We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sammamish, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very nice staff and room. We were able to switch rooms when noisy neighbors moved in next door. Room 608 way better than room 1932.

Nice breakfast with gluten free toast, waffles, and pancakes. Just ask even if you have the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to the island. I am glad you enjoyed your room, the service by the staff as well the dining options. I hope you get to stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Belinda M - Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,665
    1,015
    447
    212
    108
See reviews for
830
1,668
45
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have been coming to Maui for many years and typically stay at the Hyatt. It has gone through a number of changes over the years and just keeps getting better. Property is beautiful and the staff are always friendly and helpful. The resort is clean and well maintained. We love the Ka'anapali area and the Hyatt always feels like home for us.

A few good notes...
Pool deck is awesome and well maintained - great kids/family area in a separate pool. GET A CABANA along the Ocean view.
Loved Japengo sushi and U'malu pool bar
Beautiful entrance and grounds
Regency Club - great food and friendly staff (Keith, Sandy helped us with dinner and plans, frequently)
Great access to the pools, beach and activities.
Gym is great and right beside the beach, easy access.
Beach walk is fantastic link to Whaler's Village and beyond

A few suggestions...
The pool is often quite cold
Beach chair rental system was bad (they came to collect the lounge chairs at 3pm!)
Regency Club - NO DRINKS IN or OUT OF THE ROOM??? One staff member didn't seem to belong there after we received and also overheard several derogatory comments to other guests.
Spa changed owners (to Marylin Monroe) and did not seem to be quite ready for business.
Hotel is very noisy because of doors slamming (mostly) and, in some cases the rooms need to be updated
"Pipelined" music in Regency Club was annoying. Played Christmas music well into 2015!


We would stay here again in a heartbeat!
Cheers

Room Tip: There are many unique and stylish rooms to choose from so ask lots of questions and whether the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at this hotel and absolutely loved it. The lobby is beautiful, right on the Kaanapali Beach and the pools are amazing. We had a standard room with partial view that was very comfortable. The service at the Hyatt was first class, we found everyone very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Maui!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Belluniak,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am so happy to hear you had a lovely time on your honeymoon. Thank you for the polite words about the staff, I will be sure to pass the compliments along!

Sincerely,
Kaycee D. A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Absolutely love the Hyatt Regency in Maui. I have actually stayed here twice and really enjoyed my visits. Besides the great service and friendly staff, the hotel has beautiful grounds, Parakeets, penguins and gorgeous flowers. It also has some awesome restaurants on property. The best Japanese Sushi on the island and really great Buffet Breakfast as well. I would highly recommend this hotel to couples as well as families.

Room Tip: Higher floors and ocean views are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
I am so glad you were able to enjoy so much of Hyatt Regency Maui! Thank you for highlighting the appeal to both couples and families! Hope your travels bring you back soon.

Regards,
-Tori H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st charles il
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just got here last nite,can't help but be impressed.very nice ocean view room with patio.wonderful swimming pools and cabanas and resturants and nice location.good for familys and couples.very relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
First impressions are important! We know that well at Hyatt Regency Maui. So glad to hear you enjoyed your ocean view room as well as the hotel facilities. Thank you for choosing Hyatt!

Regards,
-Tori H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent our anniversary here last summer....it was absolutely outstanding property. Oceanfront with gorgeous pools and spas....a beautiful health club and evry activity you could ask for. The lobby is gorgeous with many beautiful tropical plants and the animals...birds, penguins just amazing. The pools, water slides and pool bars and caves are just phenomenal for all age groups to enjoy. The kids pools and activities are fabulous....a great place for families but also private areas for adults. A wonderful walking path on the ocean takes you to numerous hotels and restaurants for oceanfront dining. The shops are located in the hotel for anything you may need but there is also shopping within walking distance....golfing, water activities..the staff is outstanding along with the rooms....especially ocean front rooms. At his resort has it all...my 6th time to Maui as I just LOVE it and the Hyatt is the best place to stay!!!

Room Tip: Oceanfront of course is always the best but the resort is so spectacular that if you want to get a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thrilled to hear you are a returning guest! Hyatt Regency Maui does a fantastic job adding to the already outstanding beauty of Maui. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and we look forward to welcoming you back for stay #7!

Regards,
-Tori H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I came here for our honeymoon and we were treated very well the moment we walked in. We worked with Tote who was a pleasure. She took care of our parking for the whole time and when we asked if any upgrades (always ask) were available, we were moved from a regular resort view to an ocean view. The bell hop walked us around and showed us everything in the lobby of the hotel. (And there's a ton!) The rooms were extremely clean, the staff was extremely courteous and everywhere you walk in the hotel, another employee smiles and says hello. The wifi is pretty good. Fairly high speed and we never really lost the signal. Basically, I was treated the way I had expected to be treated by staying at a Hyatt.

The lobby is lined with all different types of stores from Macy's to an art gallery. There are plants being grown right in the lobby (pineapple) and the birds in the main lobby are really interesting also. I never thought I would see penguins in Hawaii! Also the koi pond is very cool as it runs across a large section of the main lobby.

There are free snuba lessons in the pool daily at 11 and I would highly recommend trying it. The pool is huge and the water slide was an unexpected yet welcomed surprise.

It also didn't hurt that we saw the hump back whales from our hotel lanai!!

The only negatives to this hotel are the resort fee (but as long as you know ahead of time it shouldn't be that disappointing) and that the refrigerator in room is very very small and there's no freezer in it.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the Lahania Tower. It's quiet and you get amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
There are so many reasons to love Hyatt Regency Maui but we do especially love our pets and staff! I am so glad you agree. I hope you are able to return and explore more of this fabulous hotel!

Regards,
-Tori H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy exquisite dining, extensive recreation facilities, international shopping, a collection of asian & pacific art, unique wild life & nightly entertainment and Hawaii's only oceanfront spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.