We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing pool, location, staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
Layton, Utah
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing pool, location, staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here November 4-5, 2012. We got to Maui a little earlier than expected and the staff was great about letting us checkin a few hours early. The room was a great size and the lanai over looked the pool and had a partial ocean view. We came with our boys ages 8 and 4 and they could not get enough of the pool, they loved it so much they didn't want to go to any beaches. As parents it was nice to sit under the shade with and let them have a great time. The big waterside was s blast, and the smaller one was fun for the little one.

The grounds are beautiful with rope bridges and tropical plants everywhere. I cannot say enough good things about the staff, they were always so nice and accommodating with all of our needs. We look forward to coming back here again. A perfect place to stay for a family or as couple.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review. We're thrilled you and your family had a wonderful time in Maui. Our pools and waterslide are always a big hit with kids and we're glad to hear yours enjoyed them as well. We're pleased our staff made you feel right at home during your visit. Please feel free to contact us if you need any future assistance.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,764
    1,081
    466
    219
    112
See reviews for
884
1,760
47
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (878)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent our 25th anniversary at the Hyatt resort. We had a oceanfront room in the main building on the forth floor, what a great view.... The rooms were very nice and clean, with comfortable beds with all the needed amenities. Breakfast at the resort restaurant was excellent, just be sure to go early to avoid the crowds. We tried all the lunch and dinner restaurants on the property and found all to be excellent. The pool was excellent with great pool side service. Be sure to rent a cabana for the day (great!!). Be sure to use the spa, it was well worth it. We are already planning our return...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your special anniversary. We're thrilled you had such an amazing time. It's great to hear you were able to try and enjoy all of our restaurants on property. We look forward to your next visit.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hyatt regency maui was amazing , the staff were so friendly and they did their utmost to help even with the smallest thing. The little lady in the shop was the best ever, the food served throughout the hotel was excellent.The penguins beside the lobby were a big hit and the parrots who were constantly talking. It was so relaxing and it made you completely forget about the rush of normal life.To put it simply breathtaking...........

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We're delighted you enjoyed our luxurious grounds. It's always great to hear that our staff made you feel welcome during your visit. Please feel free to contact us if you need any future assistance.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our fourth stay here dating back to our honeymoon in 1981 which is perhaps why it holds a special place in our hearts. We stayed 3 nights as part of an 8 night Maui stay late Nov-early Dec. with the balance at the Four Seasons Wailea which is reviewed seperatly.
To be sure the Hyatt has some imperfections and a first time guest may wonder about the smallish guest rooms, tiny bath rooms, and lack of free umbrellsas on the beach, however the overall vibe is peaceful, beautiful and filled with aloha spirit. The staff is very accomodating and the views are beautiful and the rooms while small can offer great views and have good design and function.
The shops, walkways, foliage, animal and plant life are some highlights. Also, the beach on the south end has umbrellas/chairs for rent at a decent price and the beach is at its widest point for the Hyatt's area but the water is rocky so use reef shoes.
The breakfast buffet could use a bit of a refresher and the pool water could be a little warmer (apparently the water temp. is tied to A/C useage).
But the spirit of the staff, the location and the overall sense of place more than makes up for the smaller negative items mentioned above.
Kudos to Dan Iza for great service at the pool/cabana deck and Alena at the front desk.
Will return.

Room Tip: A view room is worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here in June 2012. I was part of the large group of 900 that won a trip all expenses paid from our company. You can imagine with 900 people all arriving the same day that these people were kept running all day and well into the evening, and they were smiling the whole time! Upon arrival we were checked in and to our room within minutes of arriving. Our luggage arrived within minutes of us getting to our room. Thank you for that! We were dressed for a typical Canadian wet spring and wanted to get changed into something much more comfortable upon our arrival. I found the staff to be friendly and accomodating. Our mornings always started with a coffee and muffin from the coffee shop in the lobby (very expensive) and most of our meals were eaten while out shopping the areas except the one evening we did enjoy the most relaxing meal I have ever experienced at the Swan Restaurant. My daughter and I had a waterfront table and the swans were hamming it up for us for most of our meal. The food was excellent. We enjoyed everything from shopping in the stores, watching the penguins, chatting with the parrots and relaxing at the pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're delighted you and your daughter had a fabulous time with us. It's great to hear our staff made you feel right at home. We're pleased you enjoyed the delicious food offered at our Swan restaurant. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I loved the resort! resort is huge and has been designed with great attention to the details. One can spend 1-2 hours just roaming around the property. Front desk and valet guys were really helpful and gave a sense of caring attitude. Our room got upgraded to partial ocean view which was great.
few issues:
1) There was no vending machine at our floor, which I find very helpful to save some dollars on water ( especially during the night).
2)Our flight was at night and we checked out around 11. the staff did not suggest any services for keeping our bags or a hospitality room? When we asked we were told to leave our bags at bell desk and told that we can use swimming pool guest/rest room as hospitality room. He did not gave us a key and that guest /rest room closes by 6.00 PM !. The bell desk staff was not very helpful and she literally took us to the places where our begs were and we had to carry out ourselves.

If you are looking to spend some time at hotel/resort , I think this is a good place. My stay was very good other than the fact that they did not have hospitality room and they did not extend any help.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

From the moment we arrived at the Hyatt till the time we left, our stay was fantastic. The greeting from the front desk staff and service throughout our stay was outstanding. Our room was quiet, comfortable with a partial ocean view. Two pools - one specifically for children and the waterfalls were woderful and the grounds beautiful. Added bonus, especially for the children, are the penguins and kio fish in the lobby area. The staff in the Regency Club couldn't do enough for you and extremely personable. Being able to have a lite breakfast, non-acholic beverages throughout the day, appetizers and cocktails in the evening were an added bonus.
My only complaint is our stay wasn't long enough...can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're delighted you had a fantastic stay. It's great to hear you enjoyed our relaxing pools. We're pleased our Regency Club staff made you feel right at home. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy exquisite dining, extensive recreation facilities, international shopping, a collection of asian & pacific art, unique wild life & nightly entertainment and Hawaii's only oceanfront spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.