We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bumpy start but an overall nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A bumpy start but an overall nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Despite a housekeeping disaster initially, everything ended up being very Nice. Wewere pleasantly surprised by the gluten free muffins at breakfast. Pool is lovely, grounds well kept. The view is outstanding and we enjoyed spending time at the Poolside bar. Check out the Grotto bar if you want to cool off and get out of the sun. Happy hour at the bar from 4-6 with daily drink specials. Loved the Lahaina Dark and Stormy.

Green Features: Usual stuff...change the towels when you need them to, etc.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,764
    1,081
    466
    219
    112
See reviews for
884
1,760
47
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (878)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had a wonderful 4 night stay at the Hyatt. You truly feel you're visiting paradise. The large lobby area is totally open, there's fish ponds and even penguins. Our room faced the ocean and the swimming pools with a nice balcony (2chairs and a small table). The beds were very comfortable. Our son loved the pools, one has a waterfall, there's also a nice long slide and basketball hoop. The location is excellent, you can walk along the beach path to Whalers Village (many high end shops and restaurants). There's all kind of water sports on premise. Also one night we booked the luau show right at the Hyatt, so there's no need for a rental car. Overall a wonderful and memorable stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

If you want a really quiet and serene stay, this is a good option. The property grounds are well manicured and impressive. The pool was great and enjoyable for all ages. There was also a small, separate kiddie pool area that is good for toddlers and has lounge chairs in very close proximity allowing parents of toddlers to keep a very close eye while enjoying the rays! Note, there are really no daily organized activities so if that is important for your family, you may consider another option.

The rooms are ok...clean, comfortable, and a nice size but are not updated and could use a refresh. They did however change all mattresses on our floor during our visit. We requested a room change upon our arrival as we were overlooking a rooftop, which was accommodated.

We ate at Umalu a couple times and it was quite good.

The rating of 3 is due to lack of activities and because rooms could use a refresh.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

All around great stay, upgraded to ocean view on 6th floor, beautiful grounds and welcoming staff. Hats off to all at Umalu for great food and service (grilled ahi sandwich is amazing) Amazing food at Japengo, ate there three times

Room Tip: Avoid Napili tower due to construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Gunner62,

I am glad you were able to enjoy an ocean view on your past visit. I am also pleased to hear of the efforts of our staff at Umalu. Thanks for your review.

Best wishes,
Paul R. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I came here with my GF for a nice 4 day holiday. I can say nothing but amazing things about this hotel. The grounds are spectacular - tropical foliage, gorgeous pool, right on the ocean. My favorite thing about the hotel was all of the wildlife they have there. There are penguins, flamingos, parrots and all kinds of fish. The staff is really friendly and goes out of their way to help you. For example, one lady was walking by with one of the parrots in a hurry to get somewhere else, but stopped, let us both pet the bird and play with it, and was very friendly -- explanining how to talk to the parrot so it would talk back, etc. I don't have kids, but if you do they all seemed to be thrilled with the penguin feedings that the hotel does every morning. Again the staff member in charge of this is very friendly and sweet and lets the kids interact with the animals. I booked a room with no view, which worried me a little. But at the desk we just asked for a free upgrade and, because they had extra rooms, we were upgraded to a very nice room with a great view. Just had to ask for it. They also gave us a late check out which was helpful because we were going on the volcano bike ride the last day, that didn't get back until after check out. Unlike other hotels, your resort fee also gets you alot here. They will shuttle you into Whaler's Village and pick you up anytime you want, and there's a gym, stand up paddleboarding, yoga classes, and other things included. My only --very minor -- complaint was with the excursion bookings, in that there is a sign in front of the place where you book that advertises low prices, and then they automatically book you on much more expensive tours unless you ask for cheaper ones. Overall, great stay, great place, would absolutely return. There is some construction going on on the far side of the property, but I found it completely unnoticeable and did not hear or see a thing.

Room Tip: Away from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and kind words from your recent stay! I'm very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the amenities and all that the hotel has to offer. Please do come back and visit us at the Hyatt Regency Maui again very soon!

Thanks,

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikeville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel was nothing special, rooms were dated and service was horrible, we felt like we were bothering everyone, including check in, hostess, waitress, check out and guest services. The pool area and slides were nice but good luck finding someone pleasant that works there. Spoke with several other people staying at this hotel the same time as us and they had the same complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattMauiManager, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Aloha Judith,
Thank you for your feedback about your July stay. I'm disappointed to read that you did not feel like the appreciated guest you deserved! We strive to ensure every guest has a delightful stay with us - and have made sure to note the areas you mentioned where we might be able to improve.
We hope your overall Maui stay was a memorable one, and hope to be able to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We only stayed on 2 islands on our trip, but chose to stay at Hyatt properties each time. This particular hotel wasn't our original choice....(I had read reviews of the Andaz Hyatt in Wailea and thought it would be a nice, small hotel for the second half of our trip, after being at the huge Grand Hyatt on Kauai --which we LOVED, by the way! -- but upon check-in realized the Andaz is Upscale, with a capital U.) So thankfully, we were able to switch to this Hyatt on a different part of the island. Excellent decision for us. Lahaina is more "old Hawaii", and this Hyatt is very nice.
We paid for an ocean view room, and our view from the 15th floor of the Tower was fantastic. It was great to sit on the balcony, and hear the surf all night long with the door open.
The room was well-appointed, with great bath products, comfy lightweight robes, a safe, sofa and flatscreen TV. If we hadn't just left the Grand Hyatt on Kauai, we'd probably have been very impressed, but it's hard to out-do that place in our opinion!
The bathroom is where this place shows it's age. Small, with 1 sink and the typical tub/shower/toilet in a room off the sink area. We survived though, spending most of our time by the pool or in an oceanfront cabana.
Our first cabana was by the pool. We really enjoyed having one, although it doesn't come with much besides lots of towels and fresh icewater delivered. Servers come around to everyone at the pool, and we enjoyed some good fish tacos and sandwiches....forgoing the expensive alcohol drinks until later in the day.
The second cabana was ocean-front, and courtesy of a wonderful lady named Coreen, who felt bad that my purse and phone were locked away in a locker that I couldn't access for about an hour, due to them changing the keycard reader on locker room. We really felt like we were in paradise in that cabana....with the surf, palm trees, tropical drinks, and Lanai in the distance!
The grounds are beautiful. Love all the birds, flowers and sculptures. So easy to walk the pathway to other hotels, restaurants and shopping. Make your way to Leilani's for some excellent fish tacos and Hula pie!
Hotel restaurants served decent food. Umalu is a fun, casual place by the pool with loud music, and good cocktails in the evening. Japengo is known for their sushi. We sat at their bar and ate appetizers, since there was quite a wait for a table. The locals clearly love the place. Swan Court for breakfast was a bit of a letdown after breakfast at Grand Hyatt Kauai. No omelet station?! There's plenty of other good stuff to eat, but they have a HUGE bird problem that they don't even seem to address. It's pretty gross to see these annoying sparrows all over the food and tables. There were some at Grand Hyatt too, but at least they tried to deter them.
Parking was ridiculous in the lot out front. I'm sure they hear multiple complaints every single day about how tight the spaces are. Pretty much physically impossible to park and get out of your car. Do yourself a favor and drive to the parking lot in the back of the building!
Overall, we liked the Hyatt Regency, but not near as much as the Grand Hyatt on Kauai. However, should we return to Maui, we'd probably stay at the Regency again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy exquisite dining, extensive recreation facilities, international shopping, a collection of asian & pacific art, unique wild life & nightly entertainment and Hawaii's only oceanfront spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.