We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great after three years!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ka'anapali Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ka'anapali Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Ka'anapali Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Ft. Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Still great after three years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was my second time to Maui and the Ka'anapali Beach Hotel!!There were four women in our party, and we had the best time!

Room was big enough to accomodate all of us and our numerous amounts of luggage we had between us. We were on an upper floor, with a partial ocean view from our balcony (we didn't have this with our package, so it was a nice surprise).Wish we could of had the ground floor still think it is by far the way to go.

Free classes were nice still and we were glad they still offered them.

The staff was very nice, and we saw some of the same faces as we had before on the last trip over.Our maid who cleaned our room was so sweet and always asked how we were doing and if we had any fun plans for the day.

If you want to rent a cabana for the the day it's only $32 dollars. It was a great bargain for your beach day, and I believe his name was Cliff was awesome getting it all set up for us on the beach.

I think one of the best parts of this hotel is the grounds, they are so beautiful and peaceful at all times of the day/night. You can sit on the lawns and hear the beach or you can just walk straight out to the sand and find your spot for the day.

Tiki bar/grill is a nice little hang out if you don't want to walk down to the Whalers. You can split anything from the grill as the portions are huge, and I think it was priced accordingly to where you would go anywhere else.

Rooms come with a fridge and coffee pot. Can store milk,waters,sodas, cold cuts, etc. in the fridge. The best coffee comes from the little store on site.

The nightly hula show is a great way to unwind before, after, or while your eating dinner.

Stayed for a week and loved every moment of this stay as I did the first time I went. They stay true to their culture here, and it truly is an Hawaiian experience. Wouldn't go to any other hotel on this island, always felt comfortable and safe.

Room Tip: If you can get a ground floor its just easier access to everything, but a nice ocean view wouldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,258
    807
    271
    130
    78
See reviews for
592
1,250
46
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had stayed at KBH 30 years ago on our honeymoon. We had to return to Maui on business so we thought we should do the romantic thing and return to our honeymoon hotel. I was a bit worried that it might be old and run down. It certainly has aged but the nice thing is it has been maintained.

KBH is truly the most Hawaiian Hotel on the Island. The first weekend we were there they had a local Hula competition so the hotel was full of local people. It was really cool to see Hula Dancing that wasn't of the commercial hotel variety.

The best feature of KBH is the beach. this hotel is on the best hotel beach in Hawaii. There are nicer beaches on the Island but for a beach in front of the hotel you cant beat Kaanapali.

Don't miss the Tiki Bar. They have the best bar staff anywhere but be ware of the Mai Tai, it is the best anywhere but will knock you on you butt.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. They are dated and could use a reno but as I say spotless clean and maybe you will like the traditional Hawaiian feel of the rooms.

I will return to the charm and friendliness of KBH, I left feeling so relaxed...or maybe that was the Mai Tai's Dale and Tom

Final note, not an add but the truth. I used VIP Transfers to and from the airport. Half the price of a Taxi and great quality transport. I dont have the number but if you google it you will find them.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for Ocean Front but insist on floor 4,5 or 6. The view is stunning. We had floor 6 one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

At the last minute my husband and I wanted to take a trip to Maui to celebrate our 1-year wedding anniversary. We selected the hotel based on reviews for the value and location. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at KBH! First, they upgraded our room to a suite and like many others reviewers celebrating special events they gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne. Do NOT miss out on the morning breakfast vouchers. You have to go within 2 mornings of checking into the hotel. It is awesome! They have a hot breakfast buffet as well as fresh fruit and pastries. This a smaller version of their breakfast buffet at the restaurant. The nice thing about the complimentary breakfast is they first great you with a Hawaiian summoning, you enter the breakfast room where staff are singing, then staff perform a hula dance, and finally the emcee describes several activities available both at the hotel and off the property. It is NOT a timeshare presentation. They seem to genuinely want to share anything and everything there is to do in Hawaii.

You get a discount on the beach cabana & umbrella rentals at the public beach just for staying at the KBH. You can walk to Whalers village for shopping and food. If you do not want to pay the $20 for the buffet breakfast, Subway and the deli-type shop next to it are open for breakfast where you can easily get breakfast for less than $10pp. Also at Whalers Village you can catch a shuttle bus to take you around the island. The cost is $2 per boarding so it is best to get a day pass for $4 pp. Just make sure to have the exact amount as they will not give you change. We took the bus to Lahaina a few times and it pretty much stays on schedule. When you leave the hotel be sure to get your complimentary nut lei. We didn't make the ceremony but the departing gift is a great souvenir!

