We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the Hyatt!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chino Hills, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Can't beat the Hyatt!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Hyatt with our two children age 9 and 12 for 6 wonderful nights from the 17-23 of August. This is our third stay at the Hyatt in the last few years, and as always we can't wait to go back!

We had booked a partial ocean view and upgraded to a deluxe ocean view. Danny at the front desk hooked us up one floor from the top on the very end of the building with a fridge and a roll away in about 5 minutes. Needless to say the view was AWESOME!! We had coffee on the lanai every morning, and watched the sun set over the pacific every evening! The bed was so comfortable, and the roll away had my kids fighting over who got to sleep in it next!!

Our rooms came with free breakfast, and a kids eat free plan which was just great. The pool is wonderful, and even though the hotel was nearly full, it never felt crowded or chaotic! The kids looked forward to their daily smoothie at the Pavilions bar. The staff NEVER talked down to the kids or acted like they weren't worthy of the same service that the adults were. Really made them feel special, and cemented them as future Hyatt clients!

Everyone at this property was super friendly, and so helpful. My son wanted to know "Why can't everyone in California be as nice as the people who work at the Hyatt?"

I will concede that the beach in front of the Hyatt isn't great, good snorkeling if you don't mind a bit of a swim, but with a mile of Kaanapali beach stretching out to the north, it's not hard to find a great place to swim or play on the sand!!

We left the Hyatt and went to the Grand Wailea for two nights, and if we hadn't already paid for the rooms, we'd have left the Grand and returned to the Hyatt immediately. It seemed snobby and customer service was moderate at best.

The grounds are gorgeous, pools amazing, food incredible, and location perfect. If you're looking for a hotel that feels luxurious with genuine people and great customer service instead of pretentious glitz, you can't do any better than the Hyatt!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to the Hyatt
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,764
    1,081
    466
    219
    112
See reviews for
884
1,760
47
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (878)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Granite Bay, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2006

We just returned from a week at the Hyatt in Kaanapali. We were told by others that it was a family friendly resort and the pools were supposed to be amazing.

We were somewhat dissappointed with our original room in the Napili Tower which overlooked a construction site. We requested 2 beds and had only one. We upgraded to the Club level and a full oceanfront view. The room was on the small side and was older and came with cottage cheese ceilings. The closets were small and everyday the water pressure in the shower would get so low that the water would actually shut off for 10 seconds.

The concierge in the club level was not too helpful in making reservations off site. Poolside service was below average and it took a long time to get someone's attention to order.

There was a serious problem getting chairs at the pool. People would come down to the pool and "reserve" them with a towel, then leave for several hours to get breakfast. It is not fair to those who are at the pool and want a seat. The chairs were old with plastic backing and the towels were old and crunchy.

Room service for a bowl of ice cream for my young daughters was estimated at 1 hour. when we finished the ice cream, the tray was placed outside our room. Later the next afternoon, the tray was still outside our room with crusty old ice cream, plates and a cup of chocolate sauce - totally unacceptable.

We've been fortunate enough to travel to 5 star resorts, including the One and Only Palmilla. For the amount of money we spent for a family of 4, we would have been better off at the One and Only Palmilla where exceptional service is the norm.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2006

We stayed at the Hyatt for 4 nights with our 2 year old daughter. We used our Hyatt Passport points and booked a mountain view room on the club level. We were upgraded to an ocean view and our room was fantastic! The rooms are beautifully and tastefully decorated with a contemporary Asian design. The beds are heavenly, we slept like babies. Kids pool is a haven for little ones- my daughter couldn't get enough of the "baby beach" area of the swimming pool. She was entertained there for hours! Beach is not great at the Hyatt but the pool area more than compensates for it. My husband and I took a sunset cruise on the Hyatt's sailboat. The boat was much nicer than expected, cocktails flowed and the boat crew was very friendly. It was a very enjoyable way to spend an evening. Our daughter was too exhausted for the boat trip so we booked a babysitter through Nanny Connection- I highly recommend using this service. Hyatt concierge gave us their info. We enjoyed the short stroll along the beach to Whaler's village for shopping and dining. Hula Grill and Leilani's are great spots with incredible views, live music and fresh seafood. Our daughter also enjoyed the hula show that takes place in the courtyard of Whaler's Village two nights/week.
Overall, the Hyatt was a perfect choice for our family vacation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2006

