beach Hotel, and have loved every moment. The rooms were spacious and well appointed, the beds were comfortable and our room was always immaculate. The grounds were truly beautiful, hot tubs and huge pools aren't necessary when you can stumble 20 feet from your front door and find yourself on an idylic beach - that being said the snack bar was great (I recommend the teriyaki burger), and the tiki bar was always open whenever we fancied a delicious cocktail or two.

But what really made this holiday worth travelling to the otherside of the world was the staff - Ka'aanapali Beach Hotel was without a doubt home to the friendliest, most knowledgeable and helpful team I have ever stayed with. From the amazing housekeeping team to Dale behind the bar, who seemed to be a local legend alongside mixing a mean Mai Tai! The luau is not to be missed (the food is excellent and the entertainment was great!!) When we had problems with our airport connections Mahilini moved heaven and earth to help us get it sorted, then blessed us with a beautiful lei and explained the importance of the kukui tree, a sentiment that touched both myself and my wife.

We popped into most of the hotels along Kaanapali, they may have been packed with bars and hot tubs - but for us they just didn't compare to the wonderful atmosphere at KBH. This is one of the few places I have felt like I have learnt about Hawaiian culture, if youre going to come to Maui...this is the place!!

We feel like weve joined the KBH family, and we'll be back as soon as we possibly can be!

Laura and Mel xx

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigantine, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Location is super and staff is very friendly. The problem is the place is old and tired, no wifi service either. Rooms are all older but mostly clean, old carpeting, run down bathrooms.The price is good per night and you get what you pay for. The Tiki Terrace breakfast is OK but way overpriced which was included with our room. I really hope they update the property in the near future otherwise I will probably stay elsewhere on my next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the remodeled rooms which are still old but not as old as others. I believe they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The grounds are GORGEOUS, well maintained and right on the ocean! Rooms are nice and the staff is VERY friendly and accommodating. The prices for the on site restaurant are high. Sunday brunch is great but not for $100 including tip. How much can you really eat? The thing that I did not like was the hours for the Tiki bar and snack spot. The snack spot closed at 8pm and the bar closed at 10pm! Come on folks we are on VACATION! At least give us 9pm on the snack and 11pm on the bar. There are better deals within a short walk at Whalers Village for breakfast and dinner. Overall it is a very nice place. I would go back.

Room Tip: Check what view you have when you book, inside is not an ocean view. But inside is still very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Wa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Most affordable hotel on the beach. Good service and clean!!
Not many hotel amenities you expect.. No hot tub, no gym, small pool... But very Hawaiian and very nice.. Close to Whalers village easy walk for restaurants and happy hours..
Clean and comfortable but very dated and somewhat old...
Rooms are clean but dated, wifi was not working but is in the works .. We were told.
Beach chairs and umbrella is $30 a day!! So bring your own if you want to use the beach .. Which is great by the way.
Check rates and compare is my advise..

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I will start with the positives. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the Kaanapali Beach area just steps from Whaler Village shops and restaurants. There is no resort fee, but there is a separate charge for everything - parking, in room Wi-Fi, local phone calls. Our room was clean and comfortable with a nice TV. Everyone was friendly. However, the hotel is old and faded. It is in bad need of repairs and refurbishment. Many ceiling tiles in the hallway of our building were stained and broken and some were about to fall down. There is only one pool, and because it is shaded much of the day, the water ice cold. There is no hot tub, and to get towels for the pool requires a good bit of effort as they are not located by the pool. The breakfast buffet is a joke. The first morning we were there, there was no bacon for breakfast. At one time this was probably a nice resort, but that time has long since passed. Maui is the most expensive island in Hawaii and hotel rates show it. The rooms at this hotel cost less than at the major hotels, but the small difference isn't worth the trade-off. We have visited Maui many times, and every hotel we have stayed at was far superior to this one. I would not recommend this hotel, and I would not say there again. If you are visiting Maui, spend a few extra dollars and stay at a nice resort.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our recent stay at the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel. Although we have dined at the hotel previously, this was our first stay there. Our whole experience was outstanding. The Aloha experience here is unlike anywhere else. We loved the lush grounds and island landscaping throughout the hotel complex. We also loved how the hotel provides such an amazing feel for all things Hawaiian. Yes, we are on a vacation, but it's a vacation in Hawaii, and the hotel really helps reinforce this wonderful island presence. They offer all kinds of fun activities such as lei making, and ukulele lessons. From our balcony we were able to watch a fantastic pre luau activity of island music, dancing, carving and weaving, all taking place in an outdoor area on the hotel's grounds surrounded by island plants, trees and shrubs, and even a small taro patch. We were so happy we chose to stay at the KBH, and will definitely stay here again on future trips. Our room was very nice, with a great view across the beautiful grounds to the ocean beyond. We enjoyed time at the fun Tiki Bar with lunch from the nearby snack bar. Give the KBH a try and we think you'll be very gald you did.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ka'anapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'anapali Beach Hotel

Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ka'anapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...at Maui's most Hawaiian hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Kaanapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you’ll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality – truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ka'anapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka'Anapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ka'anapali Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.