We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous resort in heavenly Maui!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine On Sale
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous resort in heavenly Maui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Maui is by far our favourite part of Hawaii (out of Big Island, North Shore Oahu and Waikiki). It is exactly what you think about when you imagine a dreamy beachy holiday in Hawaii. Lahaina is about 30mins from the airport and about $80 in a taxi one way (you can negotiate a return rate and get the driver to pick you up for your trip back). When we checked in we were given a horrible room - we were literally looking over a car park on the 2nd floor. It was terrible and nearly made me cry after a 10 hour flight, then a 30 min flight and a 30 min taxi ride -and this was our first stop on our honeymoon. We called reception, they gave us some options and we went down to reception and they showed us photos of another room. We paid an extra $40 per night for an upgrade to a higher floor (6th) and this meant we couldnt see the car park. The rooms were nice and big and clean. The resort itself is gorgeous and has so many imenities you can literally stay there. A must is to go into Lahaina iteself (about $10 cab) and have afternoon drinks (happy hour) at Fleetwoods on Front Street up on the roof top. Its heaven! The resorts swimming pool is wonderful and we spent many hours (days!) just lazing by the pool and drinking cocktails. LOVED it and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha Diana S,

Thank you for going out of your way to write this review about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa. It's great we could welcome you as our guest for your honeymoon celebration. I am glad our Front Desk Associates were able to take the time to address your concerns after you checked in. It's sounds as though you were able to enjoy a relaxing getaway by the pools, enjoying some delicious drinks from Umalu. We hope to welcome you back for your anniversary!

Mahalo!

Anna M. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,618
    971
    425
    209
    107
See reviews for
791
1,621
38
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (775)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We are just wrapping up our 6 night stay at this hotel, and if you're looking for a resort vacation for you and your spouse or family, then this is an excellent option. The staff has been extremely accommodating and the service was great everywhere we went. The hotel is well kept with beautiful gardens and exotic birds including parrots, black and white swans, pink flamingos and even penguins! Rooms are basic standard rooms. Nothing too special but clean and if you request an ocean view room, you won't be disappointed. The hotel offers a kids pool with a water slide, an adult pool, cabanas by the ocean, or umbrellas on the beach. The spa was pretty basic, but my massage was one of the best massages I've had in a while! Room service food was very good and super quick. The gym was also pretty standard but had everything you'd need. They also offer yoga, boot camp and other workout options at no cost. The hotel has several shops in it for your convenience, including a small Macy's. You can also take a short walk down the beach to a Starbucks, a small mall and several restaurants. We had a great meal at The Hula Grill our first night. I'd also recommend taking a 10 minute ride to Lahaina for dinner and the sunset one night. Try Fleetwoods for a great view, refreshing cocktails and good food. Excellent service there too! If I had to think of one thing that went wrong, it was minor, but the hotels AC seemed to be weak in the rooms and in the gym. Lost power briefly one day so they may have had some electrical issues at the time. Regardless, the hotel clearly did a good job of doing everything they could for us to be happy during our stay. It was great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha chethoma,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa! We are so happy to hear that you the variety of wildlife. Often, we hear enthusiastic feedback from our guests about the penguins, swans and flamingos. We are glad you had the time to enjoy the different activities offered for our guests. Our Services Engineers would be happy to examine in room thermostats for temperature issues. Your referral is greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to Hawaii soon!

Mahalo!

Anna M. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I recently travelled to Maui with our 3 kids under the age of 4. We stayed for a week at the Hyatt - and my expectations were exceeded in every way. We had been to Hawaii for our honeymoon and knew it would be hard to top that trip. It was certainly a different experience, but our choice of staying at the Hyatt proved to be a great decision.
THE ROOMS: We had 2 adjoining rooms on the 8th floor of one of the towers - which was a great setup. The hotel was so accommodating in providing clean, safe cribs and the in-room fridges were so convenient. We had the most amazing ocean views which allowed us to enjoy the views even during naptime.

THE LOCATION: If you haven't been to Maui before - this location is amazing. The hotel is located on a strip of beach that has a convenient boardwalk complete with restaurants, shops, etc. It was so nice to be able to go for a walk for coffee/shopping w/o having to hop in the car. The beaches are amazing and some great snorkeling is just a 15 min walk down the beach at Black Rock.

THE HOTEL AMENITIES: The hardest part of the trip was leaving the amazing pool. My kids were entertained for hours in the kid friendly splash pool. They loved the small waterslide (and my husband and I loved the big slide!). We didn't spend much time at the more adult oriented pool but looked nice. The pools definitely get busy, especially after noon but we were always able to find chairs. The poolside service for drinks (good happy hour specials) and food was really convenient - loved the pork quesadillas. There is a small convenience store in the hotel that was great for midday snacks.

FOOD/ENTERTAINMENT: We had the most amazing dinner at Japango while there. I'm sometimes skeptical of hotel restaurants, but this was the best surprise. The views are amazing (go at sunset) and the sushi was top notch. We also took the kids to the Hyatt Luau - such a fun experience. It was so convenient having the luau on the property - the food was served buffet style (try the pork!) and the mai tais were delicious (maybe a little too delicious...). The kids loved the entertainment - it was the perfect distraction to keep them busy during dinner.
i

Room Tip: If you can splurge on an ocean view room - do it! We stayed in the west tower (I think). Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha stp21!

Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing feedback on our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa! We appreciate the level of detail your provided us about your vacation.

I am so glad that your second time back to Hawaii was just as grand as your first! It's great to hear how much you enjoyed the ocean view rooms from your guest room. The ocean views from our rooms are some of the best on the Island.

We're delighted your family enjoyed relaxing and splashing at the pool, and the signs and sounds of our Luau!

We hope to welcome your family back for another Hawaiian getaway!

Mahalo!

-Anna M. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We came here in October to get married and we had the time of our lives! From the moment we arrived at the hotel till the moment we had to leave we were treated fantasically. After 30 hours of travel from UK we were greated with our Lei's and upgarded to a room in the Lahaina tower. Our room was spacious and clean. Ok, so there was sometimes a queue at breakfast, but not if you timed it to avoid peak times. It was well worth it for the abundance of foods and the fab view over the ponds with the swans taking their morning shower in the waterfall. Staff couldn't have been anymore helpful and we were given a gift by our waitress on the morning of our wedding! The Luau show was fab! We couldn't fault a thing and would go back tomorrow if only we could!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha Jayne M!

Thank you for taking a moment to share about your recent wedding celebration at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. We're delighted to have provided you with a warm welcoming after hours of travel. Our Swan Court offers the best breakfast for our guests, in the area. I will give your feedback to the Executive Chef for the delicious food you enjoyed. We're glad you had such a memorable getaway with us. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to welcome you back!

Mahalo,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Myself and my husband came out here as part of our 3 part honeymoon back in Apr 2012. What an amazing hotel, was like a dream walking into the reception, seeing birds flying around and trees in the middle of it, never seen anything like it. The staff were very friendly and warm. They gave us a few gifts as a honeymoon present which was extremely generous. Our room was also beautiful, very spacious and clean with a great view of the lovely swimming pool and beach :) Would love to go back but the flights from the UK are too expensive unfortunately :( maybe if we win the lottery one day we could go back there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha Nichola411!

Thank you for taking a moment to share with us about your honeymoon celebration at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. We're glad we could have the opportunity to help celebrate such a special occasion. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed the variety of wildlife throughout our hotel. Our employees enjoy welcoming newlyweds to our hotel. Hyatt takes great pride with hearing of the fantastic customer service they provided. Our associates will be recognized for this. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for anniversary celebrations.

Mahalo,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I had high expectations for the Hyatt on Maui, as I have fond childhood memories of this resort. Unfortunately, the hotel disappointed in several areas. The rooms, most of the common areas, and the pool, all needed complete updating. I felt like I was a guest star in an episode of Magnum P.I., for those of you who get that reference. The entire hotel decor and style made me feel like I was in a time warp, and not in a cool retro way, but in a "needs a facelift" way. I had to call to get my room cleaned several times. It is a large property and so it can feel a little cold, but at times, you feel like you are working your way through a giant maze. The buffet breakfast might be the worst I have ever experienced anywhere--we had free breakfast included and still skipped it! I have stayed at the Marriott Maui Ocean Club, Westin Maui Resort, and Honua Kai, and would choose all of those hotels over the Hyatt. On the positive side, I loved their 24 hour fitness facility and my kids loved the penguins, cranes, and various tropical birds, located throughout the property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed at start of April for third stop on our honeymoon and it was the worst hotel we stayed at. Got given room 331 which was overlooking a building site. We were given this room on arrival but we said it was our honeymoon but the reception said there wasn't anything they could do which was upsetting considering it was our hoveymoon. To compensate we were given free breakfast and a reduced resort fee but being our honeymoon we would have much preferred a better room without a view. We finally accepted this was our room for our stay and were told building works were only from 9-5 but it was at least 8-6. Sometimes we could hear the diggers at 7.30am. The resort fee was also ridiculous and one day we had to move away from the pool area at 4pm as there was a private function! There were private functions for two of our 5 nights where areas of the hotel were blocked off so why did we pay a resort fee?!? The food was way over priced for what it was but on the positive side the grounds and pool were amazing and the wildlife was nice. Beach was nothing to write home about and overall I'd say this was a poor hotel apart from the initial wow when you walk in and go down by the pool. Definitely not worth the money and would not go back. You only get one honeymoon ( well supposed to!! ) and it was upsetting we got such a crap room and the staff didn't do anything to try and change it for us . One day me and my wife went Back to room to get ready for the evening and the maintenance/builders knocked twice on the door to walk through our room out onto our balcony to clean it! We said no but the boss came back later and said they really must do it so we reluctantly let them in to clean. Terrible

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattHotelGirl, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
I'm so sorry to hear about your disappointment in the type of room you received.
I would love to hear more about what room type you booked and whether you were aware of the project occuring next door to our property. We try to give as much information as possible to all guests booking this room so we value any chance to improve. Please reach out to our Assistant Director of rooms at Nick.francis@hyatt.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy exquisite dining, extensive recreation facilities, international shopping, a collection of asian & pacific art, unique wild life & nightly entertainment and Hawaii's only oceanfront spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.