We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like An Old Friend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine On Sale
Ranked #19 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
LA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Like An Old Friend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our fourth stay here dating back to our honeymoon in 1981 which is perhaps why it holds a special place in our hearts. We stayed 3 nights as part of an 8 night Maui stay late Nov-early Dec. with the balance at the Four Seasons Wailea which is reviewed seperatly.
To be sure the Hyatt has some imperfections and a first time guest may wonder about the smallish guest rooms, tiny bath rooms, and lack of free umbrellsas on the beach, however the overall vibe is peaceful, beautiful and filled with aloha spirit. The staff is very accomodating and the views are beautiful and the rooms while small can offer great views and have good design and function.
The shops, walkways, foliage, animal and plant life are some highlights. Also, the beach on the south end has umbrellas/chairs for rent at a decent price and the beach is at its widest point for the Hyatt's area but the water is rocky so use reef shoes.
The breakfast buffet could use a bit of a refresher and the pool water could be a little warmer (apparently the water temp. is tied to A/C useage).
But the spirit of the staff, the location and the overall sense of place more than makes up for the smaller negative items mentioned above.
Kudos to Dan Iza for great service at the pool/cabana deck and Alena at the front desk.
Will return.

Room Tip: A view room is worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,529
    926
    383
    193
    100
See reviews for
763
1506
36
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here in June 2012. I was part of the large group of 900 that won a trip all expenses paid from our company. You can imagine with 900 people all arriving the same day that these people were kept running all day and well into the evening, and they were smiling the whole time! Upon arrival we were checked in and to our room within minutes of arriving. Our luggage arrived within minutes of us getting to our room. Thank you for that! We were dressed for a typical Canadian wet spring and wanted to get changed into something much more comfortable upon our arrival. I found the staff to be friendly and accomodating. Our mornings always started with a coffee and muffin from the coffee shop in the lobby (very expensive) and most of our meals were eaten while out shopping the areas except the one evening we did enjoy the most relaxing meal I have ever experienced at the Swan Restaurant. My daughter and I had a waterfront table and the swans were hamming it up for us for most of our meal. The food was excellent. We enjoyed everything from shopping in the stores, watching the penguins, chatting with the parrots and relaxing at the pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're delighted you and your daughter had a fabulous time with us. It's great to hear our staff made you feel right at home. We're pleased you enjoyed the delicious food offered at our Swan restaurant. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I loved the resort! resort is huge and has been designed with great attention to the details. One can spend 1-2 hours just roaming around the property. Front desk and valet guys were really helpful and gave a sense of caring attitude. Our room got upgraded to partial ocean view which was great.
few issues:
1) There was no vending machine at our floor, which I find very helpful to save some dollars on water ( especially during the night).
2)Our flight was at night and we checked out around 11. the staff did not suggest any services for keeping our bags or a hospitality room? When we asked we were told to leave our bags at bell desk and told that we can use swimming pool guest/rest room as hospitality room. He did not gave us a key and that guest /rest room closes by 6.00 PM !. The bell desk staff was not very helpful and she literally took us to the places where our begs were and we had to carry out ourselves.

If you are looking to spend some time at hotel/resort , I think this is a good place. My stay was very good other than the fact that they did not have hospitality room and they did not extend any help.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

From the moment we arrived at the Hyatt till the time we left, our stay was fantastic. The greeting from the front desk staff and service throughout our stay was outstanding. Our room was quiet, comfortable with a partial ocean view. Two pools - one specifically for children and the waterfalls were woderful and the grounds beautiful. Added bonus, especially for the children, are the penguins and kio fish in the lobby area. The staff in the Regency Club couldn't do enough for you and extremely personable. Being able to have a lite breakfast, non-acholic beverages throughout the day, appetizers and cocktails in the evening were an added bonus.
My only complaint is our stay wasn't long enough...can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're delighted you had a fantastic stay. It's great to hear you enjoyed our relaxing pools. We're pleased our Regency Club staff made you feel right at home. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and were thoroughly impressed. We got into the hotel quite late (past midnight) and though everything was closed, the front desk had fruit and sandwiches for us which was perfect.

All the staff that we encountered were really friendly and helpful.

The common areas are beautiful and the 24 hour pool is a great amenity to have access to. Especially since there isn't much to do in Maui after dinner.

Do have to admit that the rooms perhaps need some updating but overall, our stay here was awesome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
It’s always a pleasure to read when our guests have a great stay at our resort. I’m glad that you and your husband found the staff be very friendly and the property to be beautifully appointed. Thank you for your review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property on your next visit to Maui. Mahalo!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Hyatt regency was a great place for my son and I in Maui. Only complaint was that the pool was a little cold!

They were painting/refacing the building when we were there so they compensated us (since we'd paid for ocean front) by putting on the club level, comping all our parking and giving us free luau tickets. My 5 yo son loved the luau and the kids pool. I loved the sushi restaurant.

We truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hyatt does an amazing job caring for their guests... You name it, and they will deliver... We arrived on thanksgiving day and had the best thanksgiving buffet I've ever experienced. The partial ocean view room was perfect and the housekeepers kept things tidy. The lobby was out of this world!!! And spectacular doesn't do the grounds justice. Flamingos, parrots, black and white swans and ducks roam the grounds. The beach is just steps from the resort and any beach activities you can think of are available seconds away on the beach.... Surf lessons, paddle boarding, parasailing, jet sky's, snorkeling are just a few of the beach activities available to you. Ali or Alison was our hotel concierge and she did a phenomenal job planning our excursions. Hint: use Triogy for any beach, sailing activities you may want to do.... They are a bit more expensive, but they treat you like royalty! This Hyatt exceeded my expectations and can't wait to stay here on out next vacation to Maui.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Richard U:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your holiday getaway with us. Alison will be recognized for the fantastic service she provided. Often, we receive great feedback from our guests with regards to the wildlife here. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for your next Hawaiian vacation!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy exquisite dining, extensive recreation facilities, international shopping, a collection of asian & pacific art, unique wild life & nightly entertainment and Hawaii's only oceanfront spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.