We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Rooms are clean and functional. If you can get one overlooking the water, all the much better. Facilities are also quite good. Plenty of good areas to sit and enjoy the pools, and staff was very nice and helpful.

Try star gazing tour -- the astronomer they have is fantastic. The Luau is good. The beach area is OK, but you will have best snorkeling up in Kapalua instead. Plus, you will have to pay for an umbrella on the beach. But the location is great and dining at the restaurants is superlative.

Room Tip: Get one towards the Kaanapali walkway/beach overlooking ocean if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,716
    1,054
    457
    215
    109
See reviews for
851
1,721
46
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (858)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is obviously one of the premier resorts on Kaanapali Beach. Its a beautiful place, but our comparisons go back to the Hyatt of 2005, when we stayed almost yearly. Our room was on the Regency floor, and the personnel there are friendly and very knowledgeable of the local area. The food was good, but limited in options. The shared areas and elevators are showing some wear, with many scratches and dents in the woodwork. In fact, one of the three elevators was out of service for our entire visit. The pool area is still great, but about of a third of the pool-side chairs are now cabanas, which are for rent and usually empty. The lobby is also taken over by the sales force from the Hyatt timeshare, and "information" will be provided almost non-stop. Even with this, the hotel is still a great resort, and offers a first class Hawaiian experience.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis, maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My family and I just returned from a week of glorious sunshine in Maui! The Hyatt is simply gorgeous. The staff is helpful and friendly and the grounds are immaculate and very well Groomed.

Everything is extremely over priced,but that's everywhere on the island. The food is good though so at least you feel like you aren't getting cheated. One tip would be to skip the over priced (25.95) breakfast and either eat at Accents, a little sundry store in the hotel or if you eat at the buffet, go a little later and skip lunch. (A bagel with cream cheese was .99 cents at the sundry store but $5.00 at the cafe! ) the buffet was your average breakfast buffet- eggs, potatoes, fruit, oatmeal, cereals, a few meats and rice. There were a few other things thrown in here and there, but nothing that would be worth $26!

The only other piece of advice I would give is to check your bill on the last day! They had charged us $25 A DAY for a rollaway bed that we didn't have, nor Requested! They also charged us for the buffet one day as well as breakfast at the cafe. I questioned a few of the drink charges as well, but decided to let it go as my bill had already been reduced by over $200.

Book excursions on your own for about half the price- horseback riding and surf lessons were a lot of fun!

So, enjoy the penguins, swans, flamingos and landscaping, look elsewhere for better breakfast deals and most of all, enjoy every second of your trip as it goes by so fast!

Room Tip: Request ocean front as the view is gorgeous! We saw several whales from our balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our first trip to Maui was for our Honeymoon. We picked this resort because it had good reviews and our travel agent recommended it. We had an Ocean Front room with two sliding glass doors that faced the ocean. Awesome view and we loved listening to the ocean at night. The staff was friendly and helpful. We used the concierge service to plan activities and they did a great job. The restaurants were very good and the breakfast buffet is recommended. The room was clean and spacious. It would also be a great resort for kids. We will definitely bring the whole family back.

Room Tip: Ocean Front rooms are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I stayed 6 nights and 7 days at the Hyatt where my conference was. It is in Lahaina which is a fun area and resort grounds are beautiful. We had an ocean front view from the tower on the south side which offered a great view from the 6th floor. The room was nice but I wished for more drawers to put our clothes in and for a more modern and larger bathroom. The sink has a big counter but the toilet and tub were cramped in that room and just ok for the price. Housekeeping was great and the view of course. We played in the ocean a bit but not the pool although it looked nice. We snorkeled there and actually got right up to about 4 separate huge sea turtles right off the beach. There are a lot of rocks and SEA URCHINS! We did admire the flamingoes, swans, penguins and other critters on the property. We had lunch at the pool side restaurant and it was quite expensive and only ok. Overall, I would definitely go back there again for another conference.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The wife and I just returned from a week stay at the Hyatt in Maui. The property is terrific and the staff are fantastic! The room was much larger than we expected and having a mini refrigerator was a great bonus. The grounds were beautiful and the birds and penguins were very cool.
The resort did have timeshare sales people around, however they were completely "hands off" and did NOT bother us at all.
Be sure to eat at Japango at least once.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

One of the best places ever, you dont feel that you are away from nature, open air resort with amazing landscape. rooms are big enough for couples or family vacation. clean and quite, with wide range of activities. near by Lahaina and 5 min walking from whaler village so you can get easy access to plenty of activities. you have different selection of restaurants that can accommodate different interests.

Room Tip: get room facing Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy exquisite dining, extensive recreation facilities, international shopping, a collection of asian & pacific art, unique wild life & nightly entertainment and Hawaii's only oceanfront spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.