We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ka'anapali Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ka'anapali Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ka'anapali Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Central Penna.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good choice in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Good news they replaced the tube TVs with new flat screens....not that we watched much TV, but it did make the accommodations seem more modern.
We asked for and received a ground floor room. It was in the Lanai wing so it was acually larger than the other rooms with a sunken living area that is the balcony of the rooms on the upper floors. Having the ground floor was perfect for us as we could sit and enjoy the park like setting of KBH with out packing everything up and carrying around to the pool side. The downside of those rooms is if it rains you can't use the porch as it is covered only by a shade top.
KBH has the nicest grounds of the hotels in the area by far....spacious and beautiful. The others we saw were nice but much more crowded into a smaller space.
The staff all are very friendly and reflect the quality management of this hotel. They are all required to go through Hawiian Heritage training.
They have a welcome breakfast on your first morning that isn't a time share sales pitch. They do tell you about trips and excusions they can arrange for your stay but it mostly was just a welcoming by the hotel staff and the buffet breakfast was pretty good.
Onsite they have a nice restaurant in addition to a snack shack and of course the Tiki bar. Everything we tried was good at both the restauant and snack bar. Drinks were quality at the Tiki Bar but we didn't partake too much at close to $20 a round. We did pick up drinks, snacks and adult beverages at Costco on the way so we were able to save a little on our travel budget.
The wifi is bad as has been mentioned here by others. I wouldn't doubt management will have the wifi upgraded in the future as they seem to be in touch with offering folks staying at KBH a quality experience. I see why others keep coming back!
On your last day they have a little going away ceremony that is a nice touch that shows it really is the most Hawiian hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,261
    807
    272
    130
    78
See reviews for
592
1,253
46
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were on a tight budget and thought that we will be spending most of the day outside anyway so we booked ourselves here. The rooms were clean and smelled fresh; the rooms get cleaned everyday. It was nice to look out the window/balcony and see space. This place had a big garden. It is outdated, but it was comfortable during the days when we would just relax on the reclining chairs under the trees. The guests can borrow towels when they went to the beach. The employees were nice, helpful, and pleasant.

The thing that we did not like is that we were not able to hook up with their internet connection. There is a very limited area where you can access their wifi which you had to pay for separately. And even if I was willing to pay for it, the system then, was down and was not successful in getting online. You really have to go to Starbucks in the establishment walking distance from the hotel, or drive to Barnes and Noble to get free wifi. If you can't go on a vacation "unplugged" then this will be an issue.

The food was just so-so. We were disappointed with the food at the "famous Sunday brunch." It cost almost $100 for just the 2 of us for a meal that did not really excel in any way. Yes, there were LOTS of choices. But some of the selections were cooked dry, most were not seasoned well. Some were overcooked. The only thing we liked was the waffle.

You have to pay extra to be able to use the safe in the room. We thought that was strange...

But, over all, we enjoyed relaxing and enjoying the sand and beach. The sunsets were gorgeous! So we're good!

Oh, one more tip... If you don't want to be bothered with having to rent beach chairs to be on the sand, in front of the water, bring your own folding chairs. Or you can maybe buy from the stores in town, like ABC, or Walmart.

In this area, it's ok to not rent a car because the Whalers' Village is just on the next lot where they have lots of restaurants, shops, and an ABC store. If you are on a tight budget, you can buy your grocery items from ABC and make your own sandwiches and drinks in your room, or buy salad and snacks.

It would be more convenient and cost effective to rent a car because there are a lot of take out places where you can buy good cheap food.

If you like walking there is a paved beachwalk behind the hotel that leads you to the other hotels and establishments. Google map the area. It's refreshing to take those long walks there by the beach, especially really early in the morning and at sunset.

Room Tip: Choose a room far from the tiki bar. They have a live show nightly from 6-9PM. Noise can be a proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel was not to our expectations, the room was very dingy and everything else seemed old. It felt as though they hadn't updated anything since the 70's. And all this was despite the high room tariff. First of all our hotel building didn't have an elevator. We were traveling with a baby and had a lot of stuff to carry, so an elevator would have helped. Secondly, we had requested for a king bed but were given two double beds. With a baby who was not sleeping in the crib, it was very difficult. Thirdly, we had to use the cellular network to plan our activities as the room didn't have Wifi, it was only available near the pool area. Finally, during our stay here the bathroom overflowed. Although the hotel staff were helpful, the dampness remained in the room. Overall, we were not happy with our experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel. It is directly on Kaanapali beach which is beautiful and is within a 5 minute walk to Whalers Village (shopping and restaurants). The hotel is approximately a 40 minute drive from the airport. They have a parking garage which was an additional $10 per day ($12 for valet).

