We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in Maui” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine On Sale
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
Riner
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in Maui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here in September 2013 for 6 nights. The grounds are beautiful, landscaped with paths and walkways thru grounds with ponds, flowing streams and even waterfalls. They have black and white swans, ducks, koi and even a penguin enclosure with daily feedings. This is an expensive hotel with luxurious rooms and restaurants. There are three main restaurants on hotel grounds, the Umala (poolside with waitresses or self service areas, average $13 for hamburger, $8 for fries, but fries can serve 2-4 people easy and the food was very good. We tried the hamburger, chicken, fish tacos and all were very good and large portions). Another restaurant was the Japengo, but we did not eat here. It is supposed to be Japanese influence with Hawaiian ad specializes in sushi. We ate at Sonz Maui, located on the level of the Swan Pond, with koi and birds swimming by while you dine. We got steaks one night and it was probably the best steak I;'ve had, with coffee marinade. It was around $40 plate plus salad and dessert. They had a small area near the penguins that served breakfast items such as rolls, muffins, etc but we did not eat here. We went to the Drums of the Pacific Luau one night, which is located on the grounds and costs about $100 a person for the meal and show. It was interesting and a good show. The food was pork, with poi, rice, and other Hawaiian food along with some American.
The employees at the Hyatt were all very friendly and went above and beyond to help you.
The pools were excellent and rated number one by magazines on Maui. There is a large adult pool from 4 foot to 9 foot depths, that had a waterfall and a basketball goal set up. The only downside was that the pool needs more entry points. There are only a couple of ladder entrances into the 9 foot depths, and all other entries are just over the side. It was a little difficult to enter and exit the pool (I have a weak knee). I think there was a set of stairs under the waterfall but we did not find it until later on in the week. There is a bar called the Grotto under the waterfalls, between the adult and children's pools that felt cave'like, and felt a little creepy. The children's pool was very nice and had areas that went to 9 feet deep. The blooming bushes hung over the pool and made beautiful areas to swim up to, and it also had a large slide for the kids. There was even a swinging bridge over the water. We spent some time in the kid's pool and I have to say I enjoyed it more than the adult pool with easier entry points and decoration.
The hot tub was in a corner, with bushes enclosing it off, and rock walls around the side, making it appear more of a natural hot spring area.
The resort is 40 acres with a large beach frontage. I wish there were more beach access points along the waterfront. Several areas are roped off banks and you have to walk down the beach to find an area to go down to the beach. There are several cabanas for rent on beachfront and enclosed tents for 'romantic dining' to rent.
The beach was nice to walk on, but swimming was not the best due to waves and another guest stepped on sea urchins and had to pick out the spines. We saw a few kids playing in the surf but that was all. We saw a large eagle ray about 15-20 feet from shore one evening. There are beautiful sunsets on this beach.
We went on this trip as a group trip for business and enjoyed ourselves immensely. We recommend renting a car and finding better swimming and snorkeling beaches within 15 minute drive and larger variety of restaurants. They even have McDonalds and other fast food nearby and a lot of smaller diners/shops that range from moderate to expensive.
If you choose the Hyatt, you will have beautiful rooms and views with great pools and employee service. We greatly enjoyed our stay and could have spent all our time at the resort and been happy.

Room Tip: Lanii tower, room 704. Nice oceanview lanii with view ofkids pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide extensive feedback on your recent stay. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly. We often hear enthusiastic feedback from guests regarding our landscaped grounds and the wildlife that can be found throughout the hotel. I’m glad that you enjoyed these features, as well. It is fantastic that you enjoyed the food at Umalu and also at Sonz at Swan Court. The hamburgers at Umalu are one of my favorite dishes to enjoy while relaxing at the pool. I’m thrilled that you were able to take advantage of the Drums of the Pacific luau. I am glad that you enjoyed the pools and were able to spend so much time there. The beach is indeed a wonderful spot for a leisurely stroll and to watch the sunrise or sunset. I hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel again on your next trip to Maui.

Abrea H – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,633
    987
    434
    210
    108
See reviews for
801
1,641
39
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

After a year of planning and reading all the reviews on this site I was prepared. However I am not sure we actually were at the same Hyatt as the other reviewers were. Our experience from check in to check out was perfect. The construction crew was so polite and nice we didn’t notice the work going on. My opinion on this is if your going to complain about the hotel, rooms, etc. then why would you complain about the hotel making those changes? Yes you may want it fixed but I guess not during your visit. My only suggestion would be then postpone your trip until after the renovations. If your commenting on here then you must be informed there is work going on at this site. The front desk was so accommodating to us. Our room was great, Ocean View, pool view and hearing the music from the Luau was beautiful. We were greeted in the Regency Club by Karen and Wynnete our Hostess’s. They offered so much information about Maui and made our trip just that much nicer. While at the beach we rented what I call a tent shade they call a Cabana. The service was great. Gold Pineapple spears and Ice water plus servers to take lunch or drink orders made this very special. We only rented the chairs for a couple of days. We had just as good of service when lying by the pool. We liked the area near the children’s pool. While there were many family’s there they were all respectful. The adult side was very nice as well. Every day at 11 the servers were there and made their rounds every hour. If you couldn’t wait there was a bar you could swim to or walk under a cave to get to. They are remodeling this area sometime in Oct. It was so beautiful. We swam under the waterfalls to the bar, watched Ohio State University football game on their TV. I couldn’t have asked for anything better on a Saturday in Maui. We ate at Son’z for dinner and it was delicious. The most spectacular thing was the Star Gazing for couples on the roof. The Chocolate covered strawberries and Champagne was the perfect ending to a marvelous night. We stayed 8 days here and could have easily spent 8 more. If you want a nice vacation and know ahead of time about the construction (which stops at 5) know your prices and realize you are in Maui, then go with an open mind and look for the positive, leave the negative at home, and you too might find paradise at the Hyatt in Maui.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort. We really appreciate your thorough review. It sounds like you had an amazing experience from check in to check out. I am thrilled you found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I will be sure Karen and Wynnete are recognized for their service. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. We look forward to having the opportunity in the future to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Maui. Mahalo!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We loved our stay! Staff friendly and helpful. Beautiful view from our ocean view room. Only drawback was not really a beach area. Breakfast expensive, but excellent, be sure to get that included in your package. New construction was not a problem. Great stay overall!
Leo and Karen.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the extra expense
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I’m glad to hear that your room had such a wonderful view of the ocean and that the staff were friendly and helpful throughout your stay. It is great that you were able to take advantage of a package that included breakfast. The buffet in Swan Court is such a great way to start the day. I hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel again soon.

Abrea H – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed 9/15-21/2013. Large hotel, with by far the largest pool on Kaanapali Beach, its huge. Other nearby pools are relatively tiny. Half of it is 5-9ft. deep. Has a cavelike bar/grotto and nice kid's separate swimming area with fun slides. Pool was clean and noticed staff vacuuming it every morning. The breakfast buffet/omelet bar is fantastic, but quite expensive if not included in your package ($28 ea). Open air dinning does invite small birds which are almost like flies. Cover your plate if stepping way for seconds. Lines can get a bit long at times, but moves quickly, 10 minutes or so after 8:30. Outstanding staff, very friendly and anxious to help, offering often. Valet parking available ($20/day, self park $14) and worth it as it is a fair walk to parking. But if you are in and out often it could be expensive with tips. About 3/4 of a mile easy walk to Whaler's Village shopping via the beach sidewalk. Multiple hotel and independent restaurants along the way and all are good to excellent. Starbucks is onsite until 11am and a full time shop two hotels down. An easy 10 min. drive into Lahaina for more dining and small shop shopping. Relatively light traffic on Maui and very laid back. MUCH better than Honolulu. Would return here again. Yes, this place is expensive, but Maui is expensive period. Superb landscaping. Beautiful sunsets and view of Lanai. Limited beach, but two larger ones are less that 50 yards away. Maui beach currents are strong and dangerous for kids anyway. NOT much sand underwater and hidden lava rock is painful if barefooted. Body surfing could get you killed if driven underwater by the strong waves. When walking along the beach avoid wading in the water as small lava stones are in waves in places and can bang your feet up. Few people use the beaches as the sand is very grainy and loose or is covered with rock. This is NOT like east coast beaches. Golf course on property. Rooms generally quite though we heard the waves overnight (soothing). Our room was clean (main tower, beachfront) and room decor seems only slightly dated. Good, quite A/C. Cleaning staff was courteous and swift. Family friendly. Wi/Fi good. Several onsite shops including a small Macy's selling resort wear. Construction on the North side of the building, but generally unnoticed. Heard others complain who's rooms were in the North wing of the property though. Some minor interior landscaping updates being done as well. But really, hotel does excellent job of hiding the work. Elevators very fast. Spa prices seemed unusually pricey ($200+). This is a vacation property NOT a glossy business hotel so don't expect one. Tip: If wanting to see Oahu attractions on your trip, try to find a day trip from Maui only and don't burn Maui time to stay in Honolulu hotels. You will be disappointed with Oahu unless you need to shop in upscale, luxury stores.

Room Tip: Avoid the north tower during 2013 construction. Beach side is sunset side, mountain view is sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica K, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hyatt Regency Maui. We are so pleased you enjoyed the pool, Swan Court breakfast and area dining and shopping during your stay. There is a reason we say 'Maui no ka oi!' ... meaning 'Maui is the best!' We hope to see you back on the island and at the resort soon.

Jessica K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I've stayed at a lot of other Hyatt's including the Grand in Kauai. This one is not impressive. It's so big and honestly feels like a factory. There isn't a beach, it's pricey and just isn't my favorite hotel. I should feel like I left a 2 night stay paying $1500 and am disappointed. That's just a bummer. Plus, you have to pay for everything! I get it, that's luxury hotels. But the parking charges are ridiculous, I got totally pressured into using valet when I arrived, the pool felt a little dirty. Just average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica K, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha and thank your for going out of your way to share your comments. We are disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations. We greatly value your opinion and appreciate the opportunity to continue to improve our guests' experiences. Thank you for continuing to choose Hyatt and we hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Well, if you've spent a lot of money on a vacation, you expect to arrive and have something make you say "wow" and "look at this" and "sweet" or even, "this is beautiful"....but no...that does not happen here.

What everyone is saying about the rooms is correct. They're tired, somewhat smelly, and not clean. We were so disappointed to not have a king size bed (we find it hard to sleep in separate beds and so were tired each day on vacation grrrrr!). We tried to move the mattresses to the floor to make a giant sleeping surface but were so repulsed by what we found behind and under the beds we changed our minds. Attempts on the phone to have a room with a king size bed were met with a rude, "oh well" attitude. Mold in the bathroom. A safe you have to jiggle and "convince" to work. Shampoo that doesn't lather. No beach. Three filthy dingy chairs right as you enter the atrium - I wouldn't want these out front of my house on garbage day.

The grounds are "nice" but still very tired. The fake rock in the pool's waterfall is crumbling and covered with a dirty looking huge shammy. Lots of birds, but clean up their poop, will ya? The locker rooms had towels spilling out of the hampers for days on end...and all over the floor.

The drinks at the pool bar are outrageously priced, even for a pricey resort - over $10 and you have to get up to get them, whereas at the other resorts they have pool staff seeing if they can get you anything.

A number of years ago we stayed a few hotels up at the Westin and so we walked over there to remember the place and were so jealous that we weren't staying there...what a difference! When you walk along the strip you can definitely see the difference between the Hyatt - which is dingy - and the other places - which are all immaculate.

Positives: Very comfortable mattresses and a nice variety of shopping on site. Despite construction, noise and mess kept at minimum. Gorgeous views of nearby volcano and ocean/islands.

Will not be coming back here again...even if they update.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica K, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations and thank you for bringing to our attention specific ways in which we can continue to enhance our guests' experience. I have forwarded your comments to management so we may make appropriate improvements in the areas you mentioned. Thank you for choosing Hyatt and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Maui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We arrived in maui on September 16 and left September 21 to celebrate our Honeymoon.. It was a long long journey from New York- we checked in 7pm Hawaii time, we were exhausted! The good thing there was no line- the front desk associates were very pleasant- however we had booked a king bed but were given a double.. On our honeymoon! We were so tired from our day of travel that we didn't argue it- and went straight to out room to find it absolutely filthy... The shower had mold, wallpaper peeling off it was pretty gross- but again we were so tired we just showered and went to sleep.. The next morning I contacted our travel agent and he thankfully fixed the problem and by 4pm we had a king bed- and the room, though outdated, was a lot cleaner.
The all inclusive breakfast was delicious, but be sure to get there early! The lines get long. Their sunrise mimosas are also very good- the food overall at the resort was amazing! Japengo- the best sushi I've EVER had.. The bar by the pool had the best mixed drinks ever!
The grounds were beautiful and well kept- the construction didn't bother us one bit, we barley noticed it.
The penguins were so cute! And the tropical birds they put around the grounds were a nice touch.
My one main complaint- there's no beach!! Literally.. It was a tiny tiny strip of where you literally had to lay in bushes to relax, and they also charged you 10$ for lounge chairs.. Really?! I found that a bit disgusting to charge your guests to use a chair for a day on a non existent beach.
The pool was very nice- and clean- but it was packed constantly.. Mostly with children.. Who wants that on their honeymoon? But we delt with it, all in all I wouldn't suggest this location for honeymooners- but it's very family friendly! And also beware if the 100$ a day security! Which I find a bit odd since they had our credit card on file anyway!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica K, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha and congratulations! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on our resort and thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Maui to celebrate your honeymoon. We are happy we were able to accommodate your room request and that you enjoyed our wildlife, and had great experiences at Swan Court breakfast, Umalu poolside bar and Japengo! (We agree...Japengo's sushi is the best!) We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy exquisite dining, extensive recreation facilities, international shopping, a collection of asian & pacific art, unique wild life & nightly entertainment and Hawaii's only oceanfront spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.