My only complaint about the hotel is that it is dated. The bed is very hard on your back and the tv is the old school type of tv. The shower stall is small with some mold in the grout but the bathroom itself is pretty big. But, all in all I very much enjoyed my stay in Maui at the KBH!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel claims to be "The most Hawaiian Hotel" and they aren't exaggerating! I read many reviews about this hotel before we decided on it for our honeymoon, and I admit I was a little reluctant about picking this hotel. I had the idea of my honeymoon to be lavish and with all the best ammeties that a hotel could offer. KBH doesn't have jacuzzi bath tubs or extravagent suites but they make up for it with how beautiful the hotel is. The room was nice and spacious, bathroom a little small, comfortable bed and cleaned perfectly everyday!! The lanai was beautiful and comfortable. We were so busy with planning as many adventures as we could (thanks to the helpful staff on site that will set up everything for you) that we were rarely in our room to notice we didn't have all the luxurious ammeneties!! I don't regret choosing KBH for one second and cannot wait to go back!! The staff is so polite and helpful and beyond accomodating!! We were welcomed with champagne for our honeymoon!! The grounds on the hotel are so gorgeous and you won't find a more beautiful hotel anywhere on the island!! The breakfast buffet was amazing, make sure you include this is your package!! The Tiki Bar was great (the Mai Tai's are AMAZING) and the grill makes eating a little more affordable and convenient!! Every night they have live entertainment that you can go and watch or listen to from your Lanai. You have to stay here!! Great for couples and families, young or old!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, California, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stay here on recommendation of our daughter, and we weren't disappointed. Our room was lovely, quiet, and spacious. The hotel grounds were beautiful. The staff was very friendly. We went for our 40th Wedding Anniversary (which was actually Oct. 2011), and when we arrived there was a complimentary bottle of champagne. Our package trip came with a free breakfast buffet every morning and it was awesome! The restaurant and grill had excellent food. Every night there was a show of some kind in the open air restaurant. There is a lot of free activities offered, for example, lei making, ukulele lessons, and hula dancing lessons. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We had an upgrade to an ocean front room and breakfast is included! It was not a continental breakfast, it was wonderful. The nightly Hawiian shows were wonderful. All the people that worked there are GREAT! We loved that we would go back to our room and find a plate of fruit and cheese or something else. It truly is an Hawiian Hotel. We were told by some of the employees how much they like working there because it is like a family. A great place for families too. We would go back in a heartbeat. Our friends recommended the place and they were right!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We loved the KHB and would stay there again in a heart beat. Large very clean rooms with large bathroom. Great ocean view. Loved the location, a few minute walk to Whalers village where there are lots of shops, cafes, clothing stores, an ABC store. Thel beach is wonderful, right by Black rock....great snorkeling. A short drive to Lahainia, loved Lahainia...shops/food/drinks/clothes/art galleries...you must go there!!!! We had a great stay here, staff was helpful and friendly, they give you a free welcome breakfast....it is not a timeshare talk, it tells you about tours etc. We went to the magic show at the hotel it included supper and drinks...it was very well worth it, we really enjoyed it. they also offer a free hula show every night from 6 to 9 pm I think, the shows are not the same every night. It is reasonable prices for the quality fo the beach and the location is great. the tv was older, there was a small fridge in the room. The downfall is no free wifi and no free house computer, no free local calls, we didn't have a safe in our room....these weren't big problems for us, but did here people complain about it. It cost us $9.00 a day to park there, it was covered parking...lots of hotels charge for parking, so that was ok. Overall loved the hotel and location, we had an excellent stay here!!!

Room Tip: Go to the ABC store at Whalers Village(only a few minute walk) and pickup breakfast items/pop/wine/b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ka'anapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'anapali Beach Hotel

Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ka'anapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...at Maui's most Hawaiian hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Kaanapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you’ll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality – truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ka'anapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka'Anapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ka'anapali Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.