The rooms are slightly dated but nice and clean with a comfortable bed. Our room also had a coffee machine, safe and small fridge which was nice for keeping drinks or food cold.

If you are visiting during the humpback whale season, definitely check out the Trilogy whale watching tour offered at the hotel. It was a great experience!

Overall a nice and friendly place to stay. The dated rooms are keeping this from a better rating.

Will be back again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warne, NC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Sitting right in the middle of one of the most beautiful beaches on Maui this older property bills itself as the most authentic Hawaiian hotel on the island; and I have no reason to doubt it. An extremely friendly staff that seems more like family has involved themselves in activities that “give back” to the community, the island heritage, and individual local families. We stayed 6 nights in an ocean/sunset view room on the sixth floor of the new building. If you were much below the fifth floor a lot of the ocean would have been blocked by the extensive mature landscaping. For us it was like staring down on a lovely garden complex with a pool, tiki bar, and a giant checkerboard in the lawn. The view over the palm trees and the beach at sunset was indeed gorgeous. Our room was adequately sized with two comfortable beds, a wonderful balcony, key lock safe, coffee maker, and refrigerator. All utilities worked as expected, however it took a couple of hours to get our room’s A/C down to my meat locker requirements. Thankfully the staff didn’t adjust my settings in our absence, a practice I’ve battled at other properties, and we were comfortable after that first afternoon. Wireless internet, at an additional cost, was supposedly available at the tiki bar and those rooms with line of sight however it didn’t work on my wife’s android type tablets. When we couldn’t connect it didn’t appear on our bill.
Our end of Feb stay coincided with the high time for whale watching and they were literally jumping and playing in the bay right in view of the beach. Our $1,965 “best of the beach” package included a compact rental car picked up at the airport from Budget, valet parking, the excellent and extensive daily breakfast buffet, two beach towels to take home, a six pack sized beach cooler bag, two small bottles of water a day, lunch for two one day at the tiki bar, a $20 off certificate for dinner at their restaurant, and a choice of 3 day s of either snorkel gear for two or 3 days of twin cabanas or beach loungers & umbrellas set up wherever you wanted on the sand. Having brought scuba & snorkel gear we chose the lounges & umbrella and spent three wonderful afternoons with me baking in the sun and my wife happily shaded and watching the bay with her binoculars for the close ups of the whale action.
The onsite watersports operator, Trilogy, drove one of their catamarans right up to the beach three times a day and took whale watchers and sunset cruisers off on their adventures. We charged one trip to the room and enjoyed some up close interaction with a mother and calf as well as splashes and leaps within viewing distance throughout the bay. Just a ten minute stroll down the golden sand beach is the dive and snorkel site, Blackrock, where we enjoyed watching young daredevils leaping off the iconic rock into the sea as well as the numerous colorful endemic fish swimming around the shallow shore entry dive site.
We had a ball on Maui and met several folks who reserve an ocean front room, a year ahead, to spend a month or two having cocktails and watching whales in the bay from the balcony. Sounds like a good retirement to me.

Room Tip: they say all the "ocean front" rooms are booked up months in advance I recommend a 5th or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Ka'anapali Beach Hotel was a great place to stay for our 6 day visit to Maui. The beach side location was beautiful - awesome sunsets, a variety of water sports, & 2 miles of beach. There is plenty to do. I would caution if you are looking for an "adult only" location this is not for you. We enjoyed plenty of restaurants & shopping within walking distance. Lahaina is a short drive away and loaded with more options. Take advantage of Trilogy for your water sports located beach side in front of the hotel. Truly enjoyed the staff and culture do the KBH. Will definitely plan to come back. Mahalo!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

An authentic Hawaiian experience with local entertainment every evening and a superb location right on the beach, right were the whale watching tours leave from ( the best thing to do in Hawaii).
Rooms were very spacious although bathrooms slightly outdated, we had the misfortune to be by the lifts which were very noisy.
You can walk along the path at the beach to other hotels/restaurants and the Whalers village shopping complex. This hotel is excellent value for money but don't expect 5 star.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ka'anapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'anapali Beach Hotel

Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ka'anapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...at Maui's most Hawaiian hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Kaanapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you’ll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality – truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ka'anapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka'Anapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ka'anapali Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.