We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay in Maui but prefer Kauai...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE WI-FI
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay in Maui but prefer Kauai...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from an 8 night stay at the Hyatt Regency Maui. Having stayed several times at the Grand Hyatt in Kauai I had similar expectations of this hotel. Upon arrival we were promptly greeted by doorman who explained the parking rates and self-park lots depending upon your room location. As others have stated parking is very limited and stalls extremely narrow (so best to sign up for additional rental car coverage for those door dings). Check-in/front desk staff were polite, professional and efficient. We were happy with our room on the 8th (top) floor of the Napilii Tower overlooking the children's pools with a great view of the ocean. We enjoyed many an afternoon watching the whales swim by just off-shore of the hotel. Overall the rooms were comfortable however I did note that the beds seems very low...partly because they don't have box-springs (which I thought was odd for a Hyatt). At any rate, the room had a small patio, fridge and walk-in closet. The overall grounds of the Hyatt Maui are impressive with lots of foliage, animals including penguins, flamingos, ducks, swans etc. I must say however that the hotel in general was not as well maintained as the Grand Hyatt in Kauai but still very impressive. Some finishes in the rooms, halls and common space were getting a bit warn due to the large amounts of people into and out of the hotel (800+ rooms). My wife and I enjoyed a oceanside massage which was a bit disappointing because of its location. You essentially have to check-in at the spa on one end of the hotel and then walk back again nearest the kids pool in your robe. It was hard to enjoy the sound of the waves when you can hear a constant flow of people walking by and children playing in the pool. Breakfast was included in our rate and we enjoyed Swan's Court several days and then discovered it could also be redeemed at the less busy Umalu near the pool (which was a nice change of pace). The buffet was good but typical for a resort breakfast. We also dined at Umalu for dinner which was decent and Japango which had excellent sushi rolls. We reserved cabanas on the beach several days since the regular lounge chairs by the pool were literally stacked on top of each other. I feel the pool is way undersized for the size of this resort - whereas the Grand Hyatt Kauai has a large pool and lagoon for guests to enjoy. There are many nice restaurants near the hotel or close by including Roys, 100 Wines of Maui and Star Noodle (the head chef was recently on Top Chef Seattle). Overall, all hotel staff were professional, courteous and responsive to any questions and needs we had. We enjoyed our Maui vacation and the Hyatt but prefer to the slower pace of Kauai...and thus will likely return there in the future.

Room Tip: Pick oceanview or ocean front otherwise you may have views of parking lots
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,877
    1,141
    500
    231
    116
See reviews for
946
1,878
52
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (940)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Attended a conference here but did not stay at this resort. Resort is beautiful. Pool is very pretty, grounds well maintained. Service was excellent, staff seemed very attentive. Conference facilities were nice. Breakfast was good. Disappointing that we were served Seattle's Best Coffee....we are in Maui, let's have some Hawaiian coffee!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Springs, MD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Visited Maui 1/28-31, 2013. Had a good time. Rented a car and it helped make the trip successful. The hotel was very nice. When we got there the representative told us she was going to give us a complimentary upgrade to a partial oceanview. She said the hotel was full and regretted not being able to give us a full oceanview. Having stayed at many hotels I knew the hotel was not full and she had the authority to grant a full oceanview. However, we appreciated the partial oceanview. We didn't spend much time in the room, so I can't go into detail about the pros and cons of the hotel. We enjoyed the daily breakfast buffet. The staff was friendly, helpful and very attentive to guests wants/wishes/needs. Very prompt elevators. The hotel grounds are lovely, and the beach is awesome. Can't wait to return and experience more of what the hotel and the island has to offer. Oh, we ate some guri guri. We had a hard time finding it. One of the wait staff members told us the location of the store -- the Maui Mall. We knew the mall was in Kapului. Our GPS took us right to it. Lunch at Roy's and dinner at Kimos and Longhi, was very nice. Hope to return next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Arrived late on a Saturday with high expectations. We were left standing outside the hotel with no one to help with bags. Had booked a partial ocean view room. Mentioned our honeymoon in the hope of receiving an upgrade. We were checked in, again no one helped with our bags (although the receptionist did stand and watch us struggle). I eventually asked for help from a passing staff member. 5 mins later as no one had appeared we got ourselves to the room. Room overlooked a car park and was on ground floor. Straight back to reception to move. The following morning we were moved to the 7th floor with a tiny sliver of ocean but still looking out onto car park. Not impressed at all. The room was clean but was the smallest one on the floor, half the size of what we had booked. While speaking to reservations we really got the impression that they couldn't care less. We weren't important enough to merit further attention. Interesting to note, on their website the resort view rooms are billed as overlooking a car park but this does not feature in the description of the partial ocean view. We reckon we were downgraded.
Maui is breathtaking but the Hyatt is such a disappointment. Staff had no idea as to when plates should be cleared and when a meal was still being eaten. The resort was so busy that calls to reception were constantly put on hold. Pool staff were excellent, which should be noted.
Overall a disappointment in terms of accommodation, we'd travelled a long way and were celebrating a special occasion but this seemed to be irrelevant to the hotel when trying to meet our expectations. Not a five star experience.

Room Tip: Avoid Napili Tower. If you do end up there make sure it's on floor 4 or above and in an even num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback in regards to your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. It’s very disappointing to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. I apologize that the service you encountered was unsatisfactory and that there was a lack of follow up regarding your room. The experience you had is not what our guest should come to expect while staying at our property. Please know that I have forwarded your feedback to our management team so we can address these issues and prevent future occurrences. If you would like to discuss your stay please do not hesitate to contact us directly. I hope we can have another opportunity to welcome you back to our property so you can experience our true Hyatt hospitality.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butte Montana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the Maui Hyatt February 2nd through the ninth. Overall it was a great resort. It is at the southern end of the Kaanapali beach and you could not ask for a better location on Maui. Everything is within walking distance. You could stay here for a week and eat at a different restaurant every breakfast lunch and dinner. Though a word of warning it is all expensive. Plan on $25 for each person for breakfast and lunch and $50 a person for dinners before drinks. If you drive into Lahaina you can do better but you are still in Maui, the place where fleecing tourists was perfected. The pool at the Hyatt was great as were all of the employees. The beach I was not sure about until I snorkel end past the break and was pleasantly surprised at the unspoiled coral gardens and look roads of fish. The rooms were fine but could use updating. This is a five star resort and has the price to match, the rooms should reflect this. The beautiful lobby and decorations were unmatched by any resort I have been to. The oriental artwork and statuary were great. The lobby and service made my stay wonderful and I would certainly recommend it to anyone staying on the Kaanapali.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Nice hotel. Were here for convention. In the lobby they setup a coffee-bar with Starbucks coffee and small bites. There were 2 philipino ladies manning this station and they deserve a compliment: every morning everyone was treated to their great smiles and enthusiasm. Also, after 1 day they knew most guests name and addressed them as such. Really a wonderful wakeup in a beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at our resort. It’s great to hear that you found the property to be well appointed and the staff to be top notch. I’ll be sure to share you kind words to our management team regarding the staff. I look forward to welcoming you back to our resort on your next visit to Maui. Mahalo!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel at least 5 times in the past 10 years. We are very familiar with it and the surrounding Maui area. Our one week stay in mid January, 2013 ended 2 weeks ago and we just returned from the rest of our trip in Asia. This was our worst experience at a Maui hotel or a Hyatt hotel.

The main source of our problem concerned our "partial ocean view" room on the concierge level. Our room #2134 was the worst possible room. It had ZERO ocean view since it faced the Mountain. There was no place in the room where a human being could actually view a single drop of ocean. Even sitting on the balcony provided no view at all unless you leaned out over the railing. The only room on the entire floor which could possibly have had a worse view was next to this room and was labelled "Ice Machine".

I immediately requested a different room, either on the same club level floor(s) or elsewhere in the hotel. Since the room plainly had zero view and I am a Platinum level Gold Passport member I thought that my request was very reasonable. The concierge services desk for Gold Passport members told me they would attempt to move us. However later that day and once more during our stay we were told it was "impossible" to find another room with a partial ocean view. That might have been true on the day of my request, but it could not have been true later. The hotel was busy the first 2 days, but not thereafter. Further, no one ever offered to accommodate us in any way either by moving us or by reducing our very expensive room rate.

Part of the problem for Hyatt might have been the fact that the hotel is undergoing an exterior refurbishing which was not disclosed to us before we booked the reservation. One side of the hotel facing North has scaffolding which no doubt blocks views. However, that should not have been our problem.

Further, the hotel might actually be stressed for its bottom line or perhaps is being groomed for sale. Maintenance of common areas; cleanliness; repairs of wood surfaces; etc., were all less than we have seen there in the past.

Many Hyatt staff, however, were excellent. Hawaiian hospitality is wonderful and hotel management has not stamped it out. Special thanks to Dee and Tony at the Swan Court and to Nani and Mary and Karen in the Club level lounge. They were a joy throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side of the main tower have better views once construction ends on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your candid feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. I'm sorry to hear this stay was less than ideal. Please know that your comments regarding the location of your room and the follow up from the staff in regards to changing your room location will be shared with our management team. Your continued loyalty to Hyatt is greatly appreciated. This is not the experience our guests should come to expect while staying at our resort. If you would like to discuss your stay further please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy exquisite dining, extensive recreation facilities, international shopping, a collection of asian & pacific art, unique wild life & nightly entertainment and Hawaii's only oceanfront spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.