We enjoyed 8 nights at the Hyatt Regency in Maui. This was our first family trip to Hawaii and we all agree we should go back next summer. We stayed on the regency club level with a lounge offering continental breakfast every morning. There were the usual items (toast, bagels, cold cereal, juice, milk) but also a large variety of fresh fruit, pastries, yogurt, various coffees, including cappuccino, and fresh oatmeal, not packets. There was also a concierge in the lounge to arrange an activity when needed or simply offer suggestions. In the early evening, the lounge opened to serve complimentary cocktails and a variety of delicious hors d'oeurves. Needless to say, after that we didn't always need a full dinner. Our room was spacious and we had a balcony from which we enjoyed the view. The beds were comfortable, with plenty of pillows. We all slept comfortably with the sound of the waves in the background.

The size of the pool was impressive. The Hyatt has over 800 rooms which were sold out during our stay but the pool never felt or looked overcrowded. They never ran out of fresh towels poolside like other places we've stayed. Our older kids enjoyed the waterslide and the deeper parts of the pool (9 feet). There was a separate pool for younger children complete with a sandy beach, small waterslide and water spouts. Our 1 year old was intrigued by the water spouts coming out of the ground.

The staff was very courteous, friendly and accommodating. Service was excellent. Poolside servers were attentive and food orders were filled quickly which is important when children are involved. There were plenty of food options and the kids menu was great. Food was always delicious. Room service orders were accurate, delivered in a timely fashion and always the proper temperatures, an item which I'm very particular about. For anyone who plans on dining in one of the hotel restaurants, I strongly recommend reservations. On one occasion, the wait was so long it was quicker to return to our room and order room service. There was plenty of shopping just a brief walk away in the Whalers Village. There is even a Macy's onsite.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to feel pampered in a relaxing, resort environment. For those with kids, this is definitely a family friendly environment. We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2006

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency for just two nights, Aug. 5th and 6th, as we were spending the rest of our stay in a much larger condo. However, I wanted my kids to have the large resort hotel experience with the nice pools and waterslide, so we decided to spend two nights here before checking into our condo.

We had booked a Regency Club Partial Ocean view, and upon arrival were upgraded to a full ocean view. Very pleasant front desk and bell staff. Our bellman was very informative. Our room was one floor below the Regency Club level, but both floors require a room key to operate the elevator to those floors. (A little bit of a hassle if you forget your key like my kids did and were planning to just knock on the door.)

Our room was #2127 and it was gorgeous - a corner room with two balconies, one with a full view of the mountains and the other a direct (but southernly view) of the ocean. We could see the ocean without having to step out on our lanai. The room decor is very attractive, and furnished like you would see on the hotel website, with a king bed and a sofa which opens up into a sofabed. A little tight for four people but we were expecting this. The king bed was very comfortable, and the rest of the furnishings very attractive. We had a cot and a mini fridge sent up, and they arrived very quickly. The cot was huge and took up a lot of room.

The bathroom was very attractive, however the tub and toilet are in the same room together and it is a little tight in there. However the sink and make up area are very spacious and have a marble top. A hair dryer is provided. Two bathrobes were provided as well. There is a mirrored closet door which made it easier for me to put my makeup on than doing it at the sink. The shampoo, conditioner, soaps, and lotions are all from the spa, and are to die for - really good quality products that smell incredible.

The room also has an optional HP Printer that you can use to print your digital camera photos - the paper and ink cartridge are provided for a cost of $29.00. You just insert the camera card in it. We did not use it but thought it was a nice option if you want to print your photos. The TV has internet service and a keyboard which we did not use either.

The Regency Club is well worth the extra money in my opinion - all four of us got free breakfast both days, and the evening snacks and cocktails were well worth it. They had huge sandwiches and plenty of food to make dinner out of it for at least one night. Plus you can go up there all day and get drinks and sodas. the Regency room is very pleasant with it's own concierge, who booked some tours for us while we were there having breakfast. We found the tours a little cheaper going through the concierge, than in the regular tour brochures. There is a little booklet the Hyatt Regency puts out with their own tour list, and it does pay to go through them. We booked a catamaran sunset cruise on the hotel sailboat, and saved $10 a person going through the concierge. Anyway, we felt the Regency club was well worth the extra cost, as meals are very expensive in Hawaii, and we got breakfast for four two days in a row, free sodas and drinks all day long, and even made dinner out of it one night. I feel it was a real convenience and saved us quite a bit of money.

We were very impressed with the Hyatt's pool area, and my children, 12 and 14, just loved the waterslide. We also swam in the ocean several times, and the fact that the hotel does not have much beach is not a big deal, there are so few people on it anyway. The water was warm and clear, but the bottom quickly gives way to rock and coral, so I would advise bringing a pair of cheap water shoes (we bought some at KMart when we came in from the airport.)

The pool area is just beautiful, and we never had a problem getting a chair, as they seemed to be plentiful. My husband and I got the couples massage under the cabana by the ocean, and it was very relaxing and a wonderful experience. If you get a massage, you also get free use of the spa for the day, so my husband took advantage of that. My 12 year old son decided to get his hair cut there, and we got a wonderful "surfers" haircut from Ingrid at the spa.

The stores located adjacent to the Hyatt kept my 14 year old busy in the evening, and seemed to offer a nice array of shops. She particularly liked the Macy's bathing suit store. The kids also enjoyed the penguins in the lobby, as well as the parrot and koi fish ponds. They were just so bowled over by all the wildlife on the property.

My husband and daughter ate at Spatts one night, and really enjoyed their meal there.

We had a wonderful time at the Hyatt, and found it to be a fabulous property, fulfilling every dream and expectation we had. It is truly luxurious, and a place that will leave you with great memories of Hawaii.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2006

We recently arrived at the Marriott Ocean Club only to find that we had arrived a day early. It being at 100% capacity, we took the opportunity to stay next door and are we glad we did! The Hyatt Regency property on Kaanapali Beach may be one of the oldest properties, but it still exudes Hawaiian charm and makes you feel like you have really gotten away. The lobby area architecture is noteworthy and the location on the beach amazing. Admittedly, it can be a bit crowded, but they manage very well for its popularity. Staff needs a little work... perhaps the hotel is successful regardless of their attitude(s), regardless, not nearly as warm or as interested as other Hawaii properties we have stay at. My wife did like the Spa, right on the beach.

We would try this hotel again... the place is what we liked most about it. If the staff are still poor the next time around, it will be off our last visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

We just returned from the Hyatt Maui. After 4 days first in Oahu, the Hyatt was a fabulous retreat and exactly what we expected from Hawaii. The grounds are gorgeous--we drove all over Maui checking out other hotels, and by far, the Hyatt is the most lush and beautiful. We had a deluxe oceanview room with fabulous views of ocean, Lanai, and the pool area. Rooms were very comfortable. Although the hotel was full, it never felt crowded (unlike our stay in Waikiki). The pool is great--again, never felt crowded. We also never had a problem getting a chair, even in the middle of the day, though it was obvious that some people planted their towels early in the day and came much later. (Note to those folks--don't do it--not necessary and rude!!) Good service at the pool area--great pina coladas!

Swan Court breakfast was very nice. We also had several dinners at Cascades--great sushi and unbelievable atmosphere--outdoors with great views of sunset.

We also went to the Old Lahaina Luau and highly recommend it. Also ate at Cheeseburger in Paradise--great burgers, and the Hula Grill near Whalers Village--also great. Overall, fabulous property--can't wait to return.

  • Liked — gorgeous grounds and views
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy exquisite dining, extensive recreation facilities, international shopping, a collection of asian & pacific art, unique wild life & nightly entertainment and Hawaii's only oceanfront spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.