We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyatt Maui” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine On Sale
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hyatt Maui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hyatt wad a great hotel.. The staff where very good and all the grounds where brilliant and well maintained. While there is work going on _ they are building another tower , I urge you that before you book double check which building you are staying in and where your room is allocated.. it can get loud. We were extremely lucky that we had a choice of two rooms and so chose accordingly.. We had a mountain and partial beach view and the room was very accomodating... Breakfast was good if you like the buffet style but they will whip you up eggs etc on the spot if you like. Pool was great large enough and plenty of seating if you get there early. The kids pool was set back in another area so that was great for the families... Japengos you must try .. had a great meal twice and service was very good... Overall I would stay there again had a wonderful time thankyou Hyatt....

Room Tip: Double check rooms you have booked because of the works going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am happy to hear that you found the staff to be so friendly and that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel grounds. I am glad that you liked the ocean and mountain views from your room. The breakfast buffet in Swan Court is a great option for breakfast, especially with the made to order eggs that you mentioned. Japengos has many wonderful dishes and I am delighted that you enjoyed the food and the service. I’m thrilled that you were able to take advantage of our large pool and ample poolside seating. I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel again in the future.

Abrea H – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,633
    987
    433
    210
    108
See reviews for
801
1,641
39
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We celebrated our 15th Anniversary at the Hyatt in Maui!! What a great place to relax and receive the kind of service everyone wants. The spa treatments were affordable and provided by real professionals. The on-site restaurants all provided excellent meals and a diversity that allowed us to stay right at the hotel. When we did leave the hotel it didn't take long to want to return for more pina coladas and volcano salad! I highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a great vacation.

Room Tip: Pony up for the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation! I am thrilled you had an excellent stay at our resort. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed the spa and the onsite restaurants. I am honored you chose to spend your 15th Anniversary at our resort. Your kind words are truly appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Maui in the near future. Mahalo!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Hyatt treated us extremely well during our recent family reunion of 26 people. The service was excellent and they took special care to make sure we were happy and having a good time. There were nice gifts in the rooms from management, great food in the restaurants and friendly service. We rented a pool cabana for 4 days and it was the best thing we did. Bottled water was provided as well as a fresh fruit plate and later in the day pineapple. Everyone could meet at the cabana and then spend the day in the kiddie pool, main pool, spa or the beach. Each night we had an event such as the luau on property, or dinner at Japango, and one night we had a private dinner in the Statue Gardens. This event was a highlight, well serviced and managed with delicious food. Nearby are numerous activities like parasailing, jet skis, stand-up paddle boarding, surfing, and the list goes on... When there was a disruption such as work on the air-conditioning, we were given $50 vouchers to use for meals. We really felt this was a wonderful gesture.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are the best, avoid being over the entrance to the hotel. Valet parking noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing to have your family reunion at our resort. It is always a pleasure to hear when our guests have a memorable experience. It sounds like you found the service to be top notch. I am glad you enjoyed all the different activities you had scheduled for each night. Your feedback and recommendation are our biggest compliment. I hope we can welcome you and your family back in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Overall experience was amazing we did not want to come home. This was our first time to the hyatt at Maui and we would highly recommend the facilities on offer were amazing. The sushi restaurant was really nice and the atmosphere was so relaxing. The Hawaii evening on resort was really nice and we met so many interesting people. Everyone was so friendly and we would highly recommend. The breakfast was really nice with a good choice of continental and hot buffet breakfast. The spa experience was also nice as we had a full body massage by the sea which was superb.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. I am excited to read that you had an excellent honeymoon at our resort. It sounds like you really enjoyed Japengo. I am please you were able to take advantage of Spa Moana. Spa Moana is beautifully appointed and offers fantastic and relaxing treatments. Your thoughtful review is greatly appreciated. I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the future. Mahalo!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Paradise, but so tempting, you might miss the rest of the islands beauty. We stayed here after a week at a lovely condo, and I'm sure if we had stayed here first, we would have missed so much of what the island has to offer. Glad we split up the trip. This was not an economical option, but beautiful memories and so much to enjoy without ever getting in the car.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
It is so great to hear when our guests have an excellent stay at our resort. I am so happy you found the property to be beautifully appointed. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Maui. I look forward to welcoming you back to our resort the next time your travel brings you back to Maui!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coxheath
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel having purchased four nights online. We were aware that we were purchasing an ubstructed view however we were not made aware of the mess we would be passing through every time we left our room. There are workers and dust everywhere, forklifts and bobcats zipping back and forth in the hallway as we try to get to our elevator. Our son has breathing issues and this is unexceptable. I was told at the front desk I could be moved for the discounted price of one hundred dollars a night. We met another very upset couple last night moving in for ten nights, they also had a lovely view of construction, again not aware until check in. This section should be closed during this time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattHotelGirl, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi Joan,
Tripadvisor gives us limited access to message you - but we'd love a chance to talk to you more in depth about your disappointing stay. If you can find a chance, please e-mail our Director of Rooms, Michael.Murphy@hyatt.com - and let us know the best number/email that you can be reached at. Mahalo for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our 3rd time at the Hyatt. The grounds are gorgeous. The rooms are fine, nothing spectacular. As for the construction~this was somewhat bothersome, but I had expected it after reading all the reviews.

We did the luau at the Hyatt for the first time and I would give it a 7/10. The food was good and the performances were great The Old Lahaina Laua has better service and atmosphere vs. the Hyatt.

We also did the star gazing with the Hyatt and this was very cool.

But I do have a few other concerns....
1. After spending 8 days here the breakfast area begin to gross me out. The birds and their pooping, flying everywhere, and on everything got gross. It seems it's becoming unsanitary. I saw poop stains everywhere. We even had a duck come to our table as if begging for food. There really needs to be a solution to this.

2. We saw 2 rats on the grounds while there, as well. The 1st was around the hot tub area and the other by the outside showers. This began to make me think. I understand there will be wildlife, but when you began to see rats? This doesn't seem very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay. I am delighted we were able to welcome you back for a third time. It sounds like you really enjoy the grounds finding them to be beautifully appointed. I am pleased you were able to experience the Drums of the Pacific Laua and the Tour of the Stars. I appreciate your feedback in regards to the breakfast area and have shared this with our management team. Thank you again for choosing our resort for your recent visit to Maui. I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy exquisite dining, extensive recreation facilities, international shopping, a collection of asian & pacific art, unique wild life & nightly entertainment and Hawaii's only oceanfront spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.