We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and high quality hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine On Sale
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service and high quality hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We arrived a little early for check in, and were informed that our ocean view room was not available for our first night, so we were offered an ocean view in a different hotel, or a garden view at this hotel. So we opted for the garden view here, when we came back at 4pm to check in properly we found we had been upgraded to a suite for the night. From here on in we couldn't fault the hotel, service, beech, trips and food. Would definitely recommend this to any visitor to maui.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must, and the breakfast is absolutely to draw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. I am glad the staff was able to assist you with your room assignment upon your arrival. The breakfast at Swan Court is certainly quite exceptional and a high point for many of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Abrea H. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,637
    990
    436
    210
    108
See reviews for
804
1,643
41
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I spent a wonderful week at the Hyatt with my husband and his family.
The staff was wonderful, the grounds were beautiful and the rooms were comfortable and very clean! The hotel is centrally located so you can walk to Whaler's Village or it is a short drive to Lahaina.
We never had trouble finding chairs by the pool (the policy that you can't "claim" them early in the morning with a towel/magazine is very helpful!) and the kids slide was wonderful for the kids and the adult slide is surprisingly fast for a hotel slide!
The food poolside was excellent (try the poke nachos!) and we had an amazing meal at Japengo.
The fitness center was very spacious, had good equipment and free yoga classes that we took advantage of. It was also convenient to rent snorkeling gear from the hotel for the week. Although we didn't try it, it looked like a good area to rent paddleboards as well.
We also went to the Luau at the hotel and it was a really fun experience. The food topped the food at other luaus we have been to - the pork was great!
Overall it was the perfect place for our family vacation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay so thoroughly. Our hotel pools are certainly very popular, as are the pool slides. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed the slides so much and were also able to find pool chairs. The Grotto Bar has wonderful food and the poke nachos are one of my favorite dishes. Our large fitness center is a great amenity for our guests and many do enjoy taking advantage of the yoga classes that are offered. The luau is a wonderful cultural experience and also features many wonderful dishes. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt.

Abrea H. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed a the Hyatt in Maui for 4 nights. The service was fantastic we could not fault this beautiful place. Our trip was booked by Carlea from My Hawaii and everything was planned to the letter from the Transfers to the Hotel, Trips, Breakfast...I will most definately be booking again. Thanks Again My Hawaii for a great holdiay.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the way to go..beautiful view..loved loved loved it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Aloha Leisha D!

Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback about your recent Hawaiian getaway with us. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our hotel. Our ocean view rooms provide our guests with some of the best views available. It's great that you were able to enjoy that during the four nights with us. We hope to welcome you back again!

Mahalo,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Well the Hyatt was highly rated and my girlfriend and I decided to book but we were disappointed before we even checked in! When we arrived at the hotel, the check in/check out line was really long and we waited about 15 minutes to actually speak to someone. After we checked in, we went to our room which was on the 2nd floor, in the North East side of the complex right next to the construction site! Unless you like to hear the beeping of large dump trucks backing up every morning, I would recommend you ask for a room on the other side of the resort. If this hotel offered good customer service they would NOT even book these rooms. If they had no choice, they would offer free breakfast since you will be awaken by the beeping trucks so they might as well feed you if they wake you up right????!!!

After we got our items settled in the room, we noticed a moldy sewage smell in the room. Apparently the room across the hall had flooded and it was creating a nauseating stench. My girlfriend called the front desk to ask if we can be moved and she was told there is nothing that can be done since there are no other free rooms. There was no offer to waive the resort fee, no offer for free parking, no offer for breakfast, no offer of any kind even after speaking to a manager. In my opinion this is not how you run a business to get repeat customers. Just terrible and no one seemed to care!

We decided to leave the room and go to the pool which actually was nice and clean. The pool area is large, has a secluded hot tub area. There is also a separate child pool with sand in the water so the little ones don't get scraped up. This was the only positive about our stay at the Hyatt and we would not recommend anyone stay here. You are better off booking at another resort next door.

Room Tip: Book a room at the Hilton or Marriott, I hear they don't smell like sewage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I was supposed to be packing for my departure today, but my stay has been so "over the top" we decided to stay another two nights. Initially the stay started out on a very down note, primarily due to health issues with my husband, but the Management Staff of the hotel turned everything around and made this one of our most memorable vacations.

The rooms are nice, maybe a touch dated. I prefer a different style of bathroom with more shelf space and the closet space was very small and narrow. We required a more subtantial chair for my husband to rest and sleep on, and while the rooms are not equipped with a very comfortable chair, the Staff took care of the problem and made sure my husband had comfort. On that note, I will say that the beds are ultra comfortable and more than made up for a few inconveniences in the room.

The hotel is beautiful, the staff very kind and go out of their way to make things right in the event something goes a little haywire. If you have mobility issues, I would highly recommend requesting a room in the center tower - it seems to have best access to all activities.

I did not notice any noise from the supposed construction going on next door, in fact, the only way you would know its going on is by a kind of not so pretty looking screen that surrounds the fencing. It is meant to look like greenerym, but somehow takes away from the beauty of the lushness that surrounds it. It does however, hide the sight of ground breaking earth moving equipment so really, not a bad thing.

This is a very nice hotel and I would deffinately recommend it to anyone seeking rest and relaxation. Do not shy away from it based on others not so great reviews, I seriously doubt you will find a nicer more attentive staff than what we experienced in the last week.

Room Tip: Ask for the Center Tower if you have mobility concerns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Aloha cactus1959!

Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback about your recent visit to our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. We're so glad to have the opportunity to continue to have you as our guest for an extra two days! Your comments with regards to our employees are greatly appreciated. Hyatt takes pride with our associates offering the best in customer service. It would be our pleasure to have another opportunity to welcome you back as our guest again!

Mahalo!

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Beautiful Lobby, great Restarants, and awesome deep pool.
Close to activities such as Jet Skiing (our kids favorite), parasailing and paddle boards.

Stay in Regency club. Great breakfast and sunset drinks.

The Poolside Bar has unique Hawaiian drinks and wonderful food with value.
My wife loved the Spa and she claims it is every peaceful, and one the best massages she has had in a while.

The gym is large and all the equipment is new. Take the long walk along the path between the Hotel and beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Aloha EddyLahaina!

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. Your comments with regards to our recently renovated lobby are greatly appreciated. We're glad you were able to schedule and enjoy everything from the jet skis to para sailing. Our Regency Club chef will be recognized for the delicious breakfast served in our lounge. We hope to welcome your family back soon!

Mahalo!

Nick B. - Guest Services Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just spent 8 nights at the Hyatt. They are in the process of updating the rooms, so ask for a new one if possible. I would also suggest asking for a room away from the construction as they are in the process of constructing a new building next door. The resort has a great pool area with waterfalls/water slides/plenty of seating. the hyatt is the last resort on Kaanapali beach which for us worked out great. Not nearly as crowded as the resorts closers to whalers village. Club lounge provides a decent breakfast and afternoon snack which saves you significant money vs. dinning at the restaurants. The concierge lounge also has limited patio seating with a view of the golf course and ocean, so it's not a bad spot to enjoy a cocktail during the evening service. Overall the staff was great and the remodeled rooms were great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for going out of your way to provide us with your feedback. I really appreciate your kind words regarding the resort and the amenities we have to offer. I am glad you were able to experience our Regency Club. This is a great feature that offers guests complimentary continental breakfast, snacks throughout the day, and evening drinks and hors d’oeuvres. Your recommendation and feedback are greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy exquisite dining, extensive recreation facilities, international shopping, a collection of asian & pacific art, unique wild life & nightly entertainment and Hawaii's only oceanfront spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.