We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and beyond beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine On Sale
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic service and beyond beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We just left the Hyatt after our second stay and it just keeps getting better with each visit. The staff are so welcoming and go above board to make you feel at home. When asked if we were missing anything from home, I mentioned a make up mirror PRESTO in under an hour I had a deluxe make up mirror and two complimentary beverage coupons for the Grotto bar. The swan court has the best breakfast on the island and the resort is gorgeous. Mahalo Hyatt staff for making us feel special, we will return for a third visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our staff went above and beyond to welcome you. I’m glad we were able to provide you with the makeup mirror to make you feel at home. The breakfast in Swan Court certainly is exceptional. Thank you for taking time to provide feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit.

Abrea H – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,637
    991
    436
    210
    108
See reviews for
804
1,644
41
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Aside from our great room with an ocean view, there's a lot to enjoy at this Hyatt: the beautiful grounds; the magnificent orchid feature in the lobby, the interesting wildlife: cranes, penguins, flamingos & more. We especially enjoyed the art integrated throughout.

Their "Drums of the Pacific" luau provides a fabulous evening of Mai Tai's, Polynesian foods & authentic Polynesian dancing that culminates with the fantastic fire dance.

This hotel offers another interesting & unique program onsite: "Tour of the Stars" a rooftop astronomy program. [Seating is limited to 15 so reservations are advised. You don't have toay at the hotel to see this program]

The resident astronomer helps everyone interpret the sky & understand more about the Polynesians who used the stars to navigate the seas to Hawaii. Using the reflector telescope more than 9 stories up is a unique experience.

Staying at the Hyatt Regency Maui provides vacationers with lots to do when in Maui, without even leaving the resort!

Room Tip: We like the ocean view rooms best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Aloha munchy1!

Thank you for going out of your way to share comments about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed all of the different amenities & activities offered on-site. One of my favorites is the Astronomy tour. It really sets our resort apart from the rest. We're glad you had the opportunity to experience the Drums of the Pacific Luau. The Mai Tai's paired with the delicious food make it an unforgettable show. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guests again!

Safe travels,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband & I spent 5 nights at the Hyatt Regency during our honeymoon and were so sad to leave. The service at this hotel is top-notch from the front desk, valet, bars, restaurants, etc. We truly felt that the staff went out of their way to make our experience the best it could be. The grounds are very well kept and include so many unexpected extras such as flamingos, penguins, talking parakeets, shops (including a Macy's and convenience store). You certainly don't need to leave the grounds at all during your stay if you don't want to. The restaurants we ate at had delicious food and great customer service. We had dinner at Japengo (sushi/seafood) and the food was amazing. Large portions too. The pool bar/restaurant Umalu also had delicious food and large portions. One evening, we went to the Drums of the Pacific Lu'au and highly recommend, even if you don't end up staying at this hotel! The music and dancing was incredible. Splurge on the VIP seats as it's worth the extra money to be up close to the stage and get on line for food first.
We also went on the roof one evening for the astronomy tour and are so happy we did. Eddie, the Dir of Astronomy at the hotel is so nice and extremely knowledgeable. We were very impressed with the massive telescopes the hotel has. He showed us a number of constellations, including some, like the Southern Cross, which are not visible on the mainland (at least this time of year). We also saw Saturn with the rings around it from one of the telescopes. So cool... The tour lasts 1 hour.
One downside to the resort which we didn't realize until we arrived is that you can't really swim in the ocean here. There is too much coral. So to swim in the ocean, you need to walk over to the next door resort (Marriott) for swimming. We did that a couple of days as we wanted to get in the ocean, not just the pool. Another tip is to walk 30 minutes down to the Westin's beach as the snorkeling there is amazing. There is a big rock and coral reef there. We saw hundreds of fish, including a huge sea turtle.
The room was nice. Maybe a little outdated decor, but totally fine. The layout of our room was a little odd, but we were in a corner room which may explain that.
Overall, definitely recommend this hotel. We truly had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Aloha MTrav!

Thank you for going into such detail with regards to your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. We're delighted to have had the opportunity to welcome you & your husband for such a special honeymoon! Our employees will be recognized for the excellent level of service you experienced while you were our guest. The flamingos, penguins and other exotic birds gain a lot of attention from our guests. Drums of the Pacific is a great way to experience Hawaiian culture.

It will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back for many anniversary celebrations!

Mahalo,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon before going to stay in Wailea for the other 4 nights. I wish we would have stayed at the Hyatt the entire time! The staff were friendly and courteous, and the grounds were beautiful! There is not much of a beach to actually go to in front of the Hyatt, but there are beaches just a quick walk up the pathway.

We were very jet lagged when we got to the Hyatt after traveling from the east coast, and we were happily surprised to find that they had a beautiful open air breakfast place that opened at 6am. There is also a trail at the back of the resort that connects it to all of the other hotels, as well as Whaler's Village. This was very convenient!

The Valet parking at the Hyatt was wonderful, and it was always super easy to get our car quickly. We went into Lahaina a few times (even once after we had moved to Wailea), and it was such a cute area to walk around, shop, and eat.

Would definitely recommend this hotel (and area) to anyone visiting Maui!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi Carolyn B!

Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your recent Honeymoon at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. We're glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the delicious breakfast served in our Swan Court. Our Valet attendants will be recognized for their courteous & prompt service provided. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for Anniversary celebrations!

Safe travels,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just finished staying 5 nights at this Hyatt. The hotel has a major construction project underway and the only view we had was of cranes and porta potties and dirt. Sarah, their manager, seemed arrogant and unpleasant when we requested to be moved away from their construction. We paid about $1,500 for 5 miserable days due to the noise and nasty view from our balcony.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattHotelGirl, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Aloha Larkeg!
Sounds like you booked our “obstructed view” room which is set at a discounted rate from our daily rate given the view it overlooks and includes 2 for 1 breakfast. I can assure you that we’ve taken deep thought into this room type name and have worked with our partners to ensure there is accurate description of the adjacent land under construction. Please accept our team’s apologies for your feelings of disappointment from this rooms offered. While we do offer other room types at our property that not affected by the project occurring next door, I understand these might not have been available at the time of your booking.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback – We’d love to hear more about how you enjoyed our other facilities such as the activities, spa and food and beverage outlets. Our Assistant Director of Rooms, Nick, is available at: nick.francis@hyatt.com if you have a moment to share your other experiences! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Maui about 4 years ago, and the rooms have been renovated since then. They look very modern and are a huge upgrade from the old ones. We had a "obstructed view king", so we looked out at the construction site and from the balcony we could see the ocean. The construction didn't start until about 7:30 or 8am each day, and wasn't loud at all; it never woke us up or bothered us. The valet was very friendly and quick with the car. There are lots of restaurant options, the pool is huge, there are penguins in the lobby... could you ask for anything more? Our only complaint is that there isn't a huge beach area for Hyatt guests. The bar on site, Umalu, is open until midnight - which is the latest any hotel bar is open in the Kaanapali area - the drinks are strong and the people are friendly. When you check-in, you get "towel cards" along with your room keys - you have to turn in the towel card to get your towel and you also get a fashionable wristband to wear all day while you're at the pool. It seems strange that you have to have a towel card and a wristband, but you can collect 7 different colors during your weeklong stay!

Overall, this is a great property and we will definitely be returning to the Hyatt Maui!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review. It is great to hear that you found the resort to well maintained. We have a beautiful resort with a great selection of activities and entertainment for our guests to enjoy. I am glad you found the service at Umalu to be great. Your recommendation is our greatest compliment. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a few days as part of a holiday package. The staff were accommodating and helpful. We were 'upgraded' to a King Size bed and the suite was a nice size with a comfortable bath/dressing area. Probably the smallest aspect of the suite was the toilet/bath/shower room.
The breakfast by the lake was peaceful, although, if you weren't watchful the finches and small birds would eat the breakfast off your plate....

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
It is great to hear that you had a delightful stay at our resort. It sounds like you found the staff to be very accommodating and helpful. We have a great staff that prides themselves on offering authentic hospitality. I am glad you found your suite to be spacious and comfortable. Your feedback is very much appreciated. I hope we can welcome you back to our resort in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy exquisite dining, extensive recreation facilities, international shopping, a collection of asian & pacific art, unique wild life & nightly entertainment and Hawaii's only oceanfront spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.