We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ka'anapali Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ka'anapali Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ka'anapali Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Clean rooms, nice pool, food and laundry on site. Everything you need is available on foot or by bus. But rent a car -- Maui is spectacularly beautiful and the roads eminently driveable. Reasonablynpriced but beware the exra costs for WiFi, hotel safe and parking. Free WiFi available intermittently at Whaler's.

Room Tip: Only certain rooms allow smoking on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    779
    256
    126
    77
See reviews for
583
1,186
46
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

The place is outdated as it is, an then you're charging over $10 a day for wifi? That is only avail by the pool and bar? The food, eh (paid $7.95 for a small Ceasar one night and got romaine, bottled Parmesan, a couple croutons and a package of Ceasar dressing). The parking, expensive ($10 a day and a bit of a walk depending on room location). I've stayed at the Westin and its far nicer, updated, and for the money, u get a lot more.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and loved it both times. We requested the same room and it was the most amazing vacation ever! We loved the tiki bar and grill. Our room was nice and the grounds were extremely well cared for. The housekeepers treated us very well. The consierge and other employees were all wonderful!!!!! Our view was AMAZING!!!! We will go here and request the same room on the ground level ocean view again. We Love It!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Location, Location, location. This hotel is rundown, but it is a good value in a GREAT location!! \ It is clean, and service is good. The lobby has an "old Hawaiian" feel and I liked the lobby... The pool was very outdated, but the grounds were clean and groomed. The hallways to the rooms were in rough condition, but the rooms themselves were clean and decent. I definitely think the end rooms that are ocean front are the ONLY way to go, and with the affordablitiy of this hotel you can easily afford the rooms with the best view. Sitting on the balcony right upclose to the water was beyond perfect! We have stayed in Ka'anapali twice now, once at the Westin next to Whaler's Village and once at Ka'anapali Beach hotel and Honestly the Westin is a much better property all around, but you also pay for it. Here's what it comes down to.....Where you will spend your time...If you only plan on sleeping in hotel but want to wake up with a great view and be able to walk out your room and be right on the beach. Ka'anapali is the place to be for the money! My family spent very little time actually at the Westin the first time, therefore for us, we wanted the same location, but wanted to spend our money on other things rather than the hotel. Both trips we spent little to no time on the property. We rented a car, drove around the island, and explored everything Maui had to offer. Hidden trails, water falls, beaches, and many other adventures. When we were at the property, we were on the beach... Thus the reason we like Ka'anapali beach hotel and would stay there again. We never ate on property so, I can not tell you about the dining experience, but the hotel is within walking distance to Whaler's Village and many places to dine. So my opinion, if you are the type person to spend your whole vacation at the pool, spa, and on the resort, this might not be the place for you, but if you are the type to want to be in a great location but plan on exploring and venturing out beyond the resort, it is perfect!!!

Room Tip: beachfront/ ocean front rooms are the only way to go! Beautiful view to wake up to each morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was apprehensive after reading the mixed reviews, but very pleasantly surprised when I arrived. Yes, the furnishings are outdated -- lots of wicker and "old Hawaii" decor -- definitely not the place for hipsters. But you can't beat the location -- right on the beach, between a decent shopping mall (Whalers Village) and a great snorkeling spot (Black Rock).

The staff members were all very nice and everyone was quick to greet us with a smile and an "aloha!" The pool was practically deserted one sunny afternoon, whereas the one at the Sheraton next door was crammed with people (the chairs around the pool were literally inches apart -- ugh). The bar closes at 10, and the average age of the guests appeared to be about 70, so don't stay here if you're looking to party.

There were a few maintenance issues -- the wind caused the sliding glass door to rattle pretty badly, and people using hot water in other rooms (my guess) caused major squealing in the pipes. Hopefully these things will be fixed soon. The small stall shower also could use an update, but everything in the room was clean and refreshed daily.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have stayed at many different properties in Maui over the past 10 years, including the Ritz Carlton @ Kapalua (and which cost a small fortune to a tune of $500/night) and the Sheraton. We continue to return to the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel year after year and due to the value that it lends, and the savings on our pocket book. Yes, the hotel is dated; I will grant you that. However, the rooms are ALWAYS very clean, the beds are comfortable, the bedding is nice, and you are right there on the beach. the staff is very welcoming & accomodating on each and every visit. We'd rather spend our money on dining out, drinks, and activities vs. our hotel room that we basically lay our head on each night. We love the tiki bar on property, and look forward to seeing Dale; the bartender there of 30+ years. He always remembers us, and is most hospitable. We don't tend to eat on property, as we have our other favorites all within walking distance. The grounds are spacious, and the pool just fine! Guests aren't fighting for a chair, and there's lot's of room to spread out on and have your privacy. Who comes to Maui to just lay by the pool anyway; and when there is the fabulous beach and snorkeling just steps away from the property?!?!?!? We highly recommend KBH, and when looking for a cost-effective option on Maui.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Considering all the competition on Maui, one would think that management would be investing heavily in this property to upgrade its condition. While the "bones" of the hotel itself are good, it feels like something out of the 70's and worn-out at that! This hotel sits on prime Maui beachfront property and with a little TLC and some money, it could give some of the higher-end hotels a run for their money. If you're looking for an acceptable place to stay with more reasonable rates than some others & need a kitchen facility, then this will meet your needs. If you're expecting something a little out of the ordinary on this beautiful island, find somewhere else to stay--you'll spend more $$--but it'll be worth it.

Room Tip: When making your initial reservation, be sure to ask for a room with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ka'anapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'anapali Beach Hotel

Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ka'anapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...at Maui's most Hawaiian hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Kaanapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you’ll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality – truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ka'anapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka'Anapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ka'anapali Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.