We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ka'anapali Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ka'anapali Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ka'anapali Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing experiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

For the true Maui in Hawaii, I reccomend this place. We were reccomended this place and it lived up to and exceeded that reccomendation. Friendly helpful staff, relaxing and enjoyable, it was the perfect hawaiian retreat.


Do your self a favour and Stay here!

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room for the full experiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,260
    807
    271
    130
    78
See reviews for
592
1,251
46
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just arrived from the stay at the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel and want to post WARNING for all people and travel agents who are thinking about this hotel.

If you are non-smoker you are still get exposed to second-hand intoxication. We stayed on the 3rd floor and guests on the 1st, 2nd, 6th floor are were smoking.

The hotel management at first was trying to tell us to watch for the smokers and report to the front desk but then Evelyn Chang (Director of Rooms) told us that our travel agent from Pleasant Holiday didn't book the room correctly.

When we came home today and reviewed all paperwork where it states that we had reservation for non-smoking Molokai building. So, now we understood that hotel didn't give us non-smoking facility and just try to buy themself time to kick us out from the hotel instead of moving us to the Molokai building. We are seeing a full compensation from the hotel. We will keep you posted.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel if you are non-smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last week. The staff members were very rude. Not only did they charge my credit card twice but they over charged me (the second time). My elderly mother was eating lunch at the grill close to the pool when she had her purse stolen. The staff member said a "guest" had "turned it in" to her. The purse was given to the hotel desk manager 2 HOURS LATER (they had over heard us saying we were going to call the police and watched me frantically run around the hotel). One older man that worked for the hotel was very nice, other then him everyone else was rude and unhelpful. None of the staff members seemed to care about our situation or even apologize. Also, DO NOT leave your bags unattended at the front of the hotel. The hotel claims they will watch your bags and they are on camera if you arrive early. THEY DO NOT WATCH YOUR BAGS and things get stolen. The room itself was small and we had a very difficult time opening the door to the outside hallway. My mom having arthritis could not open the door herself. The room was clean and had a nice view of the ocean and pool area. If you have a later flight time, the hotel provides a 1/2 hour for a hospitality room but book it way in advance because they only have one room with designated times. Maui is a beautiful island with many hotels. I suggest staying in the same area as this hotel or in the close by town of Lahania.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife, 5 yr old son and I loved it. One staff member was 'Auntie' to our son, and all the staff made us feel welcome. We had a nice view of the water from our 'garden view' room. Room was good. We loved the Hawaiian culture classes and the 3 minute walk to fabulous snorkeling at Black Rock. We were cheap and ate breakfast and lunch from the groceries we bought, and dinner at the Aloha Mixed Plate 15 min down the road. It was very quiet and beautiful at night. And the nightly live music was fun to listen to.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We enjoy the laid back atmosphere, the warm staff and the comfortable rooms. This has been true for all our visits and for these reasons will return.

Five more positives:

1. Beach walk... little over one mile of wonderful beach within 20 feel of hotel front.
2. Snorkeling at Black Rock...four minute walk.
3. Big grass area to lay back around the pool
4. Ten plus restuarants within ten minutes walking time.
5. Golf course... ten minute walk

One area needing improvement:

1. Wireless internet - none in rooms and the wireless internet at the pool doesn't work.

I have no problem recommending this property.

Room Tip: They all are good. You get what you pay for... More money better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We keep coming back to KBH because of the location. Very close walk to Whalers Village and the stretch of beach is fantastic. This trip we were in the Molokai building (again). Apparently some of the rooms have been renovated (they were working on a few ocean front rooms on the ground floor during our stay), but ours definitely has not been touched. We were supposed to have pool view, but more like a view of some trees and the pool bathrooms. My husband asked if we should ask for another room when we got there, but we were both tired and didn't want the hassle. We don't spend much time in the room anyway. The bed was very comfortable and the room was always cleaned very well each day. We love the Tiki Bar and Chantel and Dale are fantastic bartenders. They make you feel at home. The drinks are cold and reasonably priced compared to other nearby places. We also always meet lots of other down-to-earth people, which is very enjoyable. The hotel is a deal compared to others nearby and the employees are very helpful and nice. They allowed us to use a hospitality room for 30 minutes on our last day, so we were able to spend time at the beach and then shower up quick to be ready for dinner and then our flight home. We will likely be back--hopefully next time in a renovated room.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent nine nights at the KBH this January. I had read on tripadvisor that some rooms had been remodeled. We requested a pool view remodeled room. When we reserved, the gal said she couldn't guarantee it would be a remodeled room but they'd try. We did get the remodeled room and our room wasn't just pool view, we had a partial ocean view, which we certainly didn't expect (they consider our room to be pool view but we could see a portion of the beach and the ocean). We slept a few nights with the slider to the patio open and could hear the waves, it was lovely.

The room was tastefully redone, the beds were very comfortable. Very pleased. The staff were very warm, friendly and helpful. The grounds are gorgeous. The beach is pristine. The location is perfect. It is a short walk to Whalers Village with shops and a couple nice restaurants as close to the beach as they can get. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely request a remodeled room. We were in the Kauai wing on the fourth floor. Next time I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ka'anapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'anapali Beach Hotel

Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ka'anapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...at Maui's most Hawaiian hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Kaanapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you’ll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality – truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ka'anapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka'Anapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ka'anapali Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.