We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated Hotel in a beutiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exclusive Member Savings
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Dated Hotel in a beutiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The Hyatt Regency Maui is a nice resort hotel... but everything on Na'apali beach qualifies as a nice resort hotel. We found the rooms dated, with very old (likely original) bathroom fixtures. The pool was great - large with plenty of seating around it. The hotel activity center staff (we worked with Ami) booked us on some excellent tours and did a tremendous job helping us plan our time. The walk from our room (it took them three tries to get us into the correct room) was blocked for repairs for about half of our stay. Its not likely we'd select Hyatt again in Maui with so many other choices available, but we did appreciate the staff and pool facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view or a partial ocean view, which is nearly as nice. Hyatt is constructing a tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Greetings DCRickH,

Thank you for being our guest at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. I am so thrilled to hear you really enjoyed your vacation with us and we will be sure to thank our team members for the awesome customer service they provide. Ami will definitely get recognition for the her hospitality and great services to book your tours. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,767
    1,082
    467
    220
    112
See reviews for
886
1,763
47
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (879)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

the concierge was so helpful with planning our entire trip itinerary. They gave us a list of amazing restaurants that were out of this world. They also helped us book and plan snorkeling, horse back riding, a sunset cruise and much more.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for choosing to spend your recent visit to Maui at our resort. I am thrilled to hear that your recent experience was amazing. It sounds like you got some great recommendations from the concierge. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. I hope we can welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa in the future. Mahalo!

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon last week. The hotel is stunning - from the pool to the exotic birds including penguins and flamingos - to the incredible ocean views - we loved it!! We paid a little less for a room facing the construction which was a little bothersome at times due to dust and noise, but it shut down in the evenings and we are early risers so it never woke us up.

One thing that was a little frustrating was the mandatory $30/day fee for internet and other amenities. I think if the fee is mandatory, it should be included in the price so you know what you're paying ahead of time. There was also a $16/day parking fee which added up.

Overall, we had a great time - it was very romantic, the bed was super comfortable, it it was nice and close to lahaina for amazing dining and shopping. I would recommend it for couples and families.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Greetings Michelle282828,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience from Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa. Thank you for all your kind words of this location and choosing Hyatt for your vacation. I am happy to hear that the construction had minimal impact on your visit and we look forward to welcoming back soon, the construction has been completed. I have forwarded your feedback on the resort fee and parking charges to our executive management to review. I am sure they will make the necessary changes to make this a better experience for you and our future guests.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stay here often for work. Sometimes get stuck next to the elevator, which is loud. Beautiful property with good ocean views, bird shows and penguins in the atrium, prompt valet service and the food is good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Good Morning AlohaGirl86,

We appreciate your loyalty to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa. So happy to hear you always have a great time when you stay with us. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback, we look forward to seeing you soon on business or leisure!

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

They started you out right. At check in a member met you at the door and talked to you like a person. Every person at the hotel treated you like you were the most important person. The pool is the best on the beach. It is a very relaxing stay.

The only negative is they had the time shares opening next door and they had people that kept trying to get you to a sales meeting.

Overall great experience and when I look for hotels in the future I will look hyatt.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Greetings Tmrpitch,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Maui. We are so thrilled to hear you had a great vacation and we really appreciate you choosing Hyatt for your travels. We will be sure to thanks and honor our team members for the exceptional service they provide and we hope to welcome you back soon on your next trip to Maui.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Everything we wanted on this vacation we had and then some. This was the vacation my wife and I needed. The breakfast buffet every morning was awesome and all the food was excellent. The pool and the resturants was great. We'll definitely be coming back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Greetings Benjamin L,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your great vacation experience from the Hyatt Regency Maui! We are so thrilled you had a great stay and we really want to thank you for recommending this location to our future guests. We cannot wait to welcome you back on your next visit to Maui.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach, ca
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Good resort at excellent location. The staff overall are very friendly and helpful but service was a bit spotty (i.e. burned out lights never changed, some days replaced tea/coffee and other days did not, etc.) We did have an issue with our room but they gave us options to either move rooms or take a credit.
It is worth staying here if you get a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Greetings poggy2002,

Thank you for writing a review on your past vacation at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa. I am so happy you found our resort to be a great experience and location for your travels. We really appreciate you choosing Hyatt and look forward to welcoming you back to Maui. We will be thanking and recognizing our staff for the amazing customer service they provide. Thanks again for your feedback!

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy exquisite dining, extensive recreation facilities, international shopping, a collection of asian & pacific art, unique wild life & nightly entertainment and Hawaii's only oceanfront spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.