We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Kaanapali location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
La Jolla, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best Kaanapali location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Rooms are good size, but time has come and gone for an update. The lights are insufficient. The ceiling still 'popcorn'. The cleaning leaves so much to be desired.
The view from 20th floor ocean front room is unparalleled with lanai in the near distance and the calm blue channel in between. Plenty of relaxing areas in Japanese garden designs; beautiful pool although crowded in the afternoon and two nice restaurants to name just a few advantages. The "Starbucks" stand never fulfilled my expectations which i associate with every other starbucks. If you need real coffee wait until the poolside bar opens at 11 am. Their cappuccino is the best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,764
    1,081
    466
    219
    112
See reviews for
884
1,760
47
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (878)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here for 8 notes this Feb 2013. There are several name brand hotels on Kaanapali Beach and we think, from observations, this is the nicest. Great grounds and open atrium, excellent restaurants (two) and informal beach level eatery near a nice pool. Beach is about a hundred yards from center building, less from the two buildings on either side of main. We booked a Club Level room on top floor and had a corner rooms with two balconies, one facing Lanai and the other facing Molokai. It was an expansive view. Due to the shape of the room, it was a mini suite design and I believe larger than the rooms not on the corners of each floor. We were about three doors from the Club room which supplied a very decent and expanded continental breakfast, evening appetizers good for pretty complete meal, discounted wine and drinks and this was followed by a later evening desert bar. All this is great for families as well.
The beach area requires water shoes due to rocking bottoms just off shore, Is fairly shallow and gently sloping so you can swim or wade out pretty far. We saw over a brazillian grey whales, some quite close to shore and many out in the channel between Maui and Lanai. Bring binoculars and you will have no need to take a whale watching boat. I saw many whales do a "full monty" i.e. complete, out of the water breech. It was awesome! Okay, now get this: I could actually observe whale activity while lying in bed. Yup, this is the ultimate in relaxed, safe whale watching. Ha ha. This is my new standard by which to judge "ocean front" views. Chortle! I do not agree with the more negative reviews, but people see things differently anyway. I would recommend this hotel for both couples and families.

Room Tip: As above, the CORNER - "full, ocean view" rooms will have the most room and better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Aloha LodiTraveler1966!

Thank you for going into such detail about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your getaway with us. Our Chefs at our restaurants will be recognized for the excellent meals prepared. Our guests give us lots of positive feedback with regards to the delicious variety of meals offered.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Hawaii. Your referral & comments are greatly appreciated.

Safe travels!

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Having been awarded this trip for 15 years with my company made this stay even more memorable. The view from our room was nothing short of spectacular! Mountains on one side and the ocean on another. The breakfast buffet featured made to order omelets in a setting that looked right out to the beach. A 15 minute walk from the hotel along an ocean path and we boarded a boat for a snorkeling experience that included a whale watch and swimming with sea turtles! I highly recommend the Hyatt for a memorable Hawaiian experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation it is greatly appreciated. It is exciting to hear that we were able make for a memorable experience. We have spectacular views throughout the resort. I’m glad that you were able to enjoy the breakfast buffet. There is a wide variety of options for our guests to enjoy. I hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the future. Mahalo!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I've been going to Maui for 30 years and have stayed at the Hyatt 4 times in the last 6 years -- We just returned from a trip there during Christmas 2012. The hotel is in a great location and overall is respectable, but the quality of the rooms,grounds and restaurants have been slowly declining. I think it's time for an all-around update and while I will probably go back at some point, it's not for a while.

The rooms are fine but for the price could be better. The grounds are crowded and the 'cave' area that has the the pool bathrooms and pool bar are extremely musty and stinky -- and keeps getting worse everytime I go. I suspect the cave sounded like a good idea initially but I find it to be a big drawback due to the smell. We have also found that the food and especially the drinks have signficantly declined. The Ono bar which used to be one of my favorites along the kaanapali walk has changed to self-service a couple years ago and the drinks at the bar this year in particular were terrible.

Overall, I still have faith in the Hyatt. They have a unique property and environment (penguins, flamingos, great kids area, Macy's, etc)....but like anything, it's time to invest to freshen it up. Hope to be back but need to see some TLC done to the property first.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful grounds. On the beach. Pool with water slide. Be ready to see lots of children.
Rooms are fine, but can't be considered luxury by any means.
Good breakfast buffett, but very long lines.
Also tried the Japanese restaurant and the casual cafe, not recommended.

Room Tip: Book ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
I really appreciate that you took the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort. I'm pleased that you and your family had a fabulous stay. We have lots of amenities and activities that everyone whether young or old will certainly enjoy. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa for your stay. I hope we can welcome you back to Hyatt in the future!

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, MIchigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice hotel, lobby beautiful and open air. On beautiful beach that is good to walk on. Chairs by pool right next to each other no tables to put anything. Good stand in am for breakfast take out. Lunch choices very limited. Great sundry shop that you can get drinks ,liquor, snacks, souvenirs at. Dinner choices expensive. Rooms nice. Most with good view.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, MI
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff was very helpful and the property is very beautiful. They are in the process of updating certain areas of the hotel. One of which is exterior painting. We reserved a partial ocean view (BE CAREFUL) the first room they put us in overlooked the parking lot and if you stepped out on your lanai then you could see some of the ocean. I went down the next morning and told them I was unhappy with my room and could they check and move us to another. It so happens that they have a handful of partial ocean view rooms on the interior of the hotel and one was available so as soon as the current occupants checked out the bellman came and got our luggage and moved us to the new room where the view was really great and on the same floor as the others in our party. If you stay at this property I would suggest Ocean View minimum. We got the Sunshine on Sale package which included breakfast every day. The breakfast was really good the restaurant I understand is the next place they are going to renovate so again I would ask the status of the renovations before booking this property. Also, since it is an open air restaurant the birds are a real problem swooping around your table and dive bombing your head. The wait staff were really great and kept up as best they could with dirty dishes to try and keep the birds down to a minimum. They did go to great lengths to keep renovations from distrupting day to day operations and their guests. You can definitely tell that the hotel has been there awhile and I am sure after all the upgrades are done this will once again be a nice hotel. If I were to stay in this area of Maui again I would consider the Westin or the Sheraton in the meantime. The only other comment is this is a very touristy area so there quite a lot of people we had to send one of our party down to the pool every day to hold lounge chairs until we could all get down there. The pool area is very crowded and was like an obstical course when you wanted to make your way to go dip in the pool. Again, the pool area staff was very attentive and friendly.

Room Tip: I wouldn't take the chance on partial ocean view if you can afford it go with full ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy exquisite dining, extensive recreation facilities, international shopping, a collection of asian & pacific art, unique wild life & nightly entertainment and Hawaii's only oceanfront spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.