We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Acceptable Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ka'anapali Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ka'anapali Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ka'anapali Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfectly Acceptable Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband, 2 grown children, & myself stayed here at the KBH in mid June, '13. It really had most everything you would want. We truly wanted an experience where we would be waited on, so therefore, no kitchenette, etc. ( I love to cook, but not on vacation!) However, we did have a "dorm room" sized refrigerator, which was perfect. We did wish that there was a microwave. Our rooms were #548 & 536. Both had great views of the pool and the ocean. We never did attend the breakfast or dinners at the restaurant, but we did frequent the Tiki Bar & Grill. The teriyaki chicken &/or Beef Skewers were both fine. The Fish sando was good, as well. We really wanted the whole "pool service" experience, but only got that on the one Friday that we were there, which was odd. We had heard that it was just the beginning of the "busy" season. Dale, who has been a bartender there for over 40 years, makes an amazing Pina Colada. Chantel was also super friendly and helpful. One thing that you might need to know in advance, which I learned about 5 days in, is that if you want your linens changed, you need to leave a note. Otherwise, its not happening. I think my biggest beef was that there was no bottled water in the vending machine. I really, really, need to keep hydrated! The grounds were lovely and the crew was amazing. Seriously PERFECT location. I loved the fact that there was a laundry facility. 1.75 per wash load & 1.75 per dry load. Detergent and fabric softener were $1.00 each per load. "Free" books on loan there, too!

Room Tip: I only say "poor" for fitness & room service because they are non-existant. FYI, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    777
    255
    126
    77
See reviews for
581
1178
46
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I visited this hotel with extended family. We had three families from 4 to 64. This location could not have been more conducive to a multi-family trip. It was right along a strip of hotels and shopping all within walking distance. This made the trip really easy because we didn't have to all do the same things at the same times. The hotel itself was great. It was low key, not crowded, and had plenty of island flavor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was an absolute gem! Our family of 5 stayed for a week in late June. I purchased a package through Travelocity that included accomodations at Ka'anapali Beach Hotel (KBH) with two rooms to house us and our kids 13, 10, & 7. We requested adjoining rooms since we were still concerned about having constant access to the younger kids and were given two rooms on a high floor in the Kauai wing. The rooms were great with a nice partial view of the ocean and plenty of space. The kids room had two double beds while our room included a king size bed and a single daybed/couch. We could not have asked for a more perfect set-up. The grounds were gorgeous and the free breakfast on the second day was a nice touch and very informative. The access to the beach was top notch, and we spent several days enjoying the amenities. We did eat one night at the Tiki Terrace. The food was good and the Hula show made for a great atmosphere, but as you would suspect, the meal was a bit pricey for a large group. Luckily, the hotel had provided a 20% coupon for us to use at the restaurant.

The two young kids really enjoyed attending some of the free special activities held by the hotel (lei making, Hula lessons, card making, weaving, etc) and filling out their KBH kids passports. The farewell ceremony and complementary kukui lei were also much appreciated. This hotel is not a five star resort and does not make any claim to be. However, we found the facilities (room & grounds) to be clean, comfortable, & authentic. With the exception of the hustler running the Ohana Fun Center, we found the staff to be very friendly and caring -- they even greeted our kids by name 4 days after attending the lei making class. We were genuinely sad to leave and will carry wonderful memories with us -- both of Maui and this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Upon check-in, we were given a first floor room in the Kauai building. Unfortunately, they allow smoking on the lanai so we asked to be moved. The front desk staff person was very accommodating and moved us from partial ocean view to full ocean view on the 5th floor. Amazing view! They were also able to give us a late check-out (1:00) so we didn't have to rush and were able to enjoy breakfast and the beach that last morning.
This was our fourth time staying at KBH - our 1st visit was 30 years ago! - and the quality and friendliness is still there. We like the proximity to Whaler's Village and the beach is wonderful although the waves were quite rough and we received a message on our phone to stay out of the water! If you stay here, do go to the Aloha ceremony on your last morning - they present everyone with a beautiful kukui nut necklace and on your next visit, they will add white kukui nuts to your necklace!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We checked in for four nights, June 30-July 4 and frankly nervous given some of the recent reviews. We had already been to Oahu and Kauai and this place had a lot to measure up to. We were very pleasantly surprised. We immediately asked to stay in one of the newer wings and were given a free upgrade to the Kauai wing with a partial ocean view. The Hawaiian bedspreads were a nice touch. The free breakfast to hear about activites on the first morning was also a surprise. It was a full buffet not just coffee and Danish and the hotel staff performs for you. The beachfront is gorgeous but go early if you want to swim as the waves get intense and there is no barrier. The whalers shopping area is a short walk along the water. The first night we got there just as an amazing group of Hawaiian dancers was about to put on a show. It was a luau without the calories.
Back to the hotel. We didn't do any of the free classes but did hang out by the pool one evening. It was lovely. The rooms were well kept. One morning at the beach and you will see what the maids have to contend with with all the sand you drag in.
We rented a car which got us to nearby Lahaina and and also Paia.
All and all you can't beat the location. The staff was friendly and helpful. I am glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaro, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I ended my trip to Hawaii at the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel in Maui. I arrived around 10.30 am and check in was at 3.30 pm, so my room wasn't ready yet. The Front Desk staff was very friendly and offered me a courtesy room to change into more comfortable clothes. The hotel is located on a beautiful beach and close to the Whaler Village. About 10 minutes away by car you can find all kinds of places to eat, from Taco Bells to McDonalds. The place to be for shopping is Front Street. A nice street along the ocean, with lots of different types of shops and restaurants. The room was nice. I got an upgrade from a Garden View to an Partial Ocean View. To the left were the mountains, to the right, the ocean. Nice views. I definitely will stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, NC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My family loved the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel. The grounds are beautiful and there are so many things to do. My daughters took three different lei making classes and enjoyed them so much. Plus they made their own souveneirs to bring home. The hula class was lots of fun, even for the men in the group. If you stay here, you have to sign up for all of the free Hawaiian cultural classes. They really are fun and only last about 30 minutes each so they don't take too much away from your pool/beach time. The pool is super nice - so nice in fact that there were lots of people from other resorts coming down to use the pool at the Ka'anapali. That was a little annoying when the pool was crowded, but I guess there is no real way to police that. Overall, I would definately recommend as a great place to stay on Maui's west side.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ka'anapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'anapali Beach Hotel

Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ka'anapali Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...at Maui's most Hawaiian hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Kaanapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you’ll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality – truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Ka'anapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka'Anapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ka'anapali